![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Loosely applied: 9-9-3 . . . while on defense, a player may legally jump from his/her frontcourt, secure control of the ball with both feet off the floor and return to the floor with one or both feet in the backcourt.
Thus, no violation - remember, "loosely applied."
__________________
To be good at a sport, one must be smart enough to play the game -- and dumb enough to think that it's important . . .
|
|
|||
|
I agree, and that's why I mentioned that in the play in question, which is clearly after the jumpball had ended, a loose interpretation allows a no-call - as the player in black didn't appear to have control of the ball, which would have allowed an official to consider the player in white to be "on defense."
__________________
To be good at a sport, one must be smart enough to play the game -- and dumb enough to think that it's important . . .
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
I would simply say it was so close that i can't be sure and if i can't be sure I'm not going to call it. p.s. (The offense is defined in the rules fundamentals as the team in control of the ball.) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I'm always trying to be ready to answer a coach's question regarding a call. So, in this case, what would be the response to a coach who asked about this call?
__________________
To be good at a sport, one must be smart enough to play the game -- and dumb enough to think that it's important . . .
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
1. Yep, but didn't process it until too late. or 2. Not sure, may have been…. Tell him the truth. It would be a mistake imo to try and tell him about control and offense and defense etc. |
|
||||
|
Quote:
"Coach, you might be right, but it was close enough that I wasn't sure enough to call it."
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|