![]() |
Ok, is there any other signal if this is ruled flagrant? I realize it is not a T bc of live ball but do you just give regular signal and report as flagrant?
I wish I had a cool signature |
Quote:
Pretty much. There is no special signal for flagrant in NFHS, nor is there one for FF2 in NCAA. It's probably better this way; we don't want to be having instant DQs on the floor in this situation. Not having a signal gives A) the crew a chance to discuss before reporting, and/or B) the calling official a chance to process and decide while he's moving to report. Of course you can always use the unofficial "'yer outa here!" ejection signal if the situation truly calls for it. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk |
At minimum intentional, but I have a flagrant. Should have had a whistle for violation first. Then any contact would have been a T, but if the contact was similar to what this video shows I still have a flagrant.
|
No one has really mentioned it, but typically when a rebounder is swinging like this it is because the other team has been coming in late trying to steal the ball, maybe if a couple of those plays had been called fouls earlier in the game you never even get to this point. In this particular play WHite 4 comes diving in on the rebounder could probably have been called for a foul right before she gets popped in the face.
|
Quote:
Good info in this reply, thanks! I wish I had a cool signature |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Why let her swing around and not get it right away with a clump of players involved? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
She's clearly swinging around wildly with her elbows. The official made a mistake letting it go, twice. I have a violation and I'm calling it when she violates the swinging elbows rule. I'm not sure why we're bringing assigners into this, but any decent assigner who also assigns me my 5a/collegiate is asking me why I'm letting a player at a low level swing around wildly and waiting for someone to get hurt to blow my whistle. |
Quote:
I agree with ballgame's hypothetical that IF there were similar "reaching in for rebounds" earlier in the game and IF those had been called fouls (assuming contact was made, etc.), then there is a LOWER (but not zero) likelihood of the play in the OP happening. |
Quote:
There is no jump ball. A violation should have been called. Any action after the violation would have been dead ball contact. However we have a swung, waist was the pivot point, elbow to the face. Flagrant. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
That travel/held ball concept is not anything I've ever heard of. |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:01am. |