![]() |
Kickball Arrow Question
Team A and Team B get a jumpball called. It's Team A's arrow. Team A throws the ball in Team B kicks the ball. Kickball violation called. Team A then throws the ball in again. Do they lose the arrow? Can't find it fella's.
|
The throw in never ended, since a defensive violation occurred during the throw in.
|
Questioning official would like to known: Even after the next throw in that the arrow still stays with Team A. His belief is that Tea A still gets their throw in so it should switch. *I post questions from some buddies of mine as well as questions from me if we cannot find it*
|
Quote:
It's similar to the following scenario, even though in your case the throw in had not even begun: Held ball called, A's ball with the arrow, then just before the throw in is administered B's coach earns himself a technical foul. A gets the shots and the ball, and the arrow does not change. |
Think of it this way...
Team A is entitled to a throw in because of...a held ball and the arrow pointing their direction. Team B violates during the throw in, meaning the throw in never ends (true whether it's an AP throw in or not) so the arrow can't switch. Team A now has a throw in because of the violation, not because of the arrow. The arrow still points toward A because the AP throw in never ended. I hope I explained that well enough. That line of thinking is what helps me. |
This bring me to this question... Say Team A is throwing AP throw in. Team B goes to intercept but bobbles it and Team A player plows him over in a common foul way. Does Team A keep the arrow? I'm assuming so since no possession was established.
|
Quote:
|
Devils' Advocate.
PLAY: Held ball. Team A has the AP Arrow. A1 releases the ball on the throw-in such that it crosses the boundary line and the first contact is a kicking violation by A2.
RULING: Team B is awarded a throw-in because of A2 kicking violation. The questions of the day is: Is the AP Arrow reversed? And why? MTD, Sr. |
From the NFHS Case Book:
4.42.5 SITUATION: Team A is awarded an alternating-possession throw-in. A1's throw-in pass is illegally kicked by B2. RULING: As a result of B2's kicking violation, Team A is awarded a new throw-in at the designated spot nearest to where the kicking violation (illegal touching) occurred. Since the alternating-possession throw-in had not been contacted legally, the throw-in has not ended and therefore, the arrow remains with Team A for the next alternating-possession throw-in. COMMENT: The kicking violation ends the alternating-possession throw-in and as a result, a non-alternating-possession throw-in is administered. When the ball is legally touched on the subsequent throw-in following the kicking violation, the arrow shall not be changed and shall remain with Team A. (6-4-5) |
In MTD's scenario, the AP arrow does change because there was a violation by the team throwing the ball in. A violation by the throw in team is the only way they can lose the arrow. A violation by the defense, or a foul on either team does not cause the arrow to change. Violations by the throw in team can include a kicked ball, taking longer than 5 seconds to release the ball, stepping over the line, moving along the end line when it is a designated spot throw in, and probably others that I can't think of.
Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Those are some more which I can think of at the moment. |
Quote:
|
DrPete Is Our Winner!
DrPete is our winner and if I had a box of fine Cuban cigars I would award it to him!
MTD, Sr. P.S. Thank you to all of those that provided explanations as to why his answer was correct. Have a great evening of games everybody. |
Quote:
The throw-in ends when: The throw-in team commits a throw-in violation Also, the violation list doesn't say legally touched, it says touched. The ball shall be passed by the thrower directly into the court from out-of-bounds so it touches or is touched by another player on the court before going out of bounds untouched So we have the rule, then the violation. How exactly is this simple to say a kick ball by the throw-in team reverses the arrow? |
Would be a lot simpler my way.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:38am. |