The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   2 or 3 points (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/100690-2-3-points.html)

BigCat Fri Jan 15, 2016 01:06pm

2 or 3 points
 
A1 is on the wing behind the 3 point line. Attempts cross court pass to A2 who is on the other wing. B1, at FT line, flings hand up and knocks ball backward into A's basket. 2 or 3 points?

I'm aware of two case plays. Not sure if there are any other interpretations.

Matt Fri Jan 15, 2016 01:08pm

Two. It is a ball going through the basket on something other than a try.

WhistlesAndStripes Fri Jan 15, 2016 01:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Matt (Post 976733)
Two. It is a ball going through the basket on something other than a try.

What he said.

UNIgiantslayers Fri Jan 15, 2016 01:22pm

Man, you guys are good. There are so many on here that I'd like to just shadow for a season.

JRutledge Fri Jan 15, 2016 01:23pm

Why are we treating this any different than a blocked shot and count this a three?

Peace

Freddy Fri Jan 15, 2016 01:28pm

Ummmmm
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 976738)
Why are we treating this any different than a blocked shot and count this a three?

Peace

Does this have impact on the correct answer to the OP?

5.2.1C(b): A1 throws the ball from behind the three-point line. The ball is legally touched by . . . B1 who is in the two-point area. RULING: ...three points are scored since the legal touching was by the defense and the ball was thrown from behind the three-point line.

Because this is a "successful try, tap, or thrown ball from the field by a player who is located behind the team's own 19' 9" arc..." (5-2-1), might it count as three points?

(Might want to shadow Rut on this one) :)

frezer11 Fri Jan 15, 2016 01:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 976732)
A1 is on the wing behind the 3 point line. Attempts cross court pass to A2 who is on the other wing. B1, at FT line, flings hand up and knocks ball backward into A's basket. 2 or 3 points?

I'm aware of two case plays. Not sure if there are any other interpretations.

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 976738)
Why are we treating this any different than a blocked shot and count this a three?

Peace

It was not a shot attempt, it was a pass. If the official cannot determine if it was a pass or not, I would score the 3, but in the OP score 2.


EDIT: Upon further review, I stand corrected. Good catch Rut, I would've kicked this one.

BigCat Fri Jan 15, 2016 01:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy (Post 976740)
Does this have impact on the correct answer to the OP?

5.2.1C(b): A1 throws the ball from behind the three-point line. The ball is legally touched by . . . B1 who is in the two-point area. RULING: ...three points are scored since the legal touching was by the defense and the ball was thrown from behind the three-point line.

Because this is a "successful try, tap, or thrown ball from the field by a player who is located behind the team's own 19' 9" arc..." (5-2-1), might it count as three points?

(Might want to shadow Rut on this one) :)

This is one of the two plays I mentioned. There's another at end of rule 4. A1 shoots ball from beyond 3 line. it falls below rim level and hits B1 on the shoulder. Bounces up in basket. Ruling: 2 points. 4.41.4b

Dad Fri Jan 15, 2016 01:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 976738)
Why are we treating this any different than a blocked shot and count this a three?

Peace

Because a three-point try ends when it's obviously short. If it were a pass cross court it's obviously short and going the wrong way.

Raymond Fri Jan 15, 2016 01:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy (Post 976740)
Does this have impact on the correct answer to the OP?

5.2.1C(b): A1 throws the ball from behind the three-point line. The ball is legally touched by . . . B1 who is in the two-point area. RULING: ...three points are scored since the legal touching was by the defense and the ball was thrown from behind the three-point line.

Because this is a "successful try, tap, or thrown ball from the field by a player who is located behind the team's own 19' 9" arc..." (5-2-1), might it count as three points?

(Might want to shadow Rut on this one) :)

But if it hits the rim and does not go in the basket the shot clock would not be reset if one were being used.

Dad Fri Jan 15, 2016 02:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Matt (Post 976733)
Two. It is a ball going through the basket on something other than a try.

Misleading. A1 is behind half-court and throws a long pass to A2. A2 goes for the pass but missed. Ball goes into the basket.

This is 3 points. If the ball is behind the 3-point arc on a teams own basket it doesn't matter if it was a try for goal or not.

Edit: I should make something clear. If A2 DOES touch the ball in an attempt to catch the ball behind the three point arc, but it goes through his hands and somehow into the basket it's three points.

BigCat Fri Jan 15, 2016 02:34pm

So we have two case plays. 4.41.4B(b) the try falls below rim level, hits B on the shoulder and goes in. 2 points because the try ended when it fell below rim level. This player was trying to score 3. It was a try. But since it ended they say only 2 points.


5.2.1C--that Freddy put up. Thrown ball from behind the three-point line, touched by defender in the 2 point area, counts 3. In my example, the player on the wing wasn't trying to score, the ball wasnt even headed towards the basket. and lets add that it was not above rim level until hit by defender at free throw line. Never had a chance to go in without the contact from B.

A try is a thrown ball and a pass is a thrown ball. the ball hits the defense inside the arc on both. Why is one a two and the other a 3? sure the try fell below rim level but the pass never got to rim level without the contact.

How do we square both plays? Is there an interpretation that might say the pass had to have some chance of going in without the contact from B before it counts 3?

bob jenkins Fri Jan 15, 2016 02:37pm

If the ball is thrown toward (general direction and height) the basket, treat it as a try for the purpose of this rule / these cases.

If the ball is thrown otherwise, threat it as a throw for the purpose of this rule / these cases.

Dad Fri Jan 15, 2016 02:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 976754)
So we have two case plays. 4.41.4B(b) the try falls below rim level, hits B on the shoulder and goes in. 2 points because the try ended when it fell below rim level. This player was trying to score 3. It was a try. But since it ended they say only 2 points.


5.2.1C--that Freddy put up. Thrown ball from behind the three-point line, touched by defender in the 2 point area, counts 3. In my example, the player on the wing wasn't trying to score, the ball wasnt even headed towards the basket. and lets add that it was not above rim level until hit by defender at free throw line. Never had a chance to go in without the contact from B.

A try is a thrown ball and a pass is a thrown ball. the ball hits the defense inside the arc on both. Why is one a two and the other a 3? sure the try fell below rim level but the pass never got to rim level without the contact.

How do we square both plays? Is there an interpretation that might say the pass had to have some chance of going in without the contact from B before it counts 3?

The first one was never going in and fell below the rim. The ball was obviously short AND below the rim. Shot ended and was knocked back up within the 3-point arc.

A touch within the 3-point arc doesn't automatically stop a throw from being three points unless it's done by the offense. In one the shot/throw is over and in the other it is not.

johnny d Fri Jan 15, 2016 02:42pm

This play is very simple to adjudicate. It is only worth 2 points at any level. If you need proof, keep reading.


A.R. 103. A ball passed from behind the three-point line: 1� Enters the basket from above and passes through; 2� Is deflected and enters the basket from above and passes through; or 3� Strikes the side of the ring or the flange� RULING 1: A three-point goal shall be counted. 2: When there is no possibility of the ball entering the basket from above and the deflection causes the goal to be successful, it shall be a two-point goal. However, when a ball is passed in the direction of the basket with the possibility of entering the basket from above and the deflection does not influence its success, a three-point goal shall be counted. 3: The ball shall remain live. In each case, when a passed ball hits the ring and does not enter the basket, there is no reset of the shot clock. (Rule 5-1.1, 5-1.2.a, 5-1.3 and .4, 4-24 and 2-11.6.d)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:29am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1