The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   10-sec backcourt play (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/100122-10-sec-backcourt-play.html)

JetMetFan Mon Sep 21, 2015 04:18pm

10-sec backcourt play
 
This scenario was presented by the NCAAW SRE during our meeting Sunday...

*A1 is dribbling in her backcourt
*A1 throws a pass that is deflected by B1
*The ball bounces in the backcourt near the point where the division line intersects with the sideline
*The ball then lands OOB next to a frontcourt boundary (i.e., it counced forward and diagonally). The T official's 10-second count was at 8
*The ensuing throw-in goes directly into the backcourt and a player from Team A is the first to legally touch the ball

How much time will Team A have to advance the ball into the frontcourt?

APG Mon Sep 21, 2015 04:47pm

https://forum.officiating.com/basket...tion-ncaa.html

JetMetFan Mon Sep 21, 2015 05:00pm

Different play. There's no touch by a second player from Team A in this OP.

Raymond Tue Sep 22, 2015 06:19am

Guess that's why we get paid the big bucks. Whether 2 or 10, be able to explain your decision. If the NCAA-W has an interpretation then it should be really easy to proceed.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk

Kansas Ref Tue Sep 22, 2015 09:27am

re-start the count, they ought to have a fresh 10 seconds to advance the ball.

bob jenkins Tue Sep 22, 2015 09:29am

Well, the ball never had FC status, so, by my recollection of the rule (I don't have the books handy) it's 2 seconds.

Whether that's what the rules committee wanted or not ...

walt Tue Sep 22, 2015 01:28pm

2 seconds because the ball never gained front court status. If the ball hit the front court and then went out, then a new 10 seconds. Really going to have make sure all are aware of what is happened and what is about to happen on a play like that.

APG Tue Sep 22, 2015 01:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 966968)
Different play. There's no touch by a second player from Team A in this OP.

Yup...my bad :o

I think by a strict reading of the rule, Team A should have only two seconds to advance.

Raymond Tue Sep 22, 2015 02:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kansas Ref (Post 966990)
re-start the count, they ought to have a fresh 10 seconds to advance the ball.

Do you have a rules based reason for that or just because you think that's what is fair.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk

JetMetFan Wed Sep 23, 2015 05:18pm

And the interpretation is...

Team A would have 2 seconds to advance into the frontcourt because, as Bob and APG said, the ball never gained frontcourt status.

deecee Thu Sep 24, 2015 08:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jetmetfan (Post 967014)
and the interpretation is...

Team a would have 2 seconds to advance into the frontcourt because, as bob and apg said, the ball never gained frontcourt status.

+1

bob jenkins Mon Sep 28, 2015 02:44pm

Confirming our previous answers:

QUESTION:

Concerning the 10 second back court count. With 23 seconds on the shot clock team A is in control of the basketball in their backcourt. A pass is deflected by the defense in the backcourt. The ball travels toward the frontcourt and A.) goes out of bounds on the frontcourt sideline with out touching the front court or B.) touches the frontcourt before going directly out of bounds. Does team A receive a new 10 second count in either case.

ANSWER:

The intent of the rule change in 9-10 is to not provide the team in control with a new ten seconds in the backcourt when there is a new throw-in after the defense caused the ball to go out of bounds, a held ball with no change in team control or a technical foul assessed to the team in control and the team in control had failed to gain frontcourt status by the tenth second. In (a), because the defense caused the ball to go out of bounds and the ball did not gain frontcourt status, if Team A’s throw-in goes into the backcourt, Team A will have three seconds to advance the ball into the frontcourt. In (b), because the ball touched the frontcourt, it gained frontcourt status (Rule 9-12.3.a) before going out of bounds. If Team A’s throw-in goes into the backcourt, Team A will receive a new ten seconds to advance the ball into their frontcourt.

There is no frontcourt or backcourt status during a throw-in. It will be important for officials to discuss this scenario.

