![]() |
At our meeting tonight, a play was brought up where A1 makes a pass from behind the arc, it is tipped by a B player in the 2 point zone, while the ball is going up. The ball goes in, is this a 2 point or a 3 point goal?
|
Count three points scored.Casebook play 5.2.1SitC(b).
|
Thanks
|
You're welcome.
|
What if a normal attempt of 3 but tipped by a defensive player from inside the arc and it goes in. 2 or 3?
Thanks |
Hmmm...ask yourself this. If a pass tipped by a defender inside the arc is 3 points, then why wouldn't a normal 3 point attempt, tipped by a defender be worth 3 points? :confused:
|
I thought it's because the last position held by the defender who touched the ball, was in 2-pt area. Pls advice.
|
Chin,
Look at 5.2.1 C in your casebook. |
Where the defender legally(i.e.-on the way up)touches the ball has absolutely no bearing in regards as to whether the player will score 2 or 3 points.The only concern that you have is whether the offensive player is completely behind the 3 point line when he originally released the ball.The rule(R5-2-1) says that if you shoot,tap or throw the ball from outside the three point line,you will score 3 points as long as the ball does not touch the floor,a teammate or an official.If the ball does touch the floor,teammate or official,the 3 point try ends,by rule(R4-40-4),and if the ball subsequently goes in,the offensive team can only score 2 points(as long as the ball goes through the basket before time runs out in the quarter). Naturally,if the defender <B>illegally</B> touches the ball(basket interference or goaltending),you would award 2 or 3 points dependant on where the offensive player was when he originally released the ball.
Make sense? |
Thank you JR & Nevadaref. I think I need a most updated rule & casebook. I have a 1998-2002 FIBA handbook with rules, cases & mechanics and I also have an Official Basketball Rules 2000 with rules changed 2003. Pls advice again if I can be able to mail-order the updated book and any video or tape to improve my reffing.
|
FIBA
Chin ref,
Most of the guys on this board are American High School refs using NF rules. Everything these guys wrote about tipped shots is correct for NF rules-but wrong for FIBA rules which you use. Under FIBA rules a tipped 3 point attempt is only worth 2 if the defender jumped from the 2 point area. Likewise if a 2 point attempt is tipped by a defender jumping from the 3 point area and it goes in it will be worth 3 points.(--But I've never seen that happen before and don't expect I will.) |
Thank you OC. I'm feeling much better now. BTW, what is NF stands for?
|
NF
NF stands for National Federation of State High School Associations.
These are the rules used by most High Schools (and middle schools) in America. |
I see, OC, just like the NBA, the NF modified the FIBA rules.
|
Re: FIBA
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:54pm. |