The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Illegal substitution? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/100744-illegal-substitution.html)

Nevadaref Sun Jan 24, 2016 08:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 977892)
If you post his deleted post again, you're getting suspended.

You are out of line, Rich. I can post a humorous diction correction anytime I wish.

BigCat Sun Jan 24, 2016 08:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnsonboys03 (Post 977885)
"When he/she legally enters the court". Would being beckoned on the floor not make her legally on the floor?

3-3-2. Sub shall remain outside the boundary until being beckoned, whereupon he shall ENTER...

Beckoning is one thing. Entering is another. It is stepping inbounds.

johnsonboys03 Sun Jan 24, 2016 08:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 977889)
Your initial post doesn't indicate that you or your association did any rules-based work. Why didn't you post a rule citation or two when you asked your question?

Since you're granting a timeout, there's no sub in the game. Since the player reported before the first warning horn, s/he can come in...or not...for any of the 5 players already on the floor.

EVEN IF the official beckoned in the sub after granting the timeout, I'd argue that the sub really isn't "in the game" and the official shouldn't be doing that.

Ok I agree with you. I'm just looking for a rule that clarifies when a player becomes legal. Some could argue the contrary that If the player is beckoned on the floor that she is a legal player which would make the other player bench personal and would have to sit a tick. I just want to provide my chapter with proof of the rule. I apologize for my earlier comment. I should not have done that.

Rich Sun Jan 24, 2016 08:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 977893)
You are out of line, Rich. I can post a humorous diction correction anytime I wish.

His post was deleted for being against the rules here.

I wouldn't let him call you a name, either. I'm certainly not going to let him call *me* a name.

Quoting that deleted post just isn't going to happen.

Rich Sun Jan 24, 2016 08:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnsonboys03 (Post 977895)
Ok I agree with you. I'm just looking for a rule that clarifies when a player becomes legal. Some could argue the contrary that If the player is beckoned on the floor that she is a legal player which would make the other player bench personal and would have to sit a tick. I just want to provide my chapter with proof of the rule. I apologize for my earlier comment. I should not have done that.

You've granted a timeout. What are the rules on substituting during a timeout? They apply as soon as the timeout is granted.

(I'll let you find those. )

johnsonboys03 Sun Jan 24, 2016 08:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 977896)
His post was deleted for being against the rules here.

I wouldn't let him call you a name, either. I'm certainly not going to let him call *me* a name.

Quoting that deleted post just isn't going to happen.

I've apologized for my comment sir. I apologize to all that read it. It was wrong of me.

Adam Sun Jan 24, 2016 08:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnsonboys03 (Post 977884)
I don't normally talk that way but you struck a nerve. For you to talk to people as if there inferior does not make a productive forum. I would think we would all want a rules based open discussion. But that's just me.

I don't see anything that he said that should have struck a nerve. It was a bit curt, but if that hit a nerve, your nerves are a bit too close to the surface.

I was also surprised an entire association would miss this in a discussion. The rule is right there and pretty clear. No, "enters the court" doesn't happen during a timeout, no one is on the court at that point until the timeout is over.

Nevadaref Sun Jan 24, 2016 08:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 977899)
No, "enters the court" doesn't happen during a timeout, no one is on the court at that point until the timeout is over.

Not true. Players remain players during time-outs. If a substitute reports during a time-out and then subsequently enters the inbounds area, he has met the rule requirements to become a player and replace one of the five players.

BigCat Sun Jan 24, 2016 08:49pm

If you beckon him and he steps inbounds he becomes a player. At that moment another player becomes bench personnel and cannot reenter before clock runs. If you grant a timeout before he enters he hasn't become a player yet.

johnsonboys03 Sun Jan 24, 2016 08:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 977897)
You've granted a timeout. What are the rules on substituting during a timeout? They apply as soon as the timeout is granted.

(I'll let you find those. )

I will look that up now. Thank you for directing me in a direction. I will get back to you with an answer.

Raymond Sun Jan 24, 2016 08:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnsonboys03 (Post 977884)
I don't normally talk that way but you struck a nerve. For you to talk to people as if there inferior does not make a productive forum. I would think we would all want a rules based open discussion. But that's just me.

Someone had already posted the rule with specific wording that tells you exactly when A6 becomes a player.

Sent from my SPH-L900 using Tapatalk

Nevadaref Sun Jan 24, 2016 08:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 977896)
His post was deleted for being against the rules here.

I wouldn't let him call you a name, either. I'm certainly not going to let him call *me* a name.

Quoting that deleted post just isn't going to happen.

I'm not concerned with the name-calling. I'm bothered that you deleted my post and the quoted point of it. It was something that he could have learned from. You could have simply blocked out the name that he called you without nixing the rest of my post. Instead you were lazy and opted to delete the whole thing. His post was right about one thing--this isn't Rich.com.

johnsonboys03 Sun Jan 24, 2016 08:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 977903)
Someone had already posted the rule with specific wording that tells you exactly when A6 becomes a player.

Sent from my SPH-L900 using Tapatalk

What were the specific words? That is what I'm looking for. Of it was ignored it was not with intent.

BigCat Sun Jan 24, 2016 09:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 977900)
Not true. Players remain players during time-outs. If a substitute reports during a time-out and then subsequently enters the inbounds area, he has met the rule requirements to become a player and replace one of the five players.

I agree players remain players during timeouts. However, I do not agree that bench personnel can become players during the timeout. When the timeout is over and they enter the court I believe they become a player. Part of the Court during timeouts is called the timeout area. I also believe the player who reports during the timeout, runs back to huddle on floor can be withdrawn and player he was going to replace can stay in.

johnsonboys03 Sun Jan 24, 2016 09:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 977903)
Someone had already posted the rule with specific wording that tells you exactly when A6 becomes a player.

Sent from my SPH-L900 using Tapatalk

Rule3-3-4
A player who has been replaced, or directed to leave the game shall not re-enter before the next opportunity to substitute after the clock has been started properly following his/her replacement.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:42pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1