The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2016, 03:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
For the third part 3-2-2a would disagree with your answer. The HC is allowed to change his designated starters due to a technical foul.
One of us is misreading the play / question / answers.

A sub (B6) can come in for any of the starters (B1-B5) to shoot the FT(s).

Whoever goes out must stay out through the completion of the ensuing throwin (let's not complicate this with a subsequent foul / violation, etc).

B6 could shoot the FTs and then be replaced by B7 -- B6 would then also have to remain out until the completion of the ensuing throwin
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2016, 03:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
3-2-2

After the 10 minute time limit specified in article 1, a team is charged with a maximum of one t foul regardless of how many infractions of the following are committed (see 10-1-2 penalty);
a. changing a designated starter, unless necessitates by illness, injury, illegal equipment or apparel, etc., or to attempt a technical foul free throw.

is there a reference to where this person must sit? because changing a designated starter would imply just that. A new set of 5 players are starting the game and anyone on the bench is allowed to be subbed in when the FT's are completed.

EDIT: I posted this before Nevada's citation. thank you.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2016, 03:34pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Had a game where one of the starters dunked in warm-ups. Coach (former official) was pissed and wanted to punish him by not letting him start. Told him he could sub him out after the free throws.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2016, 03:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
EDIT: I posted this before Nevada's citation. thank you.
You're welcome. Now say, "Always listen to Bob" ten times.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2016, 03:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
You're welcome. Now say, "Always listen to Bob" ten times.
I thought I got him. But the rule as written is a bit misleading as written.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2016, 03:46pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,564
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
I thought I got him. But the rule as written is a bit misleading as written.
I do not think it is misleading. You looked at this rule and stopped reading or researching. You are not changing a starter because you are allowing anyone properly to shoot a technical foul. You are applying the rule that allows anyone to shoot a technical foul.

Look at 8-3 that makes it clear anyone can shoot a free throw for a technical.

And this is also listed in 8.3 in the casebook, the exact example of this OP question.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2016, 03:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
I do not think it is misleading. You looked at this rule and stopped reading or researching. You are not changing a starter because you are allowing anyone properly to shoot a technical foul. You are applying the rule that allows anyone to shoot a technical foul.

Look at 8-3 that makes it clear anyone can shoot a free throw for a technical.

And this is also listed in 8.3 in the casebook, the exact example of this OP question.

Peace
The sentence "changing a designated starter" implies exactly what it does. I do not disagree that we are applying the rule that allows anyone to shoot a T. In this case the wording is very succinct in that we can change one of the starters. This would mean that the player sent in to shoot the T is now considered a starter.

I didn't think the wording was ambiguous or needed more research until Nevada brought up the case play because to me that sentence pretty much spells out what can be done.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2016, 04:07pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,564
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
The sentence "changing a designated starter" implies exactly what it does. I do not disagree that we are applying the rule that allows anyone to shoot a T. In this case the wording is very succinct in that we can change one of the starters. This would mean that the player sent in to shoot the T is now considered a starter.

I didn't think the wording was ambiguous or needed more research until Nevada brought up the case play because to me that sentence pretty much spells out what can be done.
You are not changing a starter. You are invoking a rule that allows you to use anyone to shoot the technical foul shots. There is no exception to that rule either, which would be needed if you are going to prevent them from using that player to shoot a FT.

My understanding is a designated starter is someone you list in the book. If you do not change the starter, what you are allowed to do does not apply. Just like if a player got injured or sick, I hope you are not preventing them to have a sub if that is clearly the case?

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2016, 09:54pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
The sentence "changing a designated starter" implies exactly what it does. I do not disagree that we are applying the rule that allows anyone to shoot a T. In this case the wording is very succinct in that we can change one of the starters. This would mean that the player sent in to shoot the T is now considered a starter.

I didn't think the wording was ambiguous or needed more research until Nevada brought up the case play because to me that sentence pretty much spells out what can be done.
Looking at 8-3 adds ambiguity, IMO. "eligible substitute or designated starter"

The case play clears it all up, though.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Technical and Shooting Foul bas2456 Basketball 4 Sat Jan 24, 2009 08:18pm
Shooting the Technical agr8zebra Basketball 10 Fri Dec 12, 2008 07:50pm
Double Technical after Shooting Foul scboa11 Basketball 2 Sat Feb 09, 2008 01:36pm
Shooting Foul & Technical - Free Throw Shooting? brightstripes54 Basketball 10 Tue Feb 15, 2005 12:56pm
Technical foul during free throw shooting bluehen Basketball 2 Wed Mar 22, 2000 11:02am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:24am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1