The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 23, 2016, 01:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 529
Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanV21 View Post
A team is in control of the ball:
a. when a player of the team is in control
b. while a live ball is being passed among teammates
c. during an interrupted dribble
d. when a player of the team has disposal of the ball for a throw-in

Part "d" makes me think that there is no team control when a player of a team has disposal of the ball for a free throw, because if that's the case then why did the NFHS say that in "d" without saying something similar for a free-thrower?
Because it's covered in Part A. The free thrower is holding a live ball. That's the definition of being in control.

For a throw-in, disposal doesn't necessarily mean "holding" the ball. It just means "you have a reasonable opportunity to be holding the ball, but are opting not to." Disposal for a FT means you already have the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 24, 2016, 02:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 848
Quote:
Originally Posted by ODog View Post
Because it's covered in Part A. The free thrower is holding a live ball. That's the definition of being in control.

For a throw-in, disposal doesn't necessarily mean "holding" the ball. It just means "you have a reasonable opportunity to be holding the ball, but are opting not to." Disposal for a FT means you already have the ball.
As long as you have started the 10 second count, the ball is at the disposal. What if the free throwing team stays in the huddle of a TO? The official will perform a 'resumption of play' procedure and place the ball on the free throw line.
I'm just saying......
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 24, 2016, 02:22pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoochy View Post
As long as you have started the 10 second count, the ball is at the disposal. What if the free throwing team stays in the huddle of a TO? The official will perform a 'resumption of play' procedure and place the ball on the free throw line.
I'm just saying......
And in the context of the OP, there would be no PC or TC in that case.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 24, 2016, 02:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,218
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
And in the context of the OP, there would be no PC or TC in that case.
Interesting (?) that "disposal" creates TC during a throw-in, but not during a FT.

Oversight or intentional?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 24, 2016, 03:59pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Interesting (?) that "disposal" creates TC during a throw-in, but not during a FT.

Oversight or intentional?
Possibly because "disposal" on a FT is going to lead to either a timeout or a violation?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2016, 03:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: PG County, MD
Posts: 412
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Interesting (?) that "disposal" creates TC during a throw-in, but not during a FT.

Oversight or intentional?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
Possibly because "disposal" on a FT is going to lead to either a timeout or a violation?
Hmmm ... interesting scenario. If there is no player/team control when the ball is at the disposal of the free-thrower when using the ROP procedure, wouldn't that mean that a timeout could not be granted? Only outcome ... violation.
__________________
You learn something new everyday ...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2016, 03:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,016
Quote:
Originally Posted by PG_Ref View Post
Hmmm ... interesting scenario. If there is no player/team control when the ball is at the disposal of the free-thrower when using the ROP procedure, wouldn't that mean that a timeout could not be granted? Only outcome ... violation.
No, the rule states that a team may be granted a time-out request made when the ball is at its disposal.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Embarrassing Moment grunewar Baseball 22 Sun Sep 19, 2010 09:48pm
Most embarrassing Moment tibear Baseball 24 Sat Nov 25, 2006 10:02am
Most Embarrassing Moment mikesears Football 22 Sun Jul 03, 2005 09:59pm
Incredibly Bad Night Mark Dexter Basketball 30 Fri Jan 17, 2003 04:46am
Incredibly Stupid Coach rainmaker Basketball 10 Sun May 20, 2001 01:06am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:00pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1