The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   2 or 3 points (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/100690-2-3-points.html)

BigCat Fri Jan 15, 2016 01:06pm

2 or 3 points
 
A1 is on the wing behind the 3 point line. Attempts cross court pass to A2 who is on the other wing. B1, at FT line, flings hand up and knocks ball backward into A's basket. 2 or 3 points?

I'm aware of two case plays. Not sure if there are any other interpretations.

Matt Fri Jan 15, 2016 01:08pm

Two. It is a ball going through the basket on something other than a try.

WhistlesAndStripes Fri Jan 15, 2016 01:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Matt (Post 976733)
Two. It is a ball going through the basket on something other than a try.

What he said.

UNIgiantslayers Fri Jan 15, 2016 01:22pm

Man, you guys are good. There are so many on here that I'd like to just shadow for a season.

JRutledge Fri Jan 15, 2016 01:23pm

Why are we treating this any different than a blocked shot and count this a three?

Peace

Freddy Fri Jan 15, 2016 01:28pm

Ummmmm
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 976738)
Why are we treating this any different than a blocked shot and count this a three?

Peace

Does this have impact on the correct answer to the OP?

5.2.1C(b): A1 throws the ball from behind the three-point line. The ball is legally touched by . . . B1 who is in the two-point area. RULING: ...three points are scored since the legal touching was by the defense and the ball was thrown from behind the three-point line.

Because this is a "successful try, tap, or thrown ball from the field by a player who is located behind the team's own 19' 9" arc..." (5-2-1), might it count as three points?

(Might want to shadow Rut on this one) :)

frezer11 Fri Jan 15, 2016 01:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 976732)
A1 is on the wing behind the 3 point line. Attempts cross court pass to A2 who is on the other wing. B1, at FT line, flings hand up and knocks ball backward into A's basket. 2 or 3 points?

I'm aware of two case plays. Not sure if there are any other interpretations.

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 976738)
Why are we treating this any different than a blocked shot and count this a three?

Peace

It was not a shot attempt, it was a pass. If the official cannot determine if it was a pass or not, I would score the 3, but in the OP score 2.


EDIT: Upon further review, I stand corrected. Good catch Rut, I would've kicked this one.

BigCat Fri Jan 15, 2016 01:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy (Post 976740)
Does this have impact on the correct answer to the OP?

5.2.1C(b): A1 throws the ball from behind the three-point line. The ball is legally touched by . . . B1 who is in the two-point area. RULING: ...three points are scored since the legal touching was by the defense and the ball was thrown from behind the three-point line.

Because this is a "successful try, tap, or thrown ball from the field by a player who is located behind the team's own 19' 9" arc..." (5-2-1), might it count as three points?

(Might want to shadow Rut on this one) :)

This is one of the two plays I mentioned. There's another at end of rule 4. A1 shoots ball from beyond 3 line. it falls below rim level and hits B1 on the shoulder. Bounces up in basket. Ruling: 2 points. 4.41.4b

Dad Fri Jan 15, 2016 01:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 976738)
Why are we treating this any different than a blocked shot and count this a three?

Peace

Because a three-point try ends when it's obviously short. If it were a pass cross court it's obviously short and going the wrong way.

Raymond Fri Jan 15, 2016 01:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy (Post 976740)
Does this have impact on the correct answer to the OP?

5.2.1C(b): A1 throws the ball from behind the three-point line. The ball is legally touched by . . . B1 who is in the two-point area. RULING: ...three points are scored since the legal touching was by the defense and the ball was thrown from behind the three-point line.

Because this is a "successful try, tap, or thrown ball from the field by a player who is located behind the team's own 19' 9" arc..." (5-2-1), might it count as three points?

(Might want to shadow Rut on this one) :)

But if it hits the rim and does not go in the basket the shot clock would not be reset if one were being used.

Dad Fri Jan 15, 2016 02:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Matt (Post 976733)
Two. It is a ball going through the basket on something other than a try.

Misleading. A1 is behind half-court and throws a long pass to A2. A2 goes for the pass but missed. Ball goes into the basket.

This is 3 points. If the ball is behind the 3-point arc on a teams own basket it doesn't matter if it was a try for goal or not.

Edit: I should make something clear. If A2 DOES touch the ball in an attempt to catch the ball behind the three point arc, but it goes through his hands and somehow into the basket it's three points.

BigCat Fri Jan 15, 2016 02:34pm

So we have two case plays. 4.41.4B(b) the try falls below rim level, hits B on the shoulder and goes in. 2 points because the try ended when it fell below rim level. This player was trying to score 3. It was a try. But since it ended they say only 2 points.


