The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   9-9....? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/101884-9-9-a.html)

Robert E. Harrison Wed Nov 30, 2016 04:26pm

If I saw this play on the court, I would have nothing. The ball is last touched by visitors (black) and the home (white) player makes a defensive steal and is allowed to come down in the back court.

BigCat Wed Nov 30, 2016 04:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Robert E. Harrison (Post 993872)
If I saw this play on the court, I would have nothing. The ball is last touched by visitors (black) and the home (white) player makes a defensive steal and is allowed to come down in the back court.

Robert,

Id likely have nothing because it is so close and wouldnt be able to tell or process fast enough. Read earlier portions of the thread. The jump ball ended and white was the first team to control the ball. White is the offense. Black touching it does not make it the offense. The defensive exception does not apply. See basketball rules fundamentals in beginning of book. Offense is the team in control of ball. Here, no team in control until white caught it. By rule white cannot be deemed as the defense.

SC Official Thu Dec 01, 2016 05:47pm

I was just reading NFHS 9-9-3 and NCAA 9-12-10, and observed something.

During a jump ball, throw-in or while on defense, a player may legally jump from his/her frontcourt, secure control of the ball with both feet off the floor and return to the floor with one or both feet in the backcourt. The player may make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in the frontcourt or backcourt. (NFHS 9-9-3)

After a jump ball or during a throw-in, the player in his frontcourt, who makes the initial touch on the ball while both feet are off the playing court, may be the first to secure control of the ball and land with one or both feet in the backcourt. It makes no difference if the first foot down was in the frontcourt or backcourt. (NCAA 9-12-10)

So, the wording of the rules with relation to if this action occurs right after a jump ball ends would seem to imply that this would be a legal play in NCAA, and not legal under NFHS. Interesting.

SNIPERBBB Thu Dec 01, 2016 05:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SC Official (Post 993980)
I was just reading NFHS 9-9-3 and NCAA 9-12-10, and observed something.

During a jump ball, throw-in or while on defense, a player may legally jump from his/her frontcourt, secure control of the ball with both feet off the floor and return to the floor with one or both feet in the backcourt. The player may make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in the frontcourt or backcourt. (NFHS 9-9-3)

After a jump ball or during a throw-in, the player in his frontcourt, who makes the initial touch on the ball while both feet are off the playing court, may be the first to secure control of the ball and land with one or both feet in the backcourt. It makes no difference if the first foot down was in the frontcourt or backcourt. (NCAA 9-12-10)

So, the wording of the rules with relation to if this action occurs right after a jump ball ends would seem to imply that this would be a legal play in NCAA, and not legal under NFHS. Interesting.


Different wording, same ruling. Still a violation for this play.

Adam Thu Dec 01, 2016 07:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Robert E. Harrison (Post 993872)
If I saw this play on the court, I would have nothing. The ball is last touched by visitors (black) and the home (white) player makes a defensive steal and is allowed to come down in the back court.

You're just wrong on the rule. Touching by black doesn't constitute team control, so it doesn't make white "defense." That exception does not apply.

SC Official Thu Dec 01, 2016 11:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB (Post 993981)
Different wording, same ruling. Still a violation for this play.

Explain.

SNIPERBBB Fri Dec 02, 2016 05:54am

White was not the initial toucher. So he was not covered under the exemption.

Rich Fri Dec 02, 2016 08:31am

If I see this and am sure, I call it.

I just don't think I see this from the 28' with 100% clarity -- I watched it 2-3 times here to be sure myself...and that's in my chair.

bob jenkins Fri Dec 02, 2016 08:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SC Official (Post 993980)
I was just reading NFHS 9-9-3 and NCAA 9-12-10, and observed something.

During a jump ball, throw-in or while on defense, a player may legally jump from his/her frontcourt, secure control of the ball with both feet off the floor and return to the floor with one or both feet in the backcourt. The player may make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in the frontcourt or backcourt. (NFHS 9-9-3)

After a jump ball or during a throw-in, the player in his frontcourt, who makes the initial touch on the ball while both feet are off the playing court, may be the first to secure control of the ball and land with one or both feet in the backcourt. It makes no difference if the first foot down was in the frontcourt or backcourt. (NCAA 9-12-10)

So, the wording of the rules with relation to if this action occurs right after a jump ball ends would seem to imply that this would be a legal play in NCAA, and not legal under NFHS. Interesting.

The player in question was also not the first to touch the ball.

SC Official Fri Dec 02, 2016 10:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB (Post 994013)
White was not the initial toucher. So he was not covered under the exemption.

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 994018)
The player in question was also not the first to touch the ball.


Yeah, I'm really dumb. :o


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:28pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1