Rooster Mon Oct 05, 2015 06:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 967204)
Confirming our previous answers:

QUESTION:

Concerning the 10 second back court count. With 23 seconds on the shot clock team A is in control of the basketball in their backcourt. A pass is deflected by the defense in the backcourt. The ball travels toward the frontcourt and A.) goes out of bounds on the frontcourt sideline with out touching the front court or B.) touches the frontcourt before going directly out of bounds. Does team A receive a new 10 second count in either case.

ANSWER:

The intent of the rule change in 9-10 is to not provide the team in control with a new ten seconds in the backcourt when there is a new throw-in after the defense caused the ball to go out of bounds, a held ball with no change in team control or a technical foul assessed to the team in control and the team in control had failed to gain frontcourt status by the tenth second. In (a), because the defense caused the ball to go out of bounds and the ball did not gain frontcourt status, if Team A’s throw-in goes into the backcourt, Team A will have three seconds to advance the ball into the frontcourt. In (b), because the ball touched the frontcourt, it gained frontcourt status (Rule 9-12.3.a) before going out of bounds. If Team A’s throw-in goes into the backcourt, Team A will receive a new ten seconds to advance the ball into their frontcourt.

Had this come up in one of our meetings: In scenario (a) after the ball goes out of bounds can team A "buy" a new 10 second count with a time out? (Answer to follow)...

bob jenkins Mon Oct 05, 2015 08:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rooster (Post 967581)
Had this come up in one of our meetings: In scenario (a) after the ball goes out of bounds can team A "buy" a new 10 second count with a time out? (Answer to follow)...

Yes.

JetMetFan Mon Oct 05, 2015 11:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rooster (Post 967581)
Had this come up in one of our meetings: In scenario (a) after the ball goes out of bounds can team A "buy" a new 10 second count with a time out? (Answer to follow)...

A time out granted to a team in its backcourt always results in a new ten-second count.

Rooster Tue Oct 06, 2015 01:01am

There's no foolin' you sharpies...

What if the defense calls the timeout?

Raymond Tue Oct 06, 2015 07:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rooster (Post 967593)
There's no foolin' you sharpies...

What if the defense calls the timeout?

Does the rule say "time out" or "offensive time out"?"

Sent from my SPH-L900 using Tapatalk

bob jenkins Tue Oct 06, 2015 07:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rooster (Post 967593)
There's no foolin' you sharpies...

What if the defense calls the timeout?

No.

Well, unless the offense calls a subsequent one.

JetMetFan Tue Oct 06, 2015 09:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 967605)
No.

Well, unless the offense calls a subsequent one.

Of course, there's another layer of intrigue if the time out is granted with 0:59.9 or less in the 4th quarter or overtime.

All of this is going to be a thrill for my GV games in NY. The state is still deciding how many of the rule changes to adopt (I've been told the goal is to bring in as many as possible).

bob jenkins Tue Oct 06, 2015 10:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 967616)
Of course, there's another layer of intrigue if the time out is granted with 0:59.9 or less in the 4th quarter or overtime.

Yep.

And in your OP (defense tips the ball, it goes OOB adjacent to the FC) -- can the offense choose to "advance" the ball?

The rule says "out of bounds IN the backcourt" -- and that's a contradiction -- the throw-in is neither in the FC or in the BC.

BTW, if you see Jon at / before your meeting in Philly, tell him he did a great job with his "layered plays" breakout

Raymond Tue Oct 06, 2015 11:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 967620)
Yep.

And in your OP (defense tips the ball, it goes OOB adjacent to the FC) -- can the offense choose to "advance" the ball?

The rule says "out of bounds IN the backcourt" -- and that's a contradiction -- the throw-in is neither in the FC or in the BC.

BTW, if you see Jon at / before your meeting in Philly, tell him he did a great job with his "layered plays" breakout

I have no idea, so I'm asking, but I thought the ball could only be advanced immediately after a change of possession--made basket, rebound, steal, turnover?

bob jenkins Tue Oct 06, 2015 11:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 967625)
I have no idea, so I'm asking, but I thought the ball could only be advanced immediately after a change of possession--made basket, rebound, steal, turnover?

