![]() |
Rule 10-6-5
Trying to get a clear understanding of Rule 10-6-5 "A player shall not use the forearm and/or hand to prevent an opponent from attacking the ball during a dribble or when throwing for goal”.
A1 dribbling the ball, facing her basket, with her arm extended out, elbow bent, forearm in front of her, “protecting” the ball. No foul or violation if she is by herself. If B1, while guarding A1, tries to steal the ball, but cannot due to A1's extended forearm, but there is no contact, then no foul. If B1 legally attempts to steal the ball, and initiates contact with the extended forearm of A1, PC foul on A1. Do I have this correct? |
This is a HTBT situation. Sometimes that arm is out but not used to do anything. It really depends if you feel it actually was used to shield a player from the ball. Otherwise you call what you see and you could have a PC foul or you could have a foul on the defender. I just know that players with their arms out is common, but that does not mean in many cases they are not fouled first.
Peace |
If I deem that her arm is out there to protect the ball, in violation of 10-6-5, then wouldn't all contact with that arm be a PC foul?
|
Quote:
That said, watch the guys and gals who are getting the games you want to work; see if they're making this call. |
Was this ever not a rule? (Like, in the past 15 years)? I was always taught to use my off-hand to protect while dribbling...
|
Quote:
Yep...if it is enough to cause and advantage. Merely contact, no. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
I think the emphasis should be on the word "use" in the rule -- which implies (to me) some sort of movement / action. It's not just "placing" the hand in a position which inhibits the defense. |
I don't know about anyone else but the way the rule is written, a and generally read, and the way the OP poses the question, I've never seen it called. Ever.
|
Quote:
Thinking about this play... they've even called it in the NBA. On players like Kobe, Wayde, etc. when attacking the rim. How have you not seen this? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
This, Dad, was what I was referring to. This play is not called at any level. Pushing off, of course is a PC foul. But just protecting a defender from attacking the ball is never called. |
And because my books are at work....yes! Day off today!!!!, does anyone have case plays that would have it being called by the letter, just using the arm to prevent a steal attempt?
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:15am. |