Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam
What's the rule violated here?
A1 hasn't released the pass, so the pass isn't illegal.
A1 hasn't handed it off, so that's not the violation.
The ball hasn't gained IB status without a pass, so that's not the violation.
|
The argument could be made----A ball is located where a player is in contact with it. Ball is OOB when A1 has it. When inbounds player touches it it is also inbounds. The touch by the inbounds player changes the situation. Since A1 is out of bounds still. violation.
We know that isn't the rule. if it was it would be a violation on A1 when B grabbed the ball. Case play says it is a held ball.
I think you are right that even though an inbounds player touched the ball while it was over the plane, the status of it never changes. If A1 holds onto the ball it is like any other throw in that isn't touched by an inbounds player.