The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 08, 2016, 09:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,742
Throw-In Situation

AP throw-in, backcourt endline.

A1 has the ball at disposal for the throw-in. Nearby, B1 is defending A2 who is trying to get in position to receive the throw-in pass from A1. Eventually, A2 fakes out her defender and gets close enough that A1 reaches out over the plane with the ball and starts to hand it to A2. However, A2 never grabs or possesses the ball. She comes close, but ultimately the ball rolled partially up her fingertips at which point B1 arrives and is able to get a firm grip on the ball while A1 is still holding it out over the plane.

Q1: Does the ball become dead at any point here, and if so, when/why?

Q2: Assuming there's a whistle and ruling of some sort, what happens next?

Bonus points for defense of answer with rule citation.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 08, 2016, 10:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,266
I don't think there's any violation for the mere touching by A2 if the ball is past the plane. The touching by B1results in a held ball

6.4.5 SITUATION B:

During an alternating-possession throw-in, thrower A1 holds the ball through the end-line plane and B1 grabs it, resulting in a held ball.

RULING: Since the throw-in had not ended and no violation occurred, it is still A's ball for an alternating-possession throw-in. (4-42-5)

ART. 5
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 08, 2016, 10:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 862
A1: Yes, as soon as A2 touches it. The inbounder must release the ball on a pass directly on to the court (7-6-2).

A2: Throw in for Team B, and the arrow switches over to B as well, as the AP throw in ended when Team A violated.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 08, 2016, 11:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
If A1 never lets go of the ball, then no throw-in pass or hand-off has occurred. Therefore, there is no violation.
(BktBallRef and I debated this topic quite extensively several years ago on this forum.)
If B1 is able to hang onto the ball along with A1, then a heldball should be called.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 09, 2016, 10:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 862
What's the correct answer???
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 10, 2016, 09:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,742
Quote:
Originally Posted by bas2456 View Post
What's the correct answer???
I don't know. That's why I asked.

Nevada's explanation makes more sense, i.e. what's to say A1 couldn't have theoretically pulled the ball back and tried again to make a legal throw-in pass before B1 came in and caused the held ball?

I (U, 2p crew) was actually thinking held ball at the time, and to be perfectly honest it was because that was the rule I knew for sure how to adjudicate. In retrospect, I was accidentally correct. However, R and I got together because it was an unusual whistle, R listened to my description of the play, and opted for throw-in violation. I'm not 100% sure he understood what I was trying to explain, and then it got to that point where it was better to make a decision and move on rather than have a subtle argument on the court. So we went with the TI violation and Team A lost the arrow.

No big deal in the grand scheme. I learned something. Figured it would be a good discussion for the forum.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 11, 2016, 04:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Seaford, Virginia
Posts: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by bas2456 View Post
What's the correct answer???
SnipperBBB already answered correctly, with a quote right out of the case book.

Rule: 6.4.5


6.4.5 SITUATION B:

During an alternating-possession throw-in, thrower A1 holds the ball through the end-line plane and B1 grabs it, resulting in a held ball.

RULING: Since the throw-in had not ended and no violation occurred, it is still A's ball for an alternating-possession throw-in. (4-42-5)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 11, 2016, 04:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 862
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrPete View Post
SnipperBBB already answered correctly, with a quote right out of the case book.



Rule: 6.4.5





6.4.5 SITUATION B:



During an alternating-possession throw-in, thrower A1 holds the ball through the end-line plane and B1 grabs it, resulting in a held ball.



RULING: Since the throw-in had not ended and no violation occurred, it is still A's ball for an alternating-possession throw-in. (4-42-5)

That case play doesn't address the touch by A2.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 12, 2016, 11:47am
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by crosscountry55 View Post
AP throw-in, backcourt endline.

A1 has the ball at disposal for the throw-in. Nearby, B1 is defending A2 who is trying to get in position to receive the throw-in pass from A1. Eventually, A2 fakes out her defender and gets close enough that A1 reaches out over the plane with the ball and starts to hand it to A2. However, A2 never grabs or possesses the ball. She comes close, but ultimately the ball rolled partially up her fingertips at which point B1 arrives and is able to get a firm grip on the ball while A1 is still holding it out over the plane.