5.2.1C--that Freddy put up. Thrown ball from behind the three-point line, touched by defender in the 2 point area, counts 3. In my example, the player on the wing wasn't trying to score, the ball wasnt even headed towards the basket. and lets add that it was not above rim level until hit by defender at free throw line. Never had a chance to go in without the contact from B.

A try is a thrown ball and a pass is a thrown ball. the ball hits the defense inside the arc on both. Why is one a two and the other a 3? sure the try fell below rim level but the pass never got to rim level without the contact.

How do we square both plays? Is there an interpretation that might say the pass had to have some chance of going in without the contact from B before it counts 3?

bob jenkins Fri Jan 15, 2016 02:37pm

If the ball is thrown toward (general direction and height) the basket, treat it as a try for the purpose of this rule / these cases.

If the ball is thrown otherwise, threat it as a throw for the purpose of this rule / these cases.

Dad Fri Jan 15, 2016 02:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 976754)
So we have two case plays. 4.41.4B(b) the try falls below rim level, hits B on the shoulder and goes in. 2 points because the try ended when it fell below rim level. This player was trying to score 3. It was a try. But since it ended they say only 2 points.


5.2.1C--that Freddy put up. Thrown ball from behind the three-point line, touched by defender in the 2 point area, counts 3. In my example, the player on the wing wasn't trying to score, the ball wasnt even headed towards the basket. and lets add that it was not above rim level until hit by defender at free throw line. Never had a chance to go in without the contact from B.

A try is a thrown ball and a pass is a thrown ball. the ball hits the defense inside the arc on both. Why is one a two and the other a 3? sure the try fell below rim level but the pass never got to rim level without the contact.

How do we square both plays? Is there an interpretation that might say the pass had to have some chance of going in without the contact from B before it counts 3?

The first one was never going in and fell below the rim. The ball was obviously short AND below the rim. Shot ended and was knocked back up within the 3-point arc.

A touch within the 3-point arc doesn't automatically stop a throw from being three points unless it's done by the offense. In one the shot/throw is over and in the other it is not.

johnny d Fri Jan 15, 2016 02:42pm

This play is very simple to adjudicate. It is only worth 2 points at any level. If you need proof, keep reading.


A.R. 103. A ball passed from behind the three-point line: 1� Enters the basket from above and passes through; 2� Is deflected and enters the basket from above and passes through; or 3� Strikes the side of the ring or the flange� RULING 1: A three-point goal shall be counted. 2: When there is no possibility of the ball entering the basket from above and the deflection causes the goal to be successful, it shall be a two-point goal. However, when a ball is passed in the direction of the basket with the possibility of entering the basket from above and the deflection does not influence its success, a three-point goal shall be counted. 3: The ball shall remain live. In each case, when a passed ball hits the ring and does not enter the basket, there is no reset of the shot clock. (Rule 5-1.1, 5-1.2.a, 5-1.3 and .4, 4-24 and 2-11.6.d)

BigCat Fri Jan 15, 2016 02:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnny d (Post 976757)
This play is very simple to adjudicate. It is only worth 2 points at any level. If you need proof, keep reading.


A.R. 103. A ball passed from behind the three-point line: 1� Enters the basket from above and passes through; 2� Is deflected and enters the basket from above and passes through; or 3� Strikes the side of the ring or the flange� RULING 1: A three-point goal shall be counted. 2: When there is no possibility of the ball entering the basket from above and the deflection causes the goal to be successful, it shall be a two-point goal. However, when a ball is passed in the direction of the basket with the possibility of entering the basket from above and the deflection does not influence its success, a three-point goal shall be counted. 3: The ball shall remain live. In each case, when a passed ball hits the ring and does not enter the basket, there is no reset of the shot clock. (Rule 5-1.1, 5-1.2.a, 5-1.3 and .4, 4-24 and 2-11.6.d)

I had this happen in a regional final a few years ago. I counted it as a 2 for these reasons. It would help if the nfhs play was written like ar 103.

Adam Fri Jan 15, 2016 03:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnny d (Post 976757)
This play is very simple to adjudicate. It is only worth 2 points at any level. If you need proof, keep reading.


A.R. 103. A ball passed from behind the three-point line: 1� Enters the basket from above and passes through; 2� Is deflected and enters the basket from above and passes through; or 3� Strikes the side of the ring or the flange� RULING 1: A three-point goal shall be counted. 2: When there is no possibility of the ball entering the basket from above and the deflection causes the goal to be successful, it shall be a two-point goal. However, when a ball is passed in the direction of the basket with the possibility of entering the basket from above and the deflection does not influence its success, a three-point goal shall be counted. 3: The ball shall remain live. In each case, when a passed ball hits the ring and does not enter the basket, there is no reset of the shot clock. (Rule 5-1.1, 5-1.2.a, 5-1.3 and .4, 4-24 and 2-11.6.d)

I agree with the conclusion (bob's guidelines are great), but I disagree that an NCAA A.R. constitutes proof of how it should be ruled at any level except NCAA.

johnny d Sat Jan 16, 2016 12:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 976764)
I agree with the conclusion (bob's guidelines are great), but I disagree that an NCAA A.R. constitutes proof of how it should be ruled at any level except NCAA.

