![]() |
|
|
|||
Clearly we have 3 tired referees and it takes a lot of endurance to referee to the end. That is the biggest lesson here.
Maybe this isnt smart yet this is what I do. If I see a kid coming close to that plane I tell him "hands" or "back" because no one likes the call of DG. If he interferes with the pass because he breaks the plane and I dont know for 100% that it will go to the right team I blow my whistle and call it. I would like to ask honestly if any college/HS officials here hate the call and let these plane violations go and the players get worse and then in 3 OT's they are so used to letting defenders get away with this behavior their brains dont call the obvious fouls and violations. And here it really did cost a team the game. Its a great lesson and I would love to see them double the staff at the college level. So that we do not have older vets do so many games and getting mentally and physically tired and affecting games. Just my opinion dont squish me... lol
__________________
BigT "The rookie" |
|
|||
Quote:
I have no issues giving a verbal warning, but if players don't want to listen then they can have a violation. Normally anything below varsity, I'll throw a line at the coach after reporting it so he also has a chance to tell his players to not get a T. I have seen case 9.2.10A ignored several times. This is about the only rule regarding boundary-plane infractions that bothers me and it's only because I've noticed quality officials not knowing about it. Or they just claim not to know it and don't want to correctly make a call on a defensive player getting an advantage they shouldn't. Last edited by Dad; Wed Jan 06, 2016 at 11:53am. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
If it interferes with the thrower's efforts to make a throw-in. I never said they ignored the specific play you stated.
|
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
A1 is out of bounds for a throw-in. B1 reaches through the boundary plane and knocks the ball out of A1's hands. Team B has not been warned previously for a throw-in plane infraction.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Ahh, sorry, my bad. I only remember the case for the comment and didn't recall the start of it. I was referring to the five seconds or less in the game while the clock is running. In which case you let a violation go unless it interferes with the thrower's efforts to make a throw-in. Then it's a T whether there was a previous violation or not.
|
|
|||
So when I saw this: Controversy brewing over final Oklahoma inbounds play - ESPN Video I came straight here to ask the rules gurus...
And before this thread goes off on another tangent, lets ignore the fact that Mason was probably breaking the throw-in plane. Not contesting that. Where in the rules book does it say that Mason has to give Hield three feet in that situation? And ignore my screen name. I'm a referee first and a fan second. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Oklahoma @ Oklahoma State Game | GoodwillRef | Basketball | 6 | Tue Jan 27, 2009 11:04am |
43 feet | bkbjones | Softball | 5 | Tue Nov 08, 2005 07:34am |
Look at the feet | tomegun | Basketball | 58 | Fri May 13, 2005 12:39pm |
"Move Your Feet!" | rainmaker | Basketball | 36 | Wed Jan 05, 2005 02:00pm |
Shoes for "fat feet" | SactoBlue | Softball | 7 | Wed Jul 28, 2004 08:16am |