I *think* that if B fouls or commits a floor violation, that A again has the option to advance (by taking a TO).

JetMetFan Tue Oct 06, 2015 11:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 967620)
The rule says "out of bounds IN the backcourt" -- and that's a contradiction


I'm thinking Jon may change the wording in the book. Towards the end of the summer he was phrasing this as "OOB on a boundary bordering the backcourt."


Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 967625)
I have no idea, so I'm asking, but I thought the ball could only be advanced immediately after a change of possession--made basket, rebound, steal, turnover?

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 967626)
I *think* that if B fouls or commits a floor violation, that A again has the option to advance (by taking a TO).


a. the ball is out of bounds (at a boundary bordering) the backcourt, except for the correction of a timing or scoring mistake, an inadvertent whistle, a held ball, a technical foul assessed to the team in control, or an injury, blood situation or a lost or displaced lens after the team has advanced the ball, or
b. after securing the ball from a rebound in the backcourt and before any advance of the ball, or
c. after the offensive team secures control of the ball from a change of possession and before any advance of the ball

Advance of the ball = The player in control does anything with the ball other than hold it.

What Bob mentioned comes under Category A since the ball would be awarded to Team A OOB.


Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 967620)
BTW, if you see Jon at / before your meeting in Philly, tell him he did a great job with his "layered plays" breakout

He lives for those things :)

bob jenkins Wed Oct 07, 2015 07:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 967663)
I'm thinking Jon may change the wording in the book. Towards the end of the summer he was phrasing this as "OOB on a boundary bordering the backcourt."

That would help. He does a good job with his writing, but this rule could be more clear, imo (too many "ands" and "ors", part (a) contains 5 exceptions, and someone is going to be confused on whether the "has advanced" clause applies to all the exceptions or only to the injury/blood/contact exception)

walt Wed Oct 07, 2015 03:13pm

Maybe I wrote it wrong in my notes (entirely possible but the person sitting next to me wrote the same thing), but I wrote "Timeout, either team, new 10). Like I said maybe I wrote it wrong, heard Jon wrong, etc.

Raymond Wed Oct 07, 2015 03:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by walt (Post 967706)
Maybe I wrote it wrong in my notes (entirely possible but the person sitting next to me wrote the same thing), but I wrote "Timeout, either team, new 10). Like I said maybe I wrote it wrong, heard Jon wrong, etc.

You wrote it wrong :D

All the slides I've seen say offensive time-out resets the count.

walt Wed Oct 07, 2015 03:23pm

That is what I thought but I just sent the question into Jon just to make sure. :D

bob jenkins Tue Nov 03, 2015 09:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 966961)
This scenario was presented by the NCAAW SRE during our meeting Sunday...

*A1 is dribbling in her backcourt
*A1 throws a pass that is deflected by B1
*The ball bounces in the backcourt near the point where the division line intersects with the sideline
*The ball then lands OOB next to a frontcourt boundary (i.e., it counced forward and diagonally). The T official's 10-second count was at 8
*The ensuing throw-in goes directly into the backcourt and a player from Team A is the first to legally touch the ball

How much time will Team A have to advance the ball into the frontcourt?

I think we all agree now that in the play above, the answer is "2 seconds."

But, what if the throw-in (from adjacent to the FC), is a "bounce pass" that first hits the floor in the FC? Does that give A a new 10-seconds?

What if the ball is touched / tipped (not controlled) by A2 in the FC and deflects to the BC where it is recovered?

JetMetFan Tue Nov 03, 2015 10:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 968926)
I think we all agree now that in the play above, the answer is "2 seconds."

But, what if the throw-in (from adjacent to the FC), is a "bounce pass" that first hits the floor in the FC? Does that give A a new 10-seconds?

What if the ball is touched / tipped (not controlled) by A2 in the FC and deflects to the BC where it is recovered?

