The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 19, 2017, 07:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
TNT
North Carolina v Arkansas
About 45 seconds left
Block/charge/travel. #2v#2

25.2 remaining
Foul or vertical defenders
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 19, 2017, 11:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 529
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post


Peace
In HS, this is not basket interference. This is a technical foul. Is the rule different in NCAAM?
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 19, 2017, 11:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 622
Quote:
Originally Posted by ODog View Post
In HS, this is not basket interference. This is a technical foul. Is the rule different in NCAAM?
If you notice the C official he is making a signal for a technical foul.

Last edited by Johnny Ringo; Sun Mar 19, 2017 at 11:12pm. Reason: typo
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 20, 2017, 05:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by ODog View Post
In HS, this is not basket interference. This is a technical foul. Is the rule different in NCAAM?
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post


Peace
Can someone confirm / deny that this was correctly ruled BI per NCAAM rules?

We seem to have agreement that in HS this is a Technical, not BI. And as Johnny Ringo points out, the C does appear to be signaling a T.
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 20, 2017, 05:53pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,379
Let's Go To The Videotape ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dale3 View Post
We seem to have agreement that in HS this is a Technical, not BI.
NFHS Player Technical Foul: A player shall not: Illegally contact the backboard/ring by: Placing a hand on the backboard or ring to gain an advantage.

It's the "Ralph Sampson Rule".

__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Mon Mar 20, 2017 at 06:01pm.
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 20, 2017, 06:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dale3 View Post
Can someone confirm / deny that this was correctly ruled BI per NCAAM rules?

We seem to have agreement that in HS this is a Technical, not BI. And as Johnny Ringo points out, the C does appear to be signaling a T.
Same rule in both.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 20, 2017, 09:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,038
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dale3 View Post
Can someone confirm / deny that this was correctly ruled BI per NCAAM rules?

We seem to have agreement that in HS this is a Technical, not BI. And as Johnny Ringo points out, the C does appear to be signaling a T.
Guess I am not understanding why you say Technical, "not BI". I agree on the technical part but are you suggesting that if he made the basket it would not be BI and that the score would count but then a Technical would be called? If a player is grabbing the rim and messing with the ball, I consider that BI and would not count any basket scored in such a way. I am thinking it is both BI and a T. Now, perhaps you meant it was not BI simply because the ball was not in the cylinder and it was not scored. I agree with that but if that ball is scored and he was grabbing the rim, then you have both infractions. (NFHS case 9.11.1 Sit B) Someone can totally correct me if it is different in NCAAM. He did reach and touch the ball and it nearly went in the basket.
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 21, 2017, 07:23am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dale3 View Post
Can someone confirm / deny that this was correctly ruled BI per NCAAM rules?

We seem to have agreement that in HS this is a Technical, not BI. And as Johnny Ringo points out, the C does appear to be signaling a T.
It is only a T if the player is hanging on the rim unnecessarily. He is attempting to dunk the ball and the BI called ends the play. I would not call a T here for any reason if the BI was called. But I can make a case that this is not a BI as the ball did not go back to the original position and contact the ball. You could make a case for that, but I am not sure that was technically right.

I also do not see the C giving a T signal. I think he is signalling something else related to the BI. But he goes away from the screen, so hard to ultimately tell.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NCAA Tournament Video Requests - Saturday March 18 JRutledge Basketball 55 Wed Mar 22, 2017 07:42am
NCAA Tournament Video Requests - Friday March 17 JRutledge Basketball 15 Mon Mar 20, 2017 04:03pm
NCAA Tournament Video Requests - Thursday March 16 Nevadaref Basketball 15 Sun Mar 19, 2017 06:17pm
SEC Tournament Plays (Requests and Video) JRutledge Basketball 11 Mon Mar 13, 2017 09:27am
Big 12 Tournament plays (Video and Requests) JRutledge Basketball 6 Fri Mar 10, 2017 08:50am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:27am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1