The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Very Rare Events... (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/100177-very-rare-events.html)

BillyMac Tue Oct 13, 2015 05:10pm

Misty Water Color Memories ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by crosscountry55 (Post 967927)
... but a live ball (not a try) that enters the basket from behind the three-point line. Counts as two points.

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnny d (Post 967939)
The bolded ... statement above is incorrect if we are going by NCAA-M rules.

Also incorrect for NFHS rules.

crosscountry55's statement used to be the true in NFHS rules, but it changed a few years after the three point arc was first painted on high school gymnasium floors.

I'm sure that Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. will be moseying along shortly to tell us all about the history of this rule.

bob jenkins Tue Oct 13, 2015 08:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kansas Ref (Post 967942)
*Yes, they can appropriately be called "very rare" events. I presume you are intending to imply that it is not proper grammar to add the adverb "very" to describe something that is uncommon; however, even in ''statistical analysis" there are "signficant" events (i.e., p <0.01) and "very significant events'' (i.e., p <0.001). Most of the events enumerated herein are indeed very rare.

*In my Rules book there is a mid-book insert for Referee magazine ad; it is showing a female ref holding up 2 hands with 2 fingers--ostensibly signaling to the scorer table something. If she is indicating a foul on A22, and she is NFHS level, then the wrong signal is being used,no? Or is she signaling that each team has 2 timeouts remaining?

1) I have no idea what's used in statistical analysis.

2) I have no idea what she is indicating, or if it's a HS game, or if it's a state that might allow two handed reporting. I agree that if it's NFHS and NFHS mechanics, then using two hand to indicate the number of a player is incorrect.

junruh07 Tue Oct 13, 2015 10:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnny d (Post 967939)
The bolded and underlined statement above is incorrect if we are going by NCAA-M rules. The play in the referenced game only counted as two points because it is stated in the rulebook that any field goal scored in an opponents basket counts as two points, regardless of where the player's location on the playing court when the ball was released. It has nothing to do with whether or not the shot was a try or not.

Additionally, when an offensive player throws a pass into their own basket from beyond the 3 point line, 3 points are awarded. It does not need to be a shot attempt to get 3 points. There is a specific case play that covers this situation.

I had a play a couple of years ago that made me glad I had read the rule book. Team A had the ball for a backcourt throw-in. A2 was confused. He received the inbounds pass and found himself wide open for a 3. He paused for a second while I was trying to tell him not to do it in my head. Sure enough, he shot it, and it was nothing but net, only the wrong net. We correctly awarded B 2 points and gave A another shot at a backcourt inbounds. This was a VB game. I don't think I will be seeing a play like that again.

Raymond Wed Oct 14, 2015 07:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kansas Ref (Post 967942)
*]...
*In my Rules book there is a mid-book insert for Referee magazine ad; it is showing a female ref holding up 2 hands with 2 fingers--ostensibly signaling to the scorer table something. If she is indicating a foul on A22, and she is NFHS level, then the wrong signal is being used,no? Or is she signaling that each team has 2 timeouts remaining?

If you find the actual magazine she was on the cover of, it well tell you what level she works. Why are you assuming it's an NFHS game?

JRutledge Wed Oct 14, 2015 08:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kansas Ref (Post 967942)

*In my Rules book there is a mid-book insert for Referee magazine ad; it is showing a female ref holding up 2 hands with 2 fingers--ostensibly signaling to the scorer table something. If she is indicating a foul on A22, and she is NFHS level, then the wrong signal is being used,no? Or is she signaling that each team has 2 timeouts remaining?

For one not all states use every NFHS mechanic. It is possible that the state she is in does not use NF mechanics. There are many states that do things a little different in certain areas. It is not required for the states to follow mechanics on any level.

Also without knowing the context of the picture, I have no idea if this is a foul reporting situation anyway. And we also do not know if this was even a HS game in anyway. I am sure the issue had a name of the official in question.

Peace

Remington Wed Oct 14, 2015 08:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kansas Ref (Post 967709)

3) disallowing a FT attempt due to 10 secs having expired.

I called this in a D2 game. Player reached 10 seconds on his first couple free throws. I warned him during a dead ball, and subsequently called one on his next throw. Player would bounce the ball, spin the ball, go behind his back, bounce and spin again before shooting. Coach was obviously upset but when we reviewed the film it was between 12-13 seconds each time.

Freddy Wed Oct 14, 2015 10:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 967952)
For one not all states use every NFHS mechanic. It is possible that the state she is in does not use NF mechanics. There are many states that do things a little different in certain areas. It is not required for the states to follow mechanics on any level.

Also without knowing the context of the picture, I have no idea if this is a foul reporting situation anyway. And we also do not know if this was even a HS game in anyway. I am sure the issue had a name of the official in question.

Peace

I am acquainted with that official in the picture. Her name is Megan. She is an accomplished high school official who went on successfully to NCAAw. The game that she was doing when that picture was taken was an NCAA women's game. The state in which she officiated high school basketball does not support two hand foul reporting, if that indeed was the report of a foul. It supports only NFHS mechanics with the exception of the recent "Long Switch..." thing.

Kansas Ref Wed Oct 14, 2015 03:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy (Post 967958)
I am acquainted with that official in the picture. Her name is Megan. She is an accomplished high school official who went on successfully to NCAAw. The game that she was doing when that picture was taken was an NCAA women's game. The state in which she officiated high school basketball does not support two hand foul reporting, if that indeed was the report of a foul. It supports only NFHS mechanics with the exception of the recent "Long Switch..." thing.

*OK, thanks for clarifying. So, NFHS signals are not relevant in that case. Wow, you guys really know this business and also the folks who make it their vocation! Never would've expected that a forum member would "out of the blue" just happen to know that random referee in the cover photo. Truly amazing.

Raymond Wed Oct 14, 2015 08:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kansas Ref (Post 967962)
*OK, thanks for clarifying. So, NFHS signals are not relevant in that case. Wow, you guys really know this business and also the folks who make it their vocation! Never would've expected that a forum member would "out of the blue" just happen to know that random referee in the cover photo. Truly amazing.

Most likely almost every basketball official who makes the cover is known by someone on this forum.

Sent from my SPH-L900 using Tapatalk

Freddy Wed Oct 14, 2015 09:25pm

First Mention of Dr. Hook on the Forum -- Ever
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 967964)
Most likely almost every basketball official who makes the cover is known by someone on this forum.

Correct.
Except that when I make the cover of the Rolling Stone (joke for those of an equivalent elderly status here on the Forum), I mean Referee magazine, it's quite likely that nobody -- and I mean nobody -- will know who I am. I mean, after all, would anyone with the name Freddy ever actually use that name as his/her Forum name? That would be dumb.

BillyMac Thu Oct 15, 2015 05:59am

1972 ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy (Post 967965)
Except that when I make the cover of the Rolling Stone (joke for those of an equivalent elderly status here on the Forum).

For the non-elderly on the Forum:

https://youtu.be/npxRpGguGGI


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:58pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1