This would be why there's an "Ask Jon" section on the hub :D

Raymond Tue Nov 03, 2015 10:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 968926)
I think we all agree now that in the play above, the answer is "2 seconds."

But, what if the throw-in (from adjacent to the FC), is a "bounce pass" that first hits the floor in the FC? Does that give A a new 10-seconds?

What if the ball is touched / tipped (not controlled) by A2 in the FC and deflects to the BC where it is recovered?

Since there is no true TC during a throw-in, I say the ball does not have FC status in either scenario.

bob jenkins Tue Nov 03, 2015 10:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 968930)
This would be why there's an "Ask Jon" section on the hub :D

sure -- but I thought we might get some discussion here, first (unless it's been posted there and I missed it)

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 968931)
Since there is no true TC during a throw-in, I say the ball does not have FC status in either scenario.

What is "true TC?"

BigCat Tue Nov 03, 2015 10:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 968926)
I think we all agree now that in the play above, the answer is "2 seconds."

But, what if the throw-in (from adjacent to the FC), is a "bounce pass" that first hits the floor in the FC? Does that give A a new 10-seconds?

What if the ball is touched / tipped (not controlled) by A2 in the FC and deflects to the BC where it is recovered?

The rule says a player and his team can't be in continuous control of a BALL that is in his backcourt for 10 continuous seconds…don't reset if defense knocks it out of bounds.

On your throw in, the moment the BALL hits the FC or touches a player in the FC, IT, the BALL, has FC status. Team A can't be in continuous control of a ball in the BC for 10 seconds because the ball was IN FC. new count..

Raymond Tue Nov 03, 2015 10:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 968933)
sure -- but I thought we might get some discussion here, first (unless it's been posted there and I missed it)



What is "true TC?"

As in if A1 is inbounds (regardless of location) and throws a pass that A2 touches in the FC and then Team A retrieves it in the BC, it's a violation.

bob jenkins Tue Nov 03, 2015 10:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 968937)
As in if A1 is inbounds (regardless of location) and throws a pass that A2 touches in the FC and then Team A retrieves it in the BC, it's a violation.

Agreed -- but the question is about a 10-second violation, not a BC violation. I think we all agree that the play I posted is NOT a BC violation.

Raymond Tue Nov 03, 2015 10:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 968938)
Agreed -- but the question is about a 10-second violation, not a BC violation. I think we all agree that the play I posted is NOT a BC violation.

If you are saying that "because it's not a BC violation, then the 10-second count shouldn't start over" compare it to A1 in the BC passes the ball toward the FC. The ball hits an official and rebounds into the BC where A1 recovers it." That's not a BC violation, but the 10-second count starts over.

If A1 is in the BC and throws a pass that touches the FC and spins back into the BC and A2 retrieves it, we don't have a BC violation?

What element of BC violation are we missing?

bob jenkins Tue Nov 03, 2015 10:58am

Sorry -- yes. You caught me trying to edit my post with the play. I am dealing via email with a different play and I got the two confused as I was typing.

Raymond Tue Nov 03, 2015 11:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 968938)
Agreed -- but the question is about a 10-second violation, not a BC violation. I think we all agree that the play I posted is NOT a BC violation.

In my brain, I'm trying to keep the logic similar where possible.

I do not think throwing a bounce pass on a throw-in that hits the FC is intended by rule to give the ball FC status.

BigCat Tue Nov 03, 2015 11:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 968943)
In my brain, I'm trying to keep the logic similar where possible.

I do not think throwing a bounce pass on a throw-in that hits the FC is intended by rule to give the ball FC status.

Ball location is in my view independent of team control etc. The ball is located wherever it is at that moment in time. If it hits in the FC it is in the FC..

Raymond Tue Nov 03, 2015 12:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 968944)
Ball location is in my view independent of team control etc. The ball is located wherever it is at that moment in time. If it hits in the FC it is in the FC..

I'll look at it as the ball doesn't have a location until the throw-in has ended.

Sent from my SPH-L900 using Tapatalk

BigCat Tue Nov 03, 2015 03:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 968950)
I'll look at it as the ball doesn't have a location until the throw-in has ended.