Q1: Does the ball become dead at any point here, and if so, when/why?

Q2: Assuming there's a whistle and ruling of some sort, what happens next?

Bonus points for defense of answer with rule citation.
I think the second that A2 touches the ball while still in the hands of the A1, we have a throw in violation. The ball must be passed in on a throw in.

4.42.4.....The throw in count ends when the ball is released by the thrower so the passed ball goes directly into the court.

9.2.2.......The ball shall be passed by the thrower directly into the court from out-of-bounds so it touches or is touched by another player (inbounds or out of bounds) on the court before going out of bounds untouched.

Since this is a throw in violation on the offense, team B will get the ball and the arrow will be switched to team B.

Last edited by OKREF; Fri Feb 12, 2016 at 11:55am.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 12, 2016, 12:01pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
I think the second that A2 touches the ball while still in the hands of the A1, we have a throw in violation. The ball must be passed in on a throw in.

4.42.4.....The throw in count ends when the ball is released by the thrower so the passed ball goes directly into the court.

9.2.2.......The ball shall be passed by the thrower directly into the court from out-of-bounds so it touches or is touched by another player (inbounds or out of bounds) on the court before going out of bounds untouched.

Since this is a throw in violation on the offense, team B will get the ball and the arrow will be switched to team B.
What's the rule violated here?

A1 hasn't released the pass, so the pass isn't illegal.
A1 hasn't handed it off, so that's not the violation.

The ball hasn't gained IB status without a pass, so that's not the violation.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 12, 2016, 12:06pm
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
What's the rule violated here?

A1 hasn't released the pass, so the pass isn't illegal.
A1 hasn't handed it off, so that's not the violation.

The ball hasn't gained IB status without a pass, so that's not the violation.
I would view this as a handoff. The second it left A1's hands and rolled up the fingertips of A2 the ball has been handed off.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 12, 2016, 12:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,266
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
I would view this as a handoff. The second it left A1's hands and rolled up the fingertips of A2 the ball has been handed off.
In the OP the ball never left A1's control
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 12, 2016, 12:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
What's the rule violated here?

A1 hasn't released the pass, so the pass isn't illegal.
A1 hasn't handed it off, so that's not the violation.

The ball hasn't gained IB status without a pass, so that's not the violation.
The argument could be made----A ball is located where a player is in contact with it. Ball is OOB when A1 has it. When inbounds player touches it it is also inbounds. The touch by the inbounds player changes the situation. Since A1 is out of bounds still. violation.

We know that isn't the rule. if it was it would be a violation on A1 when B grabbed the ball. Case play says it is a held ball.

I think you are right that even though an inbounds player touched the ball while it was over the plane, the status of it never changes. If A1 holds onto the ball it is like any other throw in that isn't touched by an inbounds player.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 12, 2016, 02:43pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
The argument could be made----A ball is located where a player is in contact with it. Ball is OOB when A1 has it. When inbounds player touches it it is also inbounds. The touch by the inbounds player changes the situation. Since A1 is out of bounds still. violation.

We know that isn't the rule. if it was it would be a violation on A1 when B grabbed the ball. Case play says it is a held ball.

I think you are right that even though an inbounds player touched the ball while it was over the plane, the status of it never changes. If A1 holds onto the ball it is like any other throw in that isn't touched by an inbounds player.
My thought is that if you have to stretch a rule so thin in order to make a call, it's probably best not to make the call.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Throw in situation ILMalti Basketball 19 Fri Jul 10, 2009 09:44am
Need some help on a free throw situation. NURef Basketball 35 Sat Jul 05, 2008 01:10pm
Free Throw Situation walter Basketball 3 Sat Nov 25, 2006 07:45pm
Throw in situation: williebfree Basketball 63 Thu Jan 16, 2003 09:03pm
Free Throw situation camster Basketball 2 Sun Nov 17, 2002 11:14am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:48am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1