The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Wed Dec 14, 2016, 04:41pm
Official Forum Member

Rules Question from new official

This is my first year officiating basketball and I have what i believe is a pretty basic question about backcourt violations. The other night while officiating a game, I had to backcourt situations arise in which I didn't believe they were backcourt. However, from the lead position both times my partner called the violation.

Situation 1: A1 has a throw-in from the frontcourt at the end-line. A2 touches in the frontcourt, but never gains possession. Finally, A2 is able to gain possession in the backcourt and lead calls violation. Since I'm new I really don't mind people stepping in my area if I miss something. However, please correct me if I'm wrong, doesn't A have to gain full possession before a violation can be called? A touch is not considered possession.

Situation 2: A1 passes to A2. A2 misses the pass and the ball bounces in the front court. A2 chases ball jumps from the frontcourt to backcourt, while in the air catches ball throws to another teammate in the frontcourt. A2 never lands in the backcourt with possession. Again, from lead position partner called backcourt violation. My perception is that since he never landed in the backcourt with possession and the ball never touched in the back-court there is no violation.

Any clarification is greatly appreciated.
Old Wed Dec 14, 2016, 04:59pm
Keeper of the HAMMER

1. You were right, this is not a violation. I'm guessing your partner doesn't understand the rule, and doesn't understand that TC during a throw-in only applies to fouls and whether FTs are taken.