All of the necessary definitions and rules are identical. No reason not to apply the NCAA A.R. to NFHS contests.

Nevadaref Sat Jan 16, 2016 09:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnny d (Post 976789)
All of the necessary definitions and rules are identical. No reason not to apply the NCAA A.R. to NFHS contests.

In this specific case the NCAA ruling matches that of the NFHS. However, your general claim that it is okay to apply rulings of one governing authority to games conducted under another is preposterous. That will only lead to problems.

JRutledge Sat Jan 16, 2016 11:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dad (Post 976747)
Because a three-point try ends when it's obviously short. If it were a pass cross court it's obviously short and going the wrong way.

I originally read this like it was an alley-opp type pass. If that is not what the OP meant, I agree it would only be a 2 point shot. And I do not have a good answer if it is not. I just know that they said that a shot/pass that was behind the 3 point line and goes in was to be treated like a shot and counts as a 3. They used to allow us to make a judgment either way.

Peace

johnny d Sun Jan 17, 2016 01:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 976817)
In this specific case the NCAA ruling matches that of the NFHS. However, your general claim that it is okay to apply rulings of one governing authority to games conducted under another is preposterous. That will only lead to problems.

Where exactly did I say that it is okay to apply all of the rulings of one governing authority to games conducted under another? Both of the posts I made in this thread were specific to the situation presented in the OP. Again, as I said previously, all of the relevant definitions and rules regarding the OP are identical in both NCAA-M and NFHS, therefore, there is no reason not to use the AR I posted to determine the correct adjudication of this play in either NCAA or NFHS games.

Dad Sun Jan 17, 2016 01:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 976819)
I originally read this like it was an alley-opp type pass. If that is not what the OP meant, I agree it would only be a 2 point shot. And I do not have a good answer if it is not. I just know that they said that a shot/pass that was behind the 3 point line and goes in was to be treated like a shot and counts as a 3. They used to allow us to make a judgment either way.

Peace

I'm trying to imagine an alley-oop that goes from wing to wing across the free-throw line. LOL

JRutledge Sun Jan 17, 2016 06:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dad (Post 976829)
I'm trying to imagine an alley-oop that goes from wing to wing across the free-throw line. LOL

You have never seen a corner to corner pass?

Peace

Dad Sun Jan 17, 2016 08:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 976838)
You have never seen a corner to corner pass?

Peace

I have, but that's not what happened in the OP as I understood it. In what you just said I could maybe see scoring 3 points.

BigCat Sun Jan 17, 2016 09:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dad (Post 976829)
I'm trying to imagine an alley-oop that goes from wing to wing across the free-throw line. LOL

I'm sure you can't even imagine it. Wing to wing with a defensive player hitting the ball at FT line was the play.

Dad Sun Jan 17, 2016 10:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 976843)
I'm sure you can't even imagine it. Wing to wing with a defensive player hitting the ball at FT line was the play.

This is what you said in the OP and it makes sense. Just a crazy basket.

Nevadaref Sun Jan 17, 2016 10:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnny d (Post 976827)
Where exactly did I say that it is okay to apply all of the rulings of one governing authority to games conducted under another? Both of the posts I made in this thread were specific to the situation presented in the OP. Again, as I said previously, all of the relevant definitions and rules regarding the OP are identical in both NCAA-M and NFHS, therefore, there is no reason not to use the AR I posted to determine the correct adjudication of this play in either NCAA or NFHS games.

A basketball official can't pick and choose either. A ruling issued by one authority doesn't have any merit in the realm of another.

What you want to do would be the same as a judge applying the law in Michigan to a case in Ohio. While the subject matter may be the same, it just doesn't pertain.

so cal lurker Sun Jan 17, 2016 05:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 976849)

What you want to do would be the same as a judge applying the law in Michigan to a case in Ohio. While the subject matter may be the same, it just doesn't pertain.

Actually, in the absence of controlling authority in a state, judges DO consider rulings from other states as "persuasive" authority. I think the same applies here: in the ensconce of NFHS authority a ref can CONSIDER the logic of NCAA rulings to help do his own analysis.

UNIgiantslayers Sun Jan 17, 2016 05:08pm

So consensus is that this should be scored as a 2 pt basket?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:34pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1