The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 10, 2017, 11:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 121
Should they have counted the basket? In NF, you count the basket if successful on a blarge. Not sure of the NCAAM rule-set.
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 10, 2017, 11:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 121
Sigh....the BTN says they were both ejected after the play because of their 5th foul. I wish the Network could get the terminology right. Ejection vs DQ are two different things...

Swanigan, Bryant Ejected After Double Foul - BTN
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 10, 2017, 12:04pm
AremRed
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by RefCT View Post
Should they have counted the basket? In NF, you count the basket if successful on a blarge. Not sure of the NCAAM rule-set.
Wait. You cannot score a basket with an offensive foul by the shooter under either NFHS or NCAA-M rules, even if the ball has been released before contact. Why would this change if a double foul is ruled? The offensive part of the double foul negates any basket that could be made.

The key is what the POI is....if the ball has been released then you go to the arrow because no team control. If the ball has not be released then you give the ball OOB to the team who had it in possession, in this case Indiana.
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 10, 2017, 12:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by AremRed View Post
Wait. You cannot score a basket with an offensive foul by the shooter under either NFHS or NCAA-M rules, even if the ball has been released before contact. Why would this change if a double foul is ruled? The offensive part of the double foul negates any basket that could be made.
That is not the case for a blarge - see (as it was in 2012-2013, which is what I have at work) case play 4.19.8 Situation C. RULING: Even though Airborne shooter A1 has committed a charging foul, it is not a PC foul because the two fouls result in a double personal foul. The double foul does not cause the ball to become dead on the try. In (a), the goal is scored and play is resumed at the POI, which is a throw-in for Team B from anywhere along the end line.
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 10, 2017, 12:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: SLC Utah
Posts: 567
Quote:
Originally Posted by RefCT View Post
That is not the case for a blarge - see (as it was in 2012-2013, which is what I have at work) case play 4.19.8 Situation C. RULING: Even though Airborne shooter A1 has committed a charging foul, it is not a PC foul because the two fouls result in a double personal foul. The double foul does not cause the ball to become dead on the try. In (a), the goal is scored and play is resumed at the POI, which is a throw-in for Team B from anywhere along the end line.
Dang it you beat me to it...GJ
__________________
BigT "The rookie"
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 10, 2017, 12:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigT View Post
Dang it you beat me to it...GJ
I am very rarely correct on the forum, but I knew I was correct because I remember reading this years ago and saying "that's weird".

I was wondering what the ruling is under the NCAAM rule set.
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 10, 2017, 12:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,194
Quote:
Originally Posted by RefCT View Post
That is not the case for a blarge - see (as it was in 2012-2013, which is what I have at work) case play 4.19.8 Situation C. RULING: Even though Airborne shooter A1 has committed a charging foul, it is not a PC foul because the two fouls result in a double personal foul. The double foul does not cause the ball to become dead on the try. In (a), the goal is scored and play is resumed at the POI, which is a throw-in for Team B from anywhere along the end line.
Hasn't the ball been released in that case play? (I don't have the books handy).

We did go round-an-round on this when a double foul became POI (many years ago). If it's before the try -- team in control. If it's after the release -- count the basket (or arrow if the try is unsuccessful). If it's during the try (before the release) -- ?
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 10, 2017, 12:36pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Hasn't the ball been released in that case play? (I don't have the books handy).

We did go round-an-round on this when a double foul became POI (many years ago). If it's before the try -- team in control. If it's after the release -- count the basket (or arrow if the try is unsuccessful). If it's during the try (before the release) -- ?
If it's before the release, it's in player control, therefore team control, right?

Then it's a double foul and A gets the ball back POI.
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 10, 2017, 12:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Hasn't the ball been released in that case play? (I don't have the books handy).

We did go round-an-round on this when a double foul became POI (many years ago). If it's before the try -- team in control. If it's after the release -- count the basket (or arrow if the try is unsuccessful). If it's during the try (before the release) -- ?
Ok, I see the ball was released after contact in this game so the basket wouldn't have counted in either rule set.
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 10, 2017, 12:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 23
This is a charge, and I do believe that the C had the best look, it opens right up to him. However, the C needs to be far more patient, he should have been 3rd in line for a whistle here. This play was never in the Cs primary.
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 10, 2017, 12:56pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dale3 View Post
This is a charge, and I do believe that the C had the best look, it opens right up to him. However, the C needs to be far more patient, he should have been 3rd in line for a whistle here. This play was never in the Cs primary.
This line of thinking is about as "old school" as 3-person thinking can get.

The drive might initiate in the trail's primary, but he has a terrible look at this play. The L has to go a long way to get this from the end line, too.

Top half of the lane is a convergence area of primary coverages. The C is looking right through those players and clearly has the best look at the play. The L is just as wrong for hitting his hip as the C is for punching it right away.
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 10, 2017, 12:14pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by AremRed View Post
Wait. You cannot score a basket with an offensive foul by the shooter under either NFHS or NCAA-M rules, even if the ball has been released before contact. Why would this change if a double foul is ruled? The offensive part of the double foul negates any basket that could be made.

The key is what the POI is....if the ball has been released then you go to the arrow because no team control. If the ball has not be released then you give the ball OOB to the team who had it in possession, in this case Indiana.
Because them's the rules. It's a double foul, not a combination of a player control foul and a block.

(Edit: I've been beaten to this multiple times. What I get for filling my coffee, I suppose.)
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another one: LR VS PURDUE billyu2 Basketball 0 Thu Mar 17, 2016 06:12pm
Purdue-Cincinnati AremRed Basketball 5 Thu Mar 19, 2015 09:08pm
Iowa at Purdue JRutledge Basketball 0 Sun Jan 27, 2013 05:45pm
Illinois at Purdue (9-29-12) bbsbvb83 Volleyball 1 Sun Sep 30, 2012 06:58pm
Purdue/Iowa Johnny Ringo Basketball 5 Thu Jan 31, 2008 04:17pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:27am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1