The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Vid request Travel Iowa State and Texas A And M (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/100781-vid-request-travel-iowa-state-texas-m.html)

deecee Tue Feb 02, 2016 03:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 979131)
If it's a shot, yes, he can dribble. Fine. Move on from there.

But what if it's not a shot?

What if any ball thrown by a player at his own basket is not always considered a shot?

In any case, the casebook play is not clear that the player can legally dribble the ball a second time. Maybe he can, but it certainly isn't clear.

If the caseplay is so clear, please explain to me how the player can legally dribble a second time if the throw is not a shot. If it's clear, it should be quite easy to explain. Right?

If he couldn't legally catch it then it would be an illegal dribble. So since he can legally catch it he can do with the ball what any player can that has just gained initial possession.

BillyMac Tue Feb 02, 2016 03:59pm

Where It Lands, I Know Not Where ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 979136)
If he couldn't legally catch it then it would be an illegal dribble. So since he can legally catch it he can do with the ball what any player can that has just gained initial possession.

A stationary player holding the ball can always toss the ball up into the air and catch it several times without violating any rule. This caseplay simply adds that he can toss the ball off his own basket in the same manner without violating. It doesn't imply anything else.

Can a stationary player, after ending his dribble, holding the ball, toss the ball up into the air and catch it several times, and then legally start a new dribble? If not, then how do we allow a second dribble in the caseplay (assuming that the throw is not a shot)?

9-5: A player shall not dribble a second time after his/her first dribble has ended, unless it is after he/she has lost control because of:
ART. 1 A try for field goal.
ART. 2 A touch by an opponent.
ART. 3 A pass or fumble which has then touched, or been touched by,
another player.

BillyMac Tue Feb 02, 2016 04:35pm

This Is Not The Iowa Caucuses ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 979129)
Billy how many other officials do you need to disagree with you before you accept an answer?

We're not conducting a poll, we're using the rules, and casebook plays, and maybe annual interpretations, to correctly interpret a situation.

All it takes is one good citation to change my mind. That's all, one good citation.

Dad Wed Feb 03, 2016 12:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 979124)
Travel? How about an illegal dribble? No. the case book says this is legal. No travel. No illegal dribble. We're legal here and have no whistle.

Clear? The caseplay doesn't even state if the player moves his feet between the throw and the catch.Because it doesn't need to. If the same act the player did was against the floor then it would be a violation by rule. Since you can pick up your dribble, throw the ball of the backboard, and then catch it without there being a violation... there's no reason to go into what isn't or is legal -- it just told you. Throwing the ball off the backboard is like throwing it off one of your own players. How can that be clear? He can't travel if he doesn't move his feet.Sure, but he can double dribble if he throws it at the floor and catches it. Backboard isn't there floor. It's like another player and the case book shows that with NOT calling something that would be a violation if it was off the floor. It's the same as a player standing, not moving his pivot foot, or either foot, and tossing the ball up in the air a couple of times, which has already been interpreted as a non-call.No it's not. The air we are breathing is not considered part of a players 'equipment' The catch was never a travel because he never moved his feet. Since this caseplay does not identify the throw as a shot, then the player can only legally begin a new dribble under a few circumstances:

9-5: A player shall not dribble a second time after his/her first dribble has ended, unless it is after he/she has lost control because of:
ART. 1 A try for field goal.
ART. 2 A touch by an opponent.
ART. 3 A pass or fumble which has then touched, or been touched by,
another player.

Again, assuming it's not a shot (the caseplay doesn't call it a shot), has the ball touched an opponent; or was it a pass, or fumble, that was then touched by another player? We already know that you can't pass the ball to yourself (or your backboard, you can only pass to another player), so it wasn't a pass, plus it was never touched by another player. It was intentional so it wasn't a fumble, plus, again, it was never touched by another player. Did the ball ever touch an opponent? The case play says it hit the backboard and that's it. Then catching the ball is legal: not a double dribble. You're trying to add in irrelevant information that isn't in the play. It said exactly what happened. We don't need to figure out if someone touched the ball or not. Picks up dribble. Throws it off backboard. Catches ball. Legal. You're worrying about so much stuff that doesn't mean anything. If there's one, and only one, thing you should be worried about it's what is 'equipment'.

Why wouldn't this be an illegal dribble?Cause case play?

Could it be that some interpret a ball thrown at the player's own backboard as always, automatically, being a shot? Where's the rule interpretation for that (NFHS)?It doesn't say this anywhere. It does, however, a team's own backboard is their equipment.

The case says why. Your own backboard is a part of your equipment. As I said before, treat it like a 6th man and it'll all make perfect sense -- at least to me it does.

My replies are in bold.

Adam Wed Feb 03, 2016 12:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by griblets (Post 978798)
The instant he started a dribble after lifting his pivot foot is when the travel occurs. It has nothing to do with him being first to touch it.

There's an ongoing discussion/argument on this. If he touches it first, it's a dribble. If someone else touches it first, it's a pass.

Some advocate waiting to make the call until he touches it based on that.

Dad Wed Feb 03, 2016 12:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 979146)
All it takes is one good citation to change my mind. That's all, one good citation.

Maybe my post was a bit confusing.

1) Player picks up dribble.

2) Players throws ball off backboard. Is this considered a dribble? No? Why? Oh, why you ask. I got this.

Dribble: 4-15-1: It is not a part of a dribble when the ball touches a player's own backboard.

So the only question you can really ask here is can they dribble again after throwing it off the backboard. Well, what does a teams equipment mean? Find that out and you probably have all your answers.

BillyMac Wed Feb 03, 2016 04:31pm

Illegal Dribble ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Dad (Post 979277)
1) Player picks up dribble.

2) Players throws ball off backboard. Is this considered a dribble? No?
Dribble: 4-15-1: It is not a part of a dribble when the ball touches a player's own backboard..

Agree 100% with #2 above. Always have (by rule and caseplay).

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dad (Post 979277)
So the only question you can really ask here is can they dribble again after throwing it off the backboard.

Absolutely not:

9-5: A player shall not dribble a second time after his/her first dribble has ended, unless it is after he/she has lost control because of:
ART. 1 A try for field goal.
ART. 2 A touch by an opponent.
ART. 3 A pass or fumble which has then touched, or been touched by,
another player.

deecee Wed Feb 03, 2016 04:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dad (Post 979277)
Maybe my post was a bit confusing.

1) Player picks up dribble.

2) Players throws ball off backboard. Is this considered a dribble? No? Why? Oh, why you ask. I got this.

Dribble: 4-15-1: It is not a part of a dribble when the ball touches a player's own backboard.

So the only question you can really ask here is can they dribble again after throwing it off the backboard. Well, what does a teams equipment mean? Find that out and you probably have all your answers.


He's not going to get it not matter how hard you try. Unless the exact thing he is looking for is spelled out in the rule/case book you will only go in circles. It's best to let this go.

BillyMac Wed Feb 03, 2016 04:52pm

How Do You Spell Relief ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 979345)
Unless the exact thing he is looking for is spelled out in the rule/case book you will only go in circles. It's best to let this go.

The exact thing is spelled out in the rulebook:

9-5: A player shall not dribble a second time after his/her first dribble has ended, unless it is after he/she has lost control because of:
ART. 1 A try for field goal.
ART. 2 A touch by an opponent.
ART. 3 A pass or fumble which has then touched, or been touched by,
another player.

Maybe a page was accidentally ripped from my rulebook? Is there a fourth article to this rule that I don't know about? An exception? A note?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:37pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1