The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Successive time outs (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/102938-successive-time-outs.html)

UNIgiantslayers Tue Sep 26, 2017 08:58am

I guess it's good I happened to open this thread, because I've never noticed when reading that rule that they get the timeout at the expense of a technical foul. I've always been under the impression that they get the T and no timeout. Good thing I haven't had it happen in a game yet.

ART. 6 . . . Time-outs in excess of the allotted number may be requested and shall be granted
during regulation playing time or any extra period at the expense of a technical foul for each, as in
10-1-7.

Raymond Tue Sep 26, 2017 09:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by LeeBallanfant (Post 1009324)
So in Situation A, Team B calls time out and it is granted, Team A (not realizing it has no time outs left) requests a time out. If I read the rule correctly, requesting the TO is a TF, but TO is not awarded because it is successive.

In a situation, like this, I'm just going to tell the coach he cannot even request a time-out by rule.

But since it is never going to happen, I'm not going to fret on it too much.

Camron Rust Tue Sep 26, 2017 10:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1009396)
In a situation, like this, I'm just going to tell the coach he cannot even request a time-out by rule.

But since it is never going to happen, I'm not going to fret on it too much.

Agree.

Just like when the other team has the ball and it is requested by a coach, you just ignore it because the request is not valid.

so cal lurker Tue Sep 26, 2017 10:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1009399)
Agree.

Just like when the other team has the ball and it is requested by a coach, you just ignore it because the request is not valid.

Hmm. Blue has the ball. White coach calls for time. Ref blows the whistle to grant the TO without realizing the wrong coach is requesting.

Now what?

(A) If White has TOs left, is it immediately granted since play is now stopped, or does he have to request again, and if doesn't just put ball in play for IW?

(B) If white does not have TOs left, is it a T or an IW?

bob jenkins Tue Sep 26, 2017 11:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by so cal lurker (Post 1009400)
Hmm. Blue has the ball. White coach calls for time. Ref blows the whistle to grant the TO without realizing the wrong coach is requesting.

Now what?

(A) If White has TOs left, is it immediately granted since play is now stopped, or does he have to request again, and if doesn't just put ball in play for IW?

(B) If white does not have TOs left, is it a T or an IW?

It's granted, and a T if appropriate.

HokiePaul Tue Sep 26, 2017 11:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by LeeBallanfant (Post 1009324)
So in Situation A, Team B calls time out and it is granted, Team A (not realizing it has no time outs left) requests a time out. If I read the rule correctly, requesting the TO is a TF, but TO is not awarded because it is successive.


Could this scenario even happen given that each team gets and extra timeout for each overtime -- is it possible for a team to be out of timeouts at the start of OT? I guess it depends on the wording as to when that extra timeout becomes available and I don't have my book with me.

Valley Man Tue Sep 26, 2017 11:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by HokiePaul (Post 1009402)
Could this scenario even happen given that each team gets and extra timeout for each overtime -- is it possible for a team to be out of timeouts at the start of OT? I guess it depends on the wording as to when that extra timeout becomes available and I don't have my book with me.

5-11-5

Shall not be granted until the ball becomes live ... so yes a team could be out of timeouts until ball becomes live

bucky Tue Sep 26, 2017 02:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by so cal lurker (Post 1009400)
Hmm. Blue has the ball. White coach calls for time. Ref blows the whistle to grant the TO without realizing the wrong coach is requesting.

Now what?

(A) If White has TOs left, is it immediately granted since play is now stopped, or does he have to request again, and if doesn't just put ball in play for IW?

(B) If white does not have TOs left, is it a T or an IW?

And what is this grating-to-the-wrong-coach scenario happened to be a successive TO? Previously, someone said to explain that they cannot be granted it by rule. Well, the officials made a mistake in the above scenario, so what if they made a mistake about granting a successive TO? Ouch.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:35pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1