![]() |
dizzy score keeper
Here's how I remember the situation: (middle school game).
Scorekeeper is told by the home team(white) coach to just copy yesterdays lineup into today's score book. No problem so far. (fyi, #1 white changed into #3w jersey w/o telling his coach before the game started). #3w not listed in book, just #1w. Game is started, #3w gets into the game w/o the officials being notified. #3w commits a foul, score keeper, who realizes that #3w s/b #1w, just logs the foul in #1's box in the score book. Play continues, dead ball, #3w gets replaced by #12w. After a few minutes of playing time goes by, a time out is called. During the time out, coach from blue team says # 3w was in game illegally. Comment: It's too late to penalize. (Can penalize if & when #3w does re-enter the game). Questions: 1. The foul that was charged to #1w, how does it get corrected in the book? 2. Can #3w go to the locker room and change to #1w? Thanks in advance, I'll be back after I down a few Miller's. |
I'm penalizing this when it is brought to my attention.
I will have the scorer correct the book to properly reflect the player's jersey number and assess the team tech. I'm not permitting the home team to get away with an infraction because the scorer didn't do his job properly. |
Let's Go To The Videotape ...
A team shall not: After the 10-minute time limit: Require the scorer to change a team member’s or player’s number in the scorebook ... Require a player to change to the number in the scorebook. PENALTY: Penalized when they occur.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
What if the player did nothing stat-wise while in the game? Still a tech? Just curious.
Sent from my SM-G925V using Tapatalk |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Had the scorer notified us as soon as he entered the game, those are the options the coach would have been given. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Sent from my SM-G925V using Tapatalk |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
I would even submit that if he goes to the locker room and changes numbers, he's committed a SECOND violation. |
Quote:
I could be wrong, though. That's just my read of the case play and that's how I would handle it in the game, unless I get convinced otherwise. |
Quote:
Quote:
Also not a Tech if the home book just changes the number and doesn't tell the officials until later. I can certainly see the point that this could create some "unfairness" if the home book acted one way for the home team and one way for the visitors, but I don't see it happening often enough to be a big concern. |
There is an NFHS Interp from a few years ago which states that there is no penalty until the player returns to the game. However, that is wrong. The person who wrote that failed to recognize that by rule the scorer is to keep a record of all players (starters and substitutes) who have participated in the game. Where is that record kept?--The official scorebook. Since the kid played, he needs to be properly recorded in the book.
I agree that a team member with an incorrect number isn't penalized if he never participates. |
Let's Go To The Videotape ...
Quote:
|
Quote:
I believe the case book play cited by Nevada and posted by Billy is in reference to an oblivious scorekeeper, who made an unintentional error. The OP may have also meant this, but for the sake of discussion, if the scorer knew about the jersey change, and waited to tell the officials, thinking it wasn't that big of a deal, I don't think I'd go so far as to accuse that person of deliberately influencing the game, but if you knew the scorekeeper knew, does this change anyone's answer as to how to handle the situation? |
Quote:
Yeah, if it's absolutely clear he was being deceptive, I'm having him replaced. That's the only thing I'm doing differently. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:53am. |