The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Which Ref Is Correct? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/100558-ref-correct.html)

xyrph Thu Dec 24, 2015 08:24pm

Which Ref Is Correct?
 
Which referee is correct here, and by which rule? Thanks.

<iframe width="800" height="450" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/X8DNQpgyYug" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

OKREF Thu Dec 24, 2015 08:34pm

Looks like he got it right. Kudos to him for not changing his call. I have no idea what the lead is doing. BTW #4 earned her 6th foul as well.

JRutledge Thu Dec 24, 2015 08:55pm

Was an illegal screen called?

Peace

BigCat Thu Dec 24, 2015 09:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 974015)
Was an illegal screen called?

Peace

You would think so by what the trail is doing, walking back. The foul was on black 4 and her 5th. Lead was right to get involved because you couldn't tell what the trail called...he needed to give a strong push signal. Not good when you make a call and your the only guy in the gym who knows what it is....

xyrph Thu Dec 24, 2015 09:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 974015)
Was an illegal screen called?

Peace

Yes, the initial ref calls an illegal screen on White #11.

JRutledge Thu Dec 24, 2015 09:09pm

Looked like a good screen then. The player stood there and waited for the contact, at least from this angle.

Peace

BigCat Thu Dec 24, 2015 09:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by xyrph (Post 974017)
Yes, the initial ref calls an illegal screen on White #11.

Looking at it closer he has pointed at 4 black. He may have pointed the wrong way just as he called it. I think he had a push by 4 the entire time by looking at video. If you were there you have better info obviously.

OKREF Thu Dec 24, 2015 09:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by xyrph (Post 974017)
Yes, the initial ref calls an illegal screen on White #11.

It looks like he called it on 4. Her reaction seems to show that as well.

BigCat Thu Dec 24, 2015 09:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 974018)
Looked like a good screen then. The player stood there and waited for the contact, at least from this angle.

Peace

Agree. I think he called it on 4 and walked wrong way.

JRutledge Thu Dec 24, 2015 09:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 974020)
It looks like he called it on 4. Her reaction seems to show that as well.

That is a better call, but he certainly did not do a good job telling everyone.

Peace

OKREF Thu Dec 24, 2015 09:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 974022)
That is a better call, but he certainly did not do a good job telling everyone.

Peace

Agreed. Back to my original post. Anybody consider a technical for 4?

bob jenkins Thu Dec 24, 2015 09:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 974024)
Agreed. Back to my original post. Anybody consider a technical for 4?

Unless there's some verbal (I watched it without sound), then there's nothing even close to a T as far as I can tell.

To the OP -- are you one of the officials on this game? This is three or four posts of video from what seems to be the same game.

xyrph Thu Dec 24, 2015 09:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 974025)
Unless there's some verbal (I watched it without sound), then there's nothing even close to a T as far as I can tell.

To the OP -- are you one of the officials on this game? This is three or four posts of video from what seems to be the same game.


No. Just trying to learn and absorb as much as possible from you guys.

crosscountry55 Thu Dec 24, 2015 09:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 974024)
Agreed. Back to my original post. Anybody consider a technical for 4?

Nope. She had a 2-second meltdown because she knew it was her fifth. Didn't seemed to be directed at anyone but herself. I'll give a little leeway for personal frustration. If she had persisted and/or directed her attention to an official....or said a magic word....then I have a different outcome. But by the video itself, I've got nothing.

Had a situation like this the other day. B1 runs up on A1 who had just recovered a loose ball along the endline. Bumped her marginally, but enough to cause A1 to step OOB, so....boop! B1 shouted something in frustration but it was brief and unintelligible. So I let it go. Until, when I was moving to report, she added some choice words that were just loud enough for me to hear, and very intelligible this time. Boop!

If you take a mile when I give you an inch, I will serve you my finest cup of tea.

xyrph Thu Dec 24, 2015 09:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by crosscountry55 (Post 974027)
Nope. She had a 2-second meltdown because she knew it was her fifth. Didn't seemed to be directed at anyone but herself.

This is not what you are seeing, if you are referring to her little jump and clap. At that instant she is celebrating because the ref just called the foul on white.

You can confirm this by watching the reaction of the the white team's coach. When he first hears the whistle he looks at the ref and cannot believe that the call was against his team.

Much later on after the ref meeting, Black 4 is informed it is her foul and fifth and she does not have any display at that point that I can see or hear.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:47pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1