The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Kickball Arrow Question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/100726-kickball-arrow-question.html)

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Fri Jan 22, 2016 10:18am

DrPete Is Our Winner!
 
DrPete is our winner and if I had a box of fine Cuban cigars I would award it to him!

MTD, Sr.


P.S. Thank you to all of those that provided explanations as to why his answer was correct. Have a great evening of games everybody.

Dad Fri Jan 22, 2016 11:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 977512)
Because any violation by the throwing team during a throw-in ends the throw-in and causes the team to lose the arrow if it was an AP throw-in. Simple rule.

I asked to make DrP think a bit more about it. It's by no means a difficult rule, but I wouldn't call it a simple rule. I've seen several officials get tripped up by:

The throw-in ends when: The throw-in team commits a throw-in violation

Also, the violation list doesn't say legally touched, it says touched.

The ball shall be passed by the thrower directly into the court from out-of-bounds so it touches or is touched by another player on the court before going out of bounds untouched

So we have the rule, then the violation. How exactly is this simple to say a kick ball by the throw-in team reverses the arrow?

Adam Fri Jan 22, 2016 12:22pm

Would be a lot simpler my way.

CountTheBasket Sun Jan 24, 2016 01:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Cole4088 (Post 977490)
This bring me to this question... Say Team A is throwing AP throw in. Team B goes to intercept but bobbles it and Team A player plows him over in a common foul way. Does Team A keep the arrow? I'm assuming so since no possession was established.

Legal touch ends a throw in- not posession.

Raymond Sun Jan 24, 2016 01:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Cole4088 (Post 977490)
This bring me to this question... Say Team A is throwing AP throw in. Team B goes to intercept but bobbles it and Team A player plows him over in a common foul way. Does Team A keep the arrow? I'm assuming so since no possession was established.

A lot easier to understand if you study the throw-in rules in regards to when a throw-in ends.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:23am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1