![]() |
|
|||||||
![]() |
|
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Rate Thread | Display Modes |
|
|
|
|||
|
An "object" and a "person" are different things. It doesn't matter in this case, since the ball is OOB if it hits either a person who is OOB or an object that is OOB.
It would matter if a player touched a person (the player is not OOB) or an object (the player is OOB). |
|
|||
|
I appreciate the responses so far. I feel satisfied that I got it right. To answer the question that was asked, A2 probably could have caught the pass if it had continued, but it was a poor pass in general and it would have been caught outside the sideline plane, not that it matters.
|
|
|||
|
Now that I've had some time to step back and think about it and hear other people's take on it, it seems really obvious. But in that split second when something unexpected like this happens and you have to process and make a call immediately, I second guessed myself because I seemed to be the only one in the gym who thought I did the right thing. It looked "funny" because it was an odd play.
When I posted in my association's FB page, all but one person agreed with what people are saying here. He thought I should have given the ball back to Team A. When I asked why, given the pretty clear rule on the matter, he replied "Understanding the rule, protect the integrity of the game." Head scratcher... |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Inbound pass hits referee OOB | wiscref | Basketball | 48 | Tue Dec 01, 2015 09:33pm |
| Assistant coach standing | ballgame99 | Basketball | 14 | Tue Nov 25, 2014 01:41pm |
| Pass hits Goal Post | Redneck Ref | Football | 8 | Tue Oct 30, 2012 09:56am |
| inbound pass hits backboard | rsl | Basketball | 13 | Mon May 03, 2010 07:50am |
| throw-in bounce pass hits line | rsl | Basketball | 15 | Fri Mar 13, 2009 12:03pm |