![]() |
Well, I for one am vaery interested in reading about the "FT contact" issues that will arise in the various games that we do--I guess starting this Friday the season for most interscholastic games.
|
Automatic (Pointer Sisters, 1984) ...
Quote:
9-2-10-Penalty-4: If an opponent(s) contacts the thrower, an intentional personal foul shall be charged to the offender. 9.2.10 SITUATION B: Team A has a (a) designated spot throw-in, or (b) alternating- possession throw-in along the end line. Thrower A1 extends the ball with his/her arms over the end line such that part of the forearms, hands, and the ball are entirely on the inbounds side of the boundary line. B2 slaps A1 on the wrist and dislodges the ball. RULING: In (a) and (b), when a defender makes contact with a thrower-in, the result is an intentional foul. Where A1’s arms are located (on the inbounds or out-of-bounds side of the boundary line) is immaterial. A1 is awarded two free throws and Team A awarded a throw-in at the spot nearest the foul. In (b), since the throw-in did not end, the arrow remains with Team A. |
Quote:
|
From the 2015-16 NFHS Preseason Guide on page 6:
"If the defender makes contact with the free thrower that is more than incidental, a personal foul is the correct ruling. It is a violation in that situation when the free throw is missed and there is incidental contact on the free thrower." |
Thanks Nevadaref ...
Quote:
Why haven't we heard about this before? Is this a NFHS, or a Referee magazine, interpretation? |
Quote:
Several of the articles are written by contributors from various states and mostly they are uncredited. This makes it difficult to attribute anything in the document to a specific source. Also, some of what is written can be phrased better and sometimes a few things are just flat out incorrect. :( |
Quote:
Instead, he said, "focus on the rule." I took that to also mean, "focus on the POE." The impression I got was to err on the side of incidental, and anything greater than that is probably at least an intentional personal considering the defenders are not allowed by rule to be in the semi-circle in the first place. In other words, there isn't much desire for common fouls to be called here. The violation should speak for itself, and if the shooter gets taken out, intentional personal (or in an unusual case an intentional technical if the ball happened to already be dead when the contact occurred). We ended the conversation by talking about how all of this can be minimized if not eliminated by two means: A) making it part of the pre-game conference, at least early in the season, and B) consistently calling it early and often in games. After a few substitute free throws, the coach will quickly recalibrate his/her philosophy. |
Quote:
Ironically, I had to call the violation in my game last night...even after talking to the coaches pre-game about it AND telling the players prior to the 1n1. :p |
We pre-gamed this last night in a Varsity G tourney. FWIW they seem to be the bigger offenders IMO. So since the C has added ephesis on this POE we had the T close down a little more and help out with rebounding action. Got a violation early and it all took care of itself after that.
|
Don't Hang Your Hat On It ...
Quote:
|
This is the official NFHS interpretation
SITUATION 1: The opponent makes contact with the free-throw shooter before the free throw reaches the basket. The free throw is missed. RULING: The official should rule a violation on the opponent and a personal foul. (9-1-2g Penalty 2b) SITUATION 2: After A1 releases the ball on a free throw try, B1 steps into the lane and backs across the free- throw line to box out the free-throw shooter then makes contact with the free-throw shooter. The free throw is missed. RULING: The official should rule a delayed violation on the opponent. A1 will be awarded a substitute free throw and the contact is ruled a foul. The substitute free throw would be administered with the free-throw lane spaces unoccupied. (9-1-2g Penalty 2b) |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:06pm. |