The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Please clear this up. (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/103019-please-clear-up.html)

Jqb12 Mon Oct 16, 2017 03:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 1010128)
Not quite. The wrong player would be...#42 has 2 FT's coming, however #3 shoots them. #42 is the one entitled and must shoot the FT's. So leave the DQ'd part out for now.

This is a wrong player shooting the FT's.

In the case of a DQ - ONLY the DQ'd player's substitute can shoot the FT's. However a player isn't DQ'd until notified and until notified that player is just like any of the other players on the court, subject to the same rules.

Thanks, that explanation helped out.

Jqb12 Mon Oct 16, 2017 03:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1010129)
No, because it was determined some time ago that this is not fit the CR rule. He/she is not the wrong player, they are still a player until they are informed that they have been disqualified. The same would happen if a player with 5 fouls is discovered to actually have 5 fouls a minute later of play. You do not take off their points, they are still a legal player until they are told they are disqualified. Rule 2-14-2 clearly says that a player is officially disqualified and becomes bench personnel when the coach is notified. Well, if they are never notified, they are still a player.

It is more than one rule at play here.

Peace

I see that now. Appreciate the help.

Nevadaref Mon Oct 16, 2017 04:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 1010130)
Wow, the original poster is correct about the old ruling. I just looked it up. It says it's a correctable error. You wipe out A1's FTs, bring in A6 to re-shoot them, and allow any B team member to attempt the technical FTs.

WOW! How did that sneak by everybody???

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1010132)
From the interps sticky on this page:

Page 29, 4.14.1D SITUATION, RULING Correction: Officials notify the Team A coach of the disqualification and allow a substitute for A1. The points made by A1 will stand. B3 is allowed to shoot the free throws for the technical foul and Team B is given the ball at half court to continue the game. (4-14-2; 2-11-5 Note)

It didn't sneak by. It was caught and corrected through the online interps that year.

Camron Rust Mon Oct 16, 2017 04:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1010141)
It didn't sneak by. It was caught and corrected through the online interps that year.

The big question is how does such an error ever make it into print? This sort of erroneous change doesn't happen due to a typo. Someone on the rules committee that should know these things consciously made that change.

Jqb12 Mon Oct 16, 2017 06:03pm

Just an example of how the casebook, and rule book can be confusing at times, and the importance of being able to discuss these plays and clear these situations up.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:26am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1