![]() |
Successive time outs
Did you know that successive timeouts apply to both teams? I thought it only applied to one team calling successive timeouts. Kinda neat what you learn when you read the Rules Book.....:rolleyes:
|
Quote:
Let's get this game going! |
Let's Go To The Videotape ...
A successive time-out is one which is granted to either team before the clock has started following the previous time-out. Successive time-outs shall not be granted after the expiration of playing time for the fourth quarter or any extra period.
5.11.7 SITUATION A: Airborne shooter A1 is fouled by B1 with the try in flight. The horn then sounds ending the fourth quarter playing time. The ball continues its flight and goes through the basket to tie the score. Before A1 attempts the free throw as part of the fourth quarter, Team B captain requests and is granted a 60- second time-out. Team A or B captain then requests a 30-second time-out during the same dead-ball period. RULING: The second request is denied. At the end of playing time for the fourth quarter or any overtime period, successive time-outs shall not be granted. This means a time-out cannot be granted either team until the clock has run in the extra period – assuming the free throw is missed. Successive time-outs may be granted in all situations except after time has expired in the fourth quarter or any extra period. 5.11.7 SITUATION B: Following the expiration of time for the first extra period, the coach of Team B is charged with a technical foul. Team B requests a time-out before the free throws are administered to start the second extra period. The time-out request is granted. Thereafter, the official administers the first free throw to A1. Following the attempt: (a) Team B; or (b) Team A, then requests a time-out. RULING: The request cannot be granted in either (a) or (b), as it would be consid - ered a successive time-out. The fact that the ball did become live between the two requests has no bearing on the ruling. Another time-out request by either team cannot be honored until after the clock has started in the second extra period. |
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
|
Request And Grant Are Not The Same ...
Quote:
Quote:
This wording is quite odd. Team A has used all their alloted timeouts. Ball handler A1 loses the handle on the ball and has an interrupted dribble when Coach A requests an excess timeout. Official, noting that a Team A player is not in control (holding or dribbling live ball), knows that he cannot grant Team A a timeout in that situation and doesn't immediately grant the timeout, but instead, sounds his whistle and charges Team A with a technical foul for "request(ing) an excess timeout". Team A is never granted their requested timeout. Is the official correct? Of course not, but something is rotten in the state of Denmark. The official may never find out that Team A requested an excess timeout: The scorer shall: Signal the nearer official each time a team is granted a time-out in excess of the allotted number. But, the official already has the knowledge: The scorer shall: Record the time-out information charged to each team and notify a team and its coach, through an official, whenever that team is granted its final allotted charged time-out. |
Why would an official grant a timeout that a team does not have? TF and move on seems pretty obvious, right? Or am I missing something here?
|
Always Grant ...
Quote:
Chris Webber's Infamous Timeout: https://youtu.be/-QPB9NBUG2g |
Quote:
|
Of Course Not ...
Quote:
Quote:
A team shall not: Request and be granted an excess time-out. |
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
|
Unintended Consequences ...
Quote:
And we do have officials, some who have lurked on this Forum, who believe that they can ignore a request for a timeout from a coach if the official knows it would be an excess timeout leading to a technical foul. |
Quote:
First, when a team is out of timeouts, the scorekeeper let's me know and I make the coach aware of it. Second, I guess I was thinking that when whoever said "grant the timeout when there is none remaining," I guess I thought they meant give them that 30 or 60 seconds that constitute a timeout. I didn't realize they meant stop play, realize they have none, and T immediately. I guess that was my mistake. Apologies. |
Still Get The Timeout ...
Quote:
|
I guess it's good I happened to open this thread, because I've never noticed when reading that rule that they get the timeout at the expense of a technical foul. I've always been under the impression that they get the T and no timeout. Good thing I haven't had it happen in a game yet.
ART. 6 . . . Time-outs in excess of the allotted number may be requested and shall be granted during regulation playing time or any extra period at the expense of a technical foul for each, as in 10-1-7. |
Quote:
But since it is never going to happen, I'm not going to fret on it too much. |
Quote:
Just like when the other team has the ball and it is requested by a coach, you just ignore it because the request is not valid. |
Quote:
Now what? (A) If White has TOs left, is it immediately granted since play is now stopped, or does he have to request again, and if doesn't just put ball in play for IW? (B) If white does not have TOs left, is it a T or an IW? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Could this scenario even happen given that each team gets and extra timeout for each overtime -- is it possible for a team to be out of timeouts at the start of OT? I guess it depends on the wording as to when that extra timeout becomes available and I don't have my book with me. |
Quote:
Shall not be granted until the ball becomes live ... so yes a team could be out of timeouts until ball becomes live |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:28am. |