The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 23, 2015, 11:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 12
backcourt question from Rulebox

A–1, who has the ball in the frontcourt passes the ball toward A–2. B–2 bats the ball to the floor in A’s frontcourt so it bounces toward the backcourt. A–1 runs into A’s backcourt and catches the ball before it strikes the floor.

The official rules this a backcourt violation. Is the official correct?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 23, 2015, 12:31pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
coachesNrefs, where are you?

Sent from my SPH-L900 using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 23, 2015, 11:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 401
By rule (no) or by NFHS interpretation (yes)?

2007-08 interps
SITUATION 10: A1, in the team's frontcourt, passes to A2, also in the team's frontcourt. B1 deflects the ball toward Team A's backcourt. The ball bounces only in Team A's frontcourt before crossing the division line. While the ball is still in the air over Team A's backcourt, but never having touched in Team A's backcourt, A2 gains possession of the ball while standing in Team A's backcourt. RULING: Backcourt violation on Team A. Team A was still in team control and caused the ball to have backcourt status. Had A2 permitted the ball to bounce in the backcourt after having been deflected by B1, there would have been no backcourt violation. (4-4-1; 4-4-3; 9-9-1)

The bolded portion is what causes issues because the rule book doesn't state that "causing the ball to have backcourt status" is a violation.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 23, 2015, 01:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by bballref3966 View Post
By rule (no) or by NFHS interpretation (yes)?

2007-08 interps
SITUATION 10: A1, in the team's frontcourt, passes to A2, also in the team's frontcourt. B1 deflects the ball toward Team A's backcourt. The ball bounces only in Team A's frontcourt before crossing the division line. While the ball is still in the air over Team A's backcourt, but never having touched in Team A's backcourt, A2 gains possession of the ball while standing in Team A's backcourt. RULING: Backcourt violation on Team A. Team A was still in team control and caused the ball to have backcourt status. Had A2 permitted the ball to bounce in the backcourt after having been deflected by B1, there would have been no backcourt violation. (4-4-1; 4-4-3; 9-9-1)

The bolded portion is what causes issues because the rule book doesn't state that "causing the ball to have backcourt status" is a violation.
Does anyone have anything that contradicts this Interp? If not, the OP is a violation.
__________________
I read this forum almost every day, but rarely post. I have learned a lot!! Thanks to all who contribute!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 24, 2015, 03:08pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by wyo96 View Post
Does anyone have anything that contradicts this Interp? If not, the OP is a violation.
Just the rule itself.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
It is
  • a contradiction with the rule
  • fundamentally wrong
  • inconsistent with the way it has been called for decades
  • introduces several ridiculous possibilities.
* A nearly 10 year old interp that has not recurred since nor shown up in the case play.

Quote:
Originally Posted by joelpoli View Post
doesn't A1 touching the ball that still has frontcourt status make A1 the "first to touch and the last to touch"?
There are three separate events that cannot happen simultaneously due to "before" and "after" requirements listed in the rules.

1. Touching the ball before it goes into the BC.
2. The ball gaining BC status.
3. Touching the ball after it gained BC status.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
So, how will you call the following play?

A1 dribbling (or holding) in the backcourt near/on/straddling the division line. B1, entirely in the frontcourt, bats the ball such that it bounces off A1's leg.
This is the exact play that should demonstrate the fact that the logic behind the 07/08 interp is flawed beyond assistance.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 23, 2015, 12:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by dave9819 View Post
yes - the ball does not gain backcourt status until it touches the backcourt or a player with backcourt status touches it. Since the ball gained backcourt status as a result of a1 catching the ball in the backcourt, it is a backcourt violation.

Had the ball touched the floor in backcourt and then is caught by a1, it would not be a backcourt status since b was the last to touch the ball prior to the ball gaining backcourt status.
no
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 23, 2015, 01:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
no
Why?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 23, 2015, 01:11pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
To have a violation, A has to be last to touch in frontcourt and first to touch in backcourt.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 23, 2015, 01:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
To have a violation, A has to be last to touch in frontcourt and first to touch in backcourt.
Ah, that's right! My mistake.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 23, 2015, 01:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 12
doesn't A1 touching the ball that still has frontcourt status make A1 the "first to touch and the last to touch"?

Last edited by joelpoli; Mon Nov 23, 2015 at 02:21pm.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 23, 2015, 04:08pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
To have a violation, A has to be last to touch in frontcourt and first to touch in backcourt.
Team A just has to be the last to touch when the ball had FC status, Team A's players do not have to touch the ball in the FC.

1) A1, in BC, throws pass that hits official standing in FC, ball bounces into BC, A2 retrieves ball...Violation

2) A1, in BC, throws pass that has backspin on it, it bounces in FC, and A2 standing in BC catches ball...violation.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Mon Nov 23, 2015 at 04:12pm.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 23, 2015, 04:12pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Team A just has to be the last to touch when the ball had FC status, Team A's players do not have to touch the ball in the FC.
Yeah, what he said.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backcourt question bainsey Basketball 45 Wed May 26, 2010 01:55pm
Yet another backcourt question Rufus Basketball 6 Wed Oct 31, 2007 11:00am
Another Backcourt Question. Sorry! Rick Durkee Basketball 23 Tue Feb 01, 2005 03:38pm
Backcourt Question Bchill24 Basketball 3 Fri Dec 12, 2003 09:56am
Another backcourt question ken roberts Basketball 6 Thu Dec 16, 1999 02:29am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:14pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1