The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   dizzy score keeper (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/102081-dizzy-score-keeper.html)

bob jenkins Wed Jan 11, 2017 12:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 997031)
What if the player did nothing stat-wise while in the game? Still a tech? Just curious.

Sent from my SM-G925V using Tapatalk

Quote:

Originally Posted by scrounge (Post 997032)
It's the requiring of a change in the book that triggered the T, so penalize when that occurred.

NOT a Tech, according to either a case play or an interp.

Also not a Tech if the home book just changes the number and doesn't tell the officials until later.

I can certainly see the point that this could create some "unfairness" if the home book acted one way for the home team and one way for the visitors, but I don't see it happening often enough to be a big concern.

Nevadaref Wed Jan 11, 2017 12:54pm

There is an NFHS Interp from a few years ago which states that there is no penalty until the player returns to the game. However, that is wrong. The person who wrote that failed to recognize that by rule the scorer is to keep a record of all players (starters and substitutes) who have participated in the game. Where is that record kept?--The official scorebook. Since the kid played, he needs to be properly recorded in the book.
I agree that a team member with an incorrect number isn't penalized if he never participates.

BillyMac Wed Jan 11, 2017 08:05pm

Let's Go To The Videotape ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 997077)
There is an NFHS Interp from a few years ago which states that there is no penalty until the player returns to the game.

*3.2.2 SITUATION C: Team A substitute No. 25 reports to the table for the first time with approximately one minute remaining in the second quarter and is beckoned onto the court. In (a), the ball is put in play by a throw-in from A1 to A2. The horn sounds and the scorer informs the officials that No. 25 is not listed in the scorebook. In (b), No. 25 plays the remainder of the second quarter. During halftime intermission, the official scorer realizes No. 25 is not listed in the scorebook and informs the officials when they return to the court before the start of the third quarter. RULING: In (a), No. 25 is currently in the game and became a player when he/she legally entered the court. Since his or her name and number must now be entered into the scorebook, a technical foul is charged to Team A. In (b), no penalty is assessed since No. 25 is not currently in the game. If No. 25 attempts to enter the game in the second half, his or her name and number will be added to the scorebook and a technical foul charged to Team A. (3-2-2b; 10- 1-2b)

frezer11 Thu Jan 12, 2017 04:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 997050)
Well, if you penalize the first, there's no further penalty for the 2nd. My understanding of the case play is that the NFHS makes us make the change if the player has created an official stat that must be entered in the book (foul or points). Otherwise, once the player has gone to the bench they don't have to make the change if he stays on the bench (or he could simply go to the locker room and put on the right number).

I could be wrong, though. That's just my read of the case play and that's how I would handle it in the game, unless I get convinced otherwise.

When a substitute enters the game, the scorer marks off the quarter that they are entering in the scorebook, assuming they have not already been in at some point during that quarter. Does this notation not count as "an official stat?" It seems to me that if they played, then there should be record of it in the scorebook.

I believe the case book play cited by Nevada and posted by Billy is in reference to an oblivious scorekeeper, who made an unintentional error. The OP may have also meant this, but for the sake of discussion, if the scorer knew about the jersey change, and waited to tell the officials, thinking it wasn't that big of a deal, I don't think I'd go so far as to accuse that person of deliberately influencing the game, but if you knew the scorekeeper knew, does this change anyone's answer as to how to handle the situation?

Adam Thu Jan 12, 2017 04:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by frezer11 (Post 997241)
but if you knew the scorekeeper knew, does this change anyone's answer as to how to handle the situation?

You mean the score keeper intentionally makes the change in the book without telling the officials until later?

Yeah, if it's absolutely clear he was being deceptive, I'm having him replaced. That's the only thing I'm doing differently.

BigT Fri Jan 13, 2017 11:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 997071)
NOT a Tech, according to either a case play or an interp.

Also not a Tech if the home book just changes the number and doesn't tell the officials until later.

I can certainly see the point that this could create some "unfairness" if the home book acted one way for the home team and one way for the visitors, but I don't see it happening often enough to be a big concern.

If there is a visitor book shouldnt they have caught this and reported it to the officials? Is this why you want to have your own book to catch mistakes like this?

so cal lurker Fri Jan 13, 2017 12:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigT (Post 997290)
If there is a visitor book shouldnt they have caught this and reported it to the officials? Is this why you want to have your own book to catch mistakes like this?

A visitor's book could certainly have caught this, but this is a pretty unusual event. More common things that get caught are score and number of fouls. When I was keeping books, the most common error was PFs (or techs) not also getting marked as TFs, and (less often) points given to the player but not the running count.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:37pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1