![]() |
Quote:
|
I think the problem is that people think that contact must be a foul -- that the foul is a reward somehow.
A foul is designed to penalize an unfair advantage. If you crash off me and fall to the floor, how am I placed at a disadvantage? |
Quote:
If the offense initiates contact that only disadvantages the offense, the defense hasn't suffered any injustice that needs corrected. Next up in the response, the argument that the foul count should some how be considered, and getting closer to the bonus should be used as a rationale for calling the foul. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
If your partner makes that call, you have to go with it as you have to go with it and assume that he saw something you didn't. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
No jokes about me making a bad call... I know. ;) Anyway, the dribbler drove from my PCA as the center, and into the lane to attempt a shot in front of the lead. I saw the defender swipe at the ball, and I called a foul. Bad call, as I didn't actually see the contact due to being straightlined. I reacted too quickly and made an assumption. As soon as I made the call I looked at my partner after realizing I shouldn't have made the call, and he had a look on his face that told me the defender never made contact with the dribbler/shooter. Now... the play happened in his PCA, and he knew that I had made a bad call. So, going by what you just said, should he have overruled my call? |
Quote:
But you've just made my point, not disproved it. In the OP, his partner (erroneously) rushed in to overrule him after he correctly ruled no-foul and then a travel. His partner should not have tried to overrule him. |
Quote:
BTW, I don't consider a no-call a call. There are plenty of times an official will pass on a call, only for a partner to take it. I'm not saying his partner should have even tried to overrule him, but once he made it known that he had a foul before the travel (meaning it wasn't just brought up in a private conversation), then I'd go with it. And later on we'd have a chat about it. |
Quote:
Now we're just into semantics. If you want to say the (non)foul in the OP is a no-call, you can. But the call was made. It was traveling, which was caused by the contact, which was judged not to be a foul. In my opinion if the partner comes in after the fact (which is what I'm picturing here) saying blocking foul and it happened first, he is indeed trying to "set aside a decision made by the other official," which he cannot do. 2-6 |
Quote:
Sent from my SM-G925V using Tapatalk |
Quote:
That isn't having a foul before the travel. Imo. And if anybody botched I'd say forcefully "it was my call and I made it." Blue ball etc |
Quote:
Sent from my SM-G925V using Tapatalk |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:19pm. |