![]() |
Quote:
There is no player control during the latter. I don't even think that it is a dribble per the Case Book, but that is another debate. |
Controls ball with both feet in the FC, dribbles behind his back. One foot lands in BC, that foot then rises off of floor and he touches ball with one foot on the floor, and the foot that was in the BC is in the air. What's his location?
|
It's close... close enough that I'm not going to make my living making that my best call of the night. Play on.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
This isn't a dribble from backcourt to frontcourt, so the 3-points rule doesn't apply. The controlling rule for player location in this case is nothing touching the backcourt means frontcourt location. |
Quote:
Where he was going was the FC, and he was there as soon as one foot touched it and the other was lifted from the BC (which was your previous description). |
Quote:
|
Is it safe to say that if you rule the initial touch as the beginning of a dribble then it's a BC? If the initial touch is not the start of a dribble then it's nothing?
|
Quote:
No such rule / statement exists for the division line. |
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
I think it was a dribble. He pushed the ball to the floor with one hand and behind his back so the ball would be just where he knew it would be when the ball returned from the floor and he returned from having one foot in the backcourt. I think he had control of the ball when he pushed it to the floor. |
I woudn't have called a backcourt violation but the travel ....
right after the UNC player regains control and passes the ball, there appears to be a travel violation not called.
|
Quote:
|
After reviewing it further I think I am changing my mind and saying not a backcourt violation. After watching it about 5 more times, it looks like the UNC player gains control in the front court after lifting his foot up from the backcourt, while his other foot is in the front court.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:06am. |