![]() |
Citation Please ...
Quote:
|
Quote:
There is a slight caveat for the brief dead-ball period which occurs following a made goal. One could contend that game play is occurring during this timeframe or one could argue that players are merely positioning themselves for the coming start of game play with the ensuing throw-in. The rule seems to be a hold-over from the days when a jumpball was conducted following each made goal. It could be changed with minimal impact upon the overall rules. For examples, ask yourself what to do if a team sends six out for the opening jump? When do personal fouls occur? When may personal fouls not occur ? (Caveat: foul on or by an airborne shooter following what?--a made goal.) Now consider the reason behind these answers. Grasp the WHY and you understand. |
Participating ...
Quote:
(Note: I don't have an answer, I'm just asking.) |
Synthesizing all the present and past rules book and casebook references I could find, I derive this:
1. Sixth person discovered on the court prior to ball being made live: no penalty. 2. Sixth person discovered on the court while ball is live: team technical ("participating simultaneously", 10-2-12) 3. Sixth person discovered after that during dead ball: team technical ("participating simultaneously", 10-2-12) Thus, a person can be "participating", as in this case, even though the ball is dead. Admittedly, without a definitive definition of "participating" by the NFHS, this could be a hard sell. I'm really challenging the concept, seemingly based on logic and reason only and on no rule that I can find, that, "participating" is necessarily equivalent with "only while ball is live". The logical gymnastics necessary, as previously placed into evidence, without any clear expression from any rule reference only emboldens my challenge to what my beloved and respected NevadaRef presents. I do bow before him, but want to politely disagree until persuaded otherwise. Aw heck, it's so pathetically rare of a chance that this would even happen in as game, why should I even bring it up? I reserve the right to be wrong... |
Quote:
While I firmly believe that the sixth individual is not participating under these circumstances and thus cannot be penalized under that specific rule, the sotuation could fall under the purview of a substitute technical foul for failure to report to the scorer or failure to be properly beckoned onto the court by an official. This is exactly what I would use to justify a penalty after a made goal with the clock running and the ball dead prior to the ensuing throw-in. You don't know how the sixth man got out there, but this is a time during which he cannot have entered legally and he got out there somehow, so a penalty is justified. On the other hand, following a made FT, he could have quickly zipped in from the table without you noticing and it would be inappropriate to penalize that. I you don't observe the entry, you need to be certain that it was illegal in order to penalize it. The two separate rules for substitute technicals and six team members participating should cover all of the situations requiring a penalty. |
Quote:
|
Dead Ball ...
Quote:
What's the call? Quote:
|
We Choose To Interpret Difficult Basketball Rules ...
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
For those who don't know, his point is that a substitute technical is charged to the individual team member, not just the team, so the calling official must identify a specific offender. I see three legit ways of determining this info. 1. Consult with the scorer who BY RULE is to track the team members who start the game and enter as substitutes. If he is doing this task, you can discern who was already in the game and who wasn't. If not, proceed to #2. 2. One of the six must now depart and go to the bench. Whack whomever the team elects to remove. 3. Sometimes they give it away. "Joey, what are you doing? You are out!" Whack that one. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Eeny, Meeny, Miny, Moe ...
Quote:
10-2 SUBSTITUTE TECHNICAL A substitute shall not enter the court: ART. 1 Without reporting to the scorer. ART. 2 Without being beckoned by an official, except between quarters and during time-outs. Also, what did the substitute do wrong? In this multiple substitute situation, all substitutes reported to the scorer, and all were beckoned by an official. Where's the illegal act for a 10-2 individual substitute penalty? Nobody entered the court illegally, somebody stayed on the court illegally. You can't make up stuff as you go along. |
Citation ???
Quote:
|
Too Late To Fix ...
Quote:
Here's another rule, a real rule, written in a rulebook: NFHS 10-1-6: A team shall not: Have more than five team members participating simultaneously. If discovered while being violated. This debate simply hinges on the definition of "participating" and I haven't seen such a definition for this situation from the NFHS. This is not a correctable error situation, so let's not go there, please. If this is discovered after the horn, as the six team members are returning to the bench for an intermission (they're not players anymore, nor, in my opinion, are they participating), then it's probably too late to penalize, but not in the example that I gave. Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:47am. |