The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Incredibly Embarrassing Moment (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/100735-incredibly-embarrassing-moment.html)

j51969 Mon Jan 25, 2016 04:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 978031)
I've seldom called it, but I warn them to prevent a violation if I think it's going to be a problem. I don't know why it's a gender issue, but girls always want to lift the heel of their shoe over the mark on the lane line. It's never boys. It must have something to do with having two X chromosomes.

+1

Also the ladies seem to do the box out after a three point attempt and stick thier Butt into the shooter.

Adam Mon Jan 25, 2016 05:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 977944)
I recall the NFHS including something about contact between opponents in marked lane spaces being illegal in a recent POE. I and several others disagreed that any contact at all was illegal, but that is what the POE said. I thought that there was some equating of this "foul" to a violation too by the NFHS. Now I'll have to check and see what I can unearth.

I appreciate it. I assumed you weren't just pulling that out of thin air.

jeremy341a Tue Jan 26, 2016 03:48pm

Would the team control foul cause the ball to become dead immediately similar to a field goal attempt?

Adam Tue Jan 26, 2016 03:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jeremy341a (Post 978225)
Would the team control foul cause the ball to become dead immediately similar to a field goal attempt?

Yes.

jeremy341a Wed Jan 27, 2016 10:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 978228)
Yes.

So then the free throw should have never happened and it should have been B ball at the spot nearest the foul?

TimTaylor Wed Jan 27, 2016 11:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jeremy341a (Post 978323)
So then the free throw should have never happened and it should have been B ball at the spot nearest the foul?

No - think it through.....this was the first of two merited free throws...

Refhoop Wed Jan 27, 2016 11:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jeremy341a (Post 978323)
So then the free throw should have never happened and it should have been B ball at the spot nearest the foul?

Are you saying/asking that we take the ball from Team A's free thrower (the TCF nullifies the pending FT) and give it to Team B for a spot throw-in?

Adam Wed Jan 27, 2016 11:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jeremy341a (Post 978323)
So then the free throw should have never happened and it should have been B ball at the spot nearest the foul?

What rule are you using to take away A's free throws?

PG_Ref Wed Jan 27, 2016 03:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 977838)
Interesting (?) that "disposal" creates TC during a throw-in, but not during a FT.

Oversight or intentional?

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 977845)
Possibly because "disposal" on a FT is going to lead to either a timeout or a violation?

Hmmm ... interesting scenario. If there is no player/team control when the ball is at the disposal of the free-thrower when using the ROP procedure, wouldn't that mean that a timeout could not be granted? Only outcome ... violation.

Nevadaref Wed Jan 27, 2016 03:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by PG_Ref (Post 978368)
Hmmm ... interesting scenario. If there is no player/team control when the ball is at the disposal of the free-thrower when using the ROP procedure, wouldn't that mean that a timeout could not be granted? Only outcome ... violation.

No, the rule states that a team may be granted a time-out request made when the ball is at its disposal.

jeremy341a Wed Jan 27, 2016 03:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by TimTaylor (Post 978329)
No - think it through.....this was the first of two merited free throws...

Has been a while since I read op. Didn't realize it was first of two.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Refhoop (Post 978330)
Are you saying/asking that we take the ball from Team A's free thrower (the TCF nullifies the pending FT) and give it to Team B for a spot throw-in?

Yes I was asking that. I forgot the original scenario and didn't realize it was the first of two.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 978331)
What rule are you using to take away A's free throws?

I was thinking that a team control foul causes the ball to become dead. How can the free throw take place if the ball is dead?



Can the free throw still be scored if a team control foul has already happened?

Mark Padgett Wed Jan 27, 2016 03:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 978031)
It must have something to do with having two X chromosomes.

Really athletic girls have three of them.

http://static01.nyt.com/images/2007/...gi.xlarge1.jpg

PG_Ref Wed Jan 27, 2016 03:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 978381)
No, the rule states that a team may be granted a time-out request made when the ball is at its disposal.

I would agree with you, but as Bob and Adam point out, the way the rule is written, it doesn't say that the ball is at the disposal of the player on a free-throw.

4-12
ART. 2

A team is in control of the ball:

d. When a player of the team has disposal of the ball for a throw-in.

And if that's the case, there's no team control either. If that premise is correct, how can a time-out be granted when using the ROP procedure for a free-throw? Good discussion for a different thread though, since that's a different topic.

Adam Wed Jan 27, 2016 04:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by PG_Ref (Post 978395)
I would agree with you, but as Bob and Adam point out, the way the rule is written, it doesn't say that the ball is at the disposal of the player on a free-throw.

4-12
ART. 2

A team is in control of the ball:

d. When a player of the team has disposal of the ball for a throw-in.

And if that's the case, there's no team control either. If that premise is correct, how can a time-out be granted when using the ROP procedure for a free-throw? Good discussion for a different thread though, since that's a different topic.

TC isn't an issue for granting a time-out.
It is never sufficient nor required (other than as a consequence of having met other requirements).

5-8-3
a. the ball is at the disposal or in control of a player or his/her team.
b. the ball is dead, unless replacement of a disqualified....

Requirement A does not require TC to be in place. In fact, the lone exception here seems to be the case where the ball is at the disposal of a FT shooter.

bob jenkins Wed Jan 27, 2016 04:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by PG_Ref (Post 978395)
I would agree with you, but as Bob and Adam point out, the way the rule is written, it doesn't say that the ball is at the disposal of the player on a free-throw.

No. It says that disposal does not create TC (on a FT). There is still disposal.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:12pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1