Camron Rust |
Tue Nov 29, 2016 05:44pm |
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee
(Post 993789)
This will be my last foray into this topic. Those on the "if I see it I must call it" do you warn and or T a coach when they step out of the coaching box?
Do you call 3 seconds at 3 and 10 second FT at 10?
The reality of this play is that it's not getting called. It's so close do you really want to start the game with this hair to split? I'm not calling the play that is in this video a BC violation.
|
Boundary lines defining the play of the game are not subject to gray area decisions with regards to whether the player is or is not in/out of a certain area. If you know the player was in the frontcourt (and it is possible you may not) with the ball and stepped into the backcourt (or OOB), there really isn't a choice to be made. There is no wiggle room within this rule for an exception because it was close or at the beginning of the game.
With regards to the time-based examples you give, the time itself is somewhat subjective and both of those rules have had plenty of press on what they were really intended to address and it isn't just the location or even the time. Both are targeted at unfair advantages (big man under the basket) or borderline unsportsmanlike behavior or unreasonably delaying the game (refusing to shoot a FT).
As for the T on the coach, no. Same reason, not how it was intended to be handled.
Personally, I don't shy away form calling something because it is close, I call things because they're the right thing to call. We're paid to split those hairs and not calling it is merely splitting the hair the other way.
|