The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 21, 2017, 01:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,039
Quote:
Originally Posted by KCRC View Post
I'm assuming backcourt violations are not reviewable under NCAA rules. NCAA officials please confirm.
Correct.

Bang bang play. Any way you look at it, the officials were incorrect. If dribbler's foot down in FC, travel. If not, no BC violation. Interestingly, both T and C have same BC call. That indicates to me that the dribbler's foot probably did not touch FC, otherwise at least one of T or C would have a travel. Then, it is hard to believe that both T and C got the BC violation incorrect. Would have liked to hear their post game conversation regarding what each saw.
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?

Last edited by bucky; Tue Feb 21, 2017 at 01:12pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 21, 2017, 01:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,317
This looks to be an anticipation call and they forgot about the passer's location.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 21, 2017, 01:33pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,577
Quote:
Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB View Post
This looks to be an anticipation call and they forgot about the passer's location.
Maybe they did not forget, they think he landed in the FC. There is a lot we do not know about this play honestly unless the officials tell us what they saw.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 21, 2017, 01:54pm
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky View Post
Correct.

Bang bang play. Any way you look at it, the officials were incorrect. If dribbler's foot down in FC, travel. If not, no BC violation. Interestingly, both T and C have same BC call. That indicates to me that the dribbler's foot probably did not touch FC, otherwise at least one of T or C would have a travel. Then, it is hard to believe that both T and C got the BC violation incorrect. Would have liked to hear their post game conversation regarding what each saw.
I would bet they say that his foot was down in the FC. That's the only way to have a BC violation here.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 21, 2017, 04:17pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,973
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
I would bet they say that his foot was down in the FC. That's the only way to have a BC violation here.
If his foot was down in the FC then it's an obvious travel. I felt he traveled already in the BC.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 21, 2017, 04:24pm
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
If his foot was down in the FC then it's an obvious travel. I felt he traveled already in the BC.
That's my point. The only way to justify a BC call is to say the foot was down, which now means they kicked a travel call.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 21, 2017, 05:19pm
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,775
While ball handler is in the air, White #2 has his hand on the ball and both feet in the FC. Is that enough to establish FC status? That's the only thing I can see here that would lead to a BC call.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 21, 2017, 07:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockyroad View Post
While ball handler is in the air, White #2 has his hand on the ball and both feet in the FC. Is that enough to establish FC status? That's the only thing I can see here that would lead to a BC call.
No, that would not be enough to establish FC status....when two players are touching the ball and one is in the backcourt, the ball is in the backcourt.

The assertion is that the ball handler, after jumping, landed in the FC before breaking contact with the ball on the pass. I believe that is correct.

As such, it was a travel (or should have been) but it was certainly a backcourt violation. Ultimately, the right team got the ball.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video Request: Team Warning for Delay (Video added) crosscountry55 Basketball 6 Sun Nov 20, 2016 05:44pm
Video request: Mercer basket with 1:07 left in 2nd half (Video) Nevadaref Basketball 13 Sat Mar 22, 2014 03:04pm
Video Request Indiana Miami: Foul causes a travel (Video Added) Sharpshooternes Basketball 12 Fri May 24, 2013 04:44pm
Video Request: Michigan v. Florida (Video Added) JRutledge Basketball 11 Mon Apr 01, 2013 06:43am
Video request: OVC Title game Murray St. vs. Belmont (Video Added) JRutledge Basketball 8 Sat Mar 23, 2013 06:18pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:51pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1