The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Does Continuation Apply? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/102144-does-continuation-apply.html)

deecee Fri Jan 27, 2017 12:04am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BlueDevilRef (Post 998719)
You mean Joe Montana?
Or Tony Danza?

Joe Danza

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Fri Jan 27, 2017 12:15am

Play A: Team A has the ball in its FC. A1, Team A's 7'-00" right handed center is set up in the low post with his back to the basket. A1 receives a pass from A2, and then in one continuous motion: he picks up his left foot, jumps off his right foot (to his left), lands on his left foot, then jumps off his left foot, and while airborne either: 1) releases the ball on a pass to A3, or 2) releases the ball for a hook shot that goes through the basket. A1 is fouled by B1 after he has started to step with his left foot but before but before he releases the ball for his: (1) pass to A3, or (2) hook shot. What it your Ruling?


Play B: Team A has the ball in its FC. A1, Team A's 7'-00" right handed center is dribbling the ball while set up in the low post with his back to the basket. A1 stops his dribble and then in one continuous motion: he picks up his left foot, jumps off his right foot (to his left), lands on his left foot, then jumps off his left foot, and while airborne either: 1) releases the ball on a pass to A3, or 2) releases the ball for a hook shot that goes through the basket. A1 is fouled by B1 anytime after he has started to step with his left foot but before he releases the ball for his: (1) pass to A3, or (2) hook shot. What it your Ruling?


Play C: A1 catches a pass from A2 while both of her feet are in the air. She then, in one continuous motion, lands on her right foot, then jumps off her right foot, then lands on her left foot, and then jumps off of her left foot, after which she releases the ball: 1) on a pass to A3, or 2) a layup that goes through the basket. A1 is fouled by B1 anytime after she has caught A2's pass and but before she releases the ball for her: (1) pass to A3, or (2) layup. What it your Ruling?


Play D: A1 is dribbling the ball and ends her dribble while both of her feet are in the air. She then, in one continuous motion, lands on her right foot, then jumps off her right foot, then lands on her left foot, and then jumps off of her left foot, after which she releases the ball for her: 1) on a pass to A3, or 2) a layup that goes through the basket. A1 is fouled by B1 anytime after she has ended her dribble but before she releases the ball for her: (1) pass to A3, or (2) layup. What it your Ruling?



Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 998685)
What the players do in all of your plays after the foul doesn't matter. It's what they are doing when they are fouled that matters.

In the video, the player was not shooting (or preparing to shoot, or whatever the specific rule wording is.)


Bob:

So, you are telling me that the fouls committed in Plays A2, B2, C2 and D2 above are not fouls committed in the act of shooting?

MTD, Sr.

deecee Fri Jan 27, 2017 07:54am

http://davidmarkbrownwrites.com/wp-c...le-300x235.jpg

Hey guys he's over here.

bob jenkins Fri Jan 27, 2017 08:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 998725)
Play A: Team A has the ball in its FC. A1, Team A's 7'-00" right handed center is set up in the low post with his back to the basket. A1 receives a pass from A2, and then in one continuous motion: he picks up his left foot, jumps off his right foot (to his left), lands on his left foot, then jumps off his left foot, and while airborne either: 1) releases the ball on a pass to A3, or 2) releases the ball for a hook shot that goes through the basket. A1 is fouled by B1 after he has started to step with his left foot but before but before he releases the ball for his: (1) pass to A3, or (2) hook shot. What it your Ruling?


Play B: Team A has the ball in its FC. A1, Team A's 7'-00" right handed center is dribbling the ball while set up in the low post with his back to the basket. A1 stops his dribble and then in one continuous motion: he picks up his left foot, jumps off his right foot (to his left), lands on his left foot, then jumps off his left foot, and while airborne either: 1) releases the ball on a pass to A3, or 2) releases the ball for a hook shot that goes through the basket. A1 is fouled by B1 anytime after he has started to step with his left foot but before he releases the ball for his: (1) pass to A3, or (2) hook shot. What it your Ruling?


Play C: A1 catches a pass from A2 while both of her feet are in the air. She then, in one continuous motion, lands on her right foot, then jumps off her right foot, then lands on her left foot, and then jumps off of her left foot, after which she releases the ball: 1) on a pass to A3, or 2) a layup that goes through the basket. A1 is fouled by B1 anytime after she has caught A2's pass and but before she releases the ball for her: (1) pass to A3, or (2) layup. What it your Ruling?


Play D: A1 is dribbling the ball and ends her dribble while both of her feet are in the air. She then, in one continuous motion, lands on her right foot, then jumps off her right foot, then lands on her left foot, and then jumps off of her left foot, after which she releases the ball for her: 1) on a pass to A3, or 2) a layup that goes through the basket. A1 is fouled by B1 anytime after she has ended her dribble but before she releases the ball for her: (1) pass to A3, or (2) layup. What it your Ruling?






Bob:

So, you are telling me that the fouls committed in Plays A2, B2, C2 and D2 above are not fouls committed in the act of shooting?

MTD, Sr.

I'm saying you don't have enough information in your plays to answer. For example, play 1 could be "The player steps with his foot and looks to pass the ball to A3. After getting fouled, he throws up a hook shot." that still fits your description and would NOT be a shooting foul.

Matt Sun Jan 29, 2017 01:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BlueDevilRef (Post 998719)
You mean Joe Montana?
Or Tony Danza?

I mean, it's only one of the most famous movies ever...


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:11pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1