Sent from my SPH-L900 using Tapatalk

I could see an interpretation saying count continues based on this...

bob jenkins Wed Nov 04, 2015 11:15am

Here's Jon's answer (and there are a couple of other plays he uses that illustrate the same thing):

DATE:

11/3/2015

RULE:

9-10, 9-12

QUESTION:

If the throw-in is from the frontcourt, but has not touched the court or a player in the frontcourt, is it a new 10 seconds if: 1) Thrower in A1 throws a bounce pass from the frontcourt, which bounces in the frontcourt, but is first touched by a player in the backcourt; 2) Thrower in A1 throws a bounce pass from the frontcourt, which bounces in the frontcourt and is then deflected by A2 or B2, either of whom is standing in the frontcourt, and then goes into the backcourt 3) Thrower in A1 throws a chest pass which is deflected by B1, who is standing in the frontcourt, and the ball then goes in to the backcourt?

ANSWER:

In all three scenarios you present, if Team A’s pass is deflected out of bounds without touching the playing court or a player/official int he frontcourt and Team’s ensuing throw-in were to be thrown directly into Team A’s backcourt, Team A then has the remaining time in the backcourt count to advance the ball into their frontcourt.

In your three scenarios (A1’s throw-in touches the playing court in the frontcourt before going into the backcourt, A1’s bounce pass in the frontcourt is deflected by A1 or B2 into Team A’s backcourt or A1’s throw-in is deflected in flight by B2 into Team A’s backcourt), Team A will receive a new 10 seconds to advance the ball once it is touched in the backcourt, because in all three examples you provided frontcourt status has been established. Additionally, if A1’s throw-in were deflected by A2 into their backcourt, this is legal and not a backcourt violation s Team A did not have team control int heir frontcourt before the ball was returned to their backcourt (Rule 9-12.4).

JetMetFan Wed Nov 04, 2015 02:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 969022)
Here's Jon's answer (and there are a couple of other plays he uses that illustrate the same thing):

DATE:

11/3/2015

RULE:

9-10, 9-12

QUESTION:

If the throw-in is from the frontcourt, but has not touched the court or a player in the frontcourt, is it a new 10 seconds if: 1) Thrower in A1 throws a bounce pass from the frontcourt, which bounces in the frontcourt, but is first touched by a player in the backcourt; 2) Thrower in A1 throws a bounce pass from the frontcourt, which bounces in the frontcourt and is then deflected by A2 or B2, either of whom is standing in the frontcourt, and then goes into the backcourt 3) Thrower in A1 throws a chest pass which is deflected by B1, who is standing in the frontcourt, and the ball then goes in to the backcourt?

ANSWER:

In all three scenarios you present, if Team A’s pass is deflected out of bounds without touching the playing court or a player/official int he frontcourt and Team’s ensuing throw-in were to be thrown directly into Team A’s backcourt, Team A then has the remaining time in the backcourt count to advance the ball into their frontcourt.

In your three scenarios (A1’s throw-in touches the playing court in the frontcourt before going into the backcourt, A1’s bounce pass in the frontcourt is deflected by A1 or B2 into Team A’s backcourt or A1’s throw-in is deflected in flight by B2 into Team A’s backcourt), Team A will receive a new 10 seconds to advance the ball once it is touched in the backcourt, because in all three examples you provided frontcourt status has been established. Additionally, if A1’s throw-in were deflected by A2 into their backcourt, this is legal and not a backcourt violation s Team A did not have team control int heir frontcourt before the ball was returned to their backcourt (Rule 9-12.4).

Makes sense based on the rules as they're written.

bob jenkins Wed Nov 04, 2015 04:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 969039)
Makes sense based on the rules as they're written.

Absolutely. (But of course I say that since I argued in favor of this position at a pre-game (scrimmage) discussion with four other officials the other night. Had I taken the other position, I'm *sure* I'd find his reasoning to be flawed. )


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:59pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1