The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   10-sec backcourt play (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/100122-10-sec-backcourt-play.html)

Rooster Tue Oct 06, 2015 01:01am

There's no foolin' you sharpies...

What if the defense calls the timeout?

Raymond Tue Oct 06, 2015 07:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rooster (Post 967593)
There's no foolin' you sharpies...

What if the defense calls the timeout?

Does the rule say "time out" or "offensive time out"?"

Sent from my SPH-L900 using Tapatalk

bob jenkins Tue Oct 06, 2015 07:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rooster (Post 967593)
There's no foolin' you sharpies...

What if the defense calls the timeout?

No.

Well, unless the offense calls a subsequent one.

JetMetFan Tue Oct 06, 2015 09:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 967605)
No.

Well, unless the offense calls a subsequent one.

Of course, there's another layer of intrigue if the time out is granted with 0:59.9 or less in the 4th quarter or overtime.

All of this is going to be a thrill for my GV games in NY. The state is still deciding how many of the rule changes to adopt (I've been told the goal is to bring in as many as possible).

bob jenkins Tue Oct 06, 2015 10:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 967616)
Of course, there's another layer of intrigue if the time out is granted with 0:59.9 or less in the 4th quarter or overtime.

Yep.

And in your OP (defense tips the ball, it goes OOB adjacent to the FC) -- can the offense choose to "advance" the ball?

The rule says "out of bounds IN the backcourt" -- and that's a contradiction -- the throw-in is neither in the FC or in the BC.

BTW, if you see Jon at / before your meeting in Philly, tell him he did a great job with his "layered plays" breakout

Raymond Tue Oct 06, 2015 11:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 967620)
Yep.

And in your OP (defense tips the ball, it goes OOB adjacent to the FC) -- can the offense choose to "advance" the ball?

The rule says "out of bounds IN the backcourt" -- and that's a contradiction -- the throw-in is neither in the FC or in the BC.

BTW, if you see Jon at / before your meeting in Philly, tell him he did a great job with his "layered plays" breakout

I have no idea, so I'm asking, but I thought the ball could only be advanced immediately after a change of possession--made basket, rebound, steal, turnover?

bob jenkins Tue Oct 06, 2015 11:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 967625)
I have no idea, so I'm asking, but I thought the ball could only be advanced immediately after a change of possession--made basket, rebound, steal, turnover?

I *think* that if B fouls or commits a floor violation, that A again has the option to advance (by taking a TO).

JetMetFan Tue Oct 06, 2015 11:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 967620)
The rule says "out of bounds IN the backcourt" -- and that's a contradiction


I'm thinking Jon may change the wording in the book. Towards the end of the summer he was phrasing this as "OOB on a boundary bordering the backcourt."


Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 967625)
I have no idea, so I'm asking, but I thought the ball could only be advanced immediately after a change of possession--made basket, rebound, steal, turnover?

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 967626)
I *think* that if B fouls or commits a floor violation, that A again has the option to advance (by taking a TO).


a. the ball is out of bounds (at a boundary bordering) the backcourt, except for the correction of a timing or scoring mistake, an inadvertent whistle, a held ball, a technical foul assessed to the team in control, or an injury, blood situation or a lost or displaced lens after the team has advanced the ball, or
b. after securing the ball from a rebound in the backcourt and before any advance of the ball, or
c. after the offensive team secures control of the ball from a change of possession and before any advance of the ball

Advance of the ball = The player in control does anything with the ball other than hold it.

What Bob mentioned comes under Category A since the ball would be awarded to Team A OOB.


Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 967620)
BTW, if you see Jon at / before your meeting in Philly, tell him he did a great job with his "layered plays" breakout

He lives for those things :)

bob jenkins Wed Oct 07, 2015 07:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 967663)
I'm thinking Jon may change the wording in the book. Towards the end of the summer he was phrasing this as "OOB on a boundary bordering the backcourt."

That would help. He does a good job with his writing, but this rule could be more clear, imo (too many "ands" and "ors", part (a) contains 5 exceptions, and someone is going to be confused on whether the "has advanced" clause applies to all the exceptions or only to the injury/blood/contact exception)

walt Wed Oct 07, 2015 03:13pm

Maybe I wrote it wrong in my notes (entirely possible but the person sitting next to me wrote the same thing), but I wrote "Timeout, either team, new 10). Like I said maybe I wrote it wrong, heard Jon wrong, etc.

Raymond Wed Oct 07, 2015 03:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by walt (Post 967706)
Maybe I wrote it wrong in my notes (entirely possible but the person sitting next to me wrote the same thing), but I wrote "Timeout, either team, new 10). Like I said maybe I wrote it wrong, heard Jon wrong, etc.

You wrote it wrong :D

All the slides I've seen say offensive time-out resets the count.

walt Wed Oct 07, 2015 03:23pm

That is what I thought but I just sent the question into Jon just to make sure. :D

bob jenkins Tue Nov 03, 2015 09:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 966961)
This scenario was presented by the NCAAW SRE during our meeting Sunday...

*A1 is dribbling in her backcourt
*A1 throws a pass that is deflected by B1
*The ball bounces in the backcourt near the point where the division line intersects with the sideline
*The ball then lands OOB next to a frontcourt boundary (i.e., it counced forward and diagonally). The T official's 10-second count was at 8
*The ensuing throw-in goes directly into the backcourt and a player from Team A is the first to legally touch the ball

How much time will Team A have to advance the ball into the frontcourt?

I think we all agree now that in the play above, the answer is "2 seconds."

But, what if the throw-in (from adjacent to the FC), is a "bounce pass" that first hits the floor in the FC? Does that give A a new 10-seconds?

What if the ball is touched / tipped (not controlled) by A2 in the FC and deflects to the BC where it is recovered?

JetMetFan Tue Nov 03, 2015 10:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 968926)
I think we all agree now that in the play above, the answer is "2 seconds."

But, what if the throw-in (from adjacent to the FC), is a "bounce pass" that first hits the floor in the FC? Does that give A a new 10-seconds?

What if the ball is touched / tipped (not controlled) by A2 in the FC and deflects to the BC where it is recovered?

This would be why there's an "Ask Jon" section on the hub :D

Raymond Tue Nov 03, 2015 10:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 968926)
I think we all agree now that in the play above, the answer is "2 seconds."

But, what if the throw-in (from adjacent to the FC), is a "bounce pass" that first hits the floor in the FC? Does that give A a new 10-seconds?

What if the ball is touched / tipped (not controlled) by A2 in the FC and deflects to the BC where it is recovered?

Since there is no true TC during a throw-in, I say the ball does not have FC status in either scenario.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:14pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1