The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Two Block/Charge Plays (Video) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/100002-two-block-charge-plays-video.html)

ballgame99 Tue Aug 04, 2015 02:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 965512)
Regardless of whether you rule block or PC, what does "sliding into" mean?

You know what it means; he is moving laterally in an attempt to maintain LGP but doesn't stay in front of the offensive player. Plus his feet aren't "set" :p

JetMetFan Tue Aug 04, 2015 03:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 965551)
You know what it means; he is moving laterally in an attempt to maintain LGP but doesn't stay in front of the offensive player. Plus his feet aren't "set" :p

Trouble maker... :p

IUgrad92 Wed Aug 05, 2015 04:23pm

#1 Block. B1 tries beating A1 to a spot but contact occurs before B1 established LGP.

#2 Charge. If these two plays happened in sequence, it is possible L went block to stay consistent with play #1, especially if he considered it a 50/50 play.

rockyroad Wed Aug 05, 2015 04:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IUgrad92 (Post 965572)
If these two plays happened in sequence, it is possible L went block to stay consistent with play #1, especially if he considered it a 50/50 play.

Uhmmmm...I'm thinking they were not in sequence since both were called against white and one was at each end of the court. Probably two different halves don't you think?

IUgrad92 Wed Aug 05, 2015 05:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad (Post 965573)
Uhmmmm...I'm thinking they were not in sequence since both were called against white and one was at each end of the court. Probably two different halves don't you think?

Ah, good catch! Then less reason to have gotten the second one wrong.... ;)

OKREF Wed Aug 05, 2015 10:44pm

Question.

In play 1, it seems to me that the C has a great, or should have a great look at this play. Any thoughts on him with a whistle. I know it's from the trails primary, any thoughts?

AremRed Wed Aug 05, 2015 11:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 965578)
Question.

In play 1, it seems to me that the C has a great, or should have a great look at this play. Any thoughts on him with a whistle. I know it's from the trails primary, any thoughts?

C might be able To see the displacement but I doubt he would know if the defender is legal or not. Plus the play is on the other side of the lane, this is Trail's primary.

Camron Rust Wed Aug 05, 2015 11:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 965578)
Question.

In play 1, it seems to me that the C has a great, or should have a great look at this play. Any thoughts on him with a whistle. I know it's from the trails primary, any thoughts?

I don't think the C's look would actually be that great. He had 3 players pretty much in the line between his spot and the spot of the foul. Even without those players, the play was outside the paint on the other side. Not sure he should have even been looking there.

Generally, it is very hard to accurately judge movement that is going directly towards or away from your position when that movement is the critical element. Looking through it diagonally or from behind/front is better for lateral movement.

The C's position was actually the worst for seeing if the defender made it into the path or not or if the defender's knee was extended. The T and the L both have much better angles to cover the movement involved in this play. The C might have seen forward movement but I don't believe that was what happened in this play.

Even if it was a clear look with the right angles, not a chance. It wasn't better than the T's.

JetMetFan Wed Aug 05, 2015 11:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IUgrad92 (Post 965572)
#1 Block. B1 tries beating A1 to a spot but contact occurs before B1 established LGP.

Really? B1 never had two feet on the floor with the front of his torso facing A1 at any point prior to contact?



Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 965578)
Question.

In play 1, it seems to me that the C has a great, or should have a great look at this play. Any thoughts on him with a whistle. I know it's from the trails primary, any thoughts?

Only if neither the T nor the L blow their whistle.

Camron Rust Thu Aug 06, 2015 10:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 965582)
Really? B1 never had two feet on the floor with the front of his torso facing A1 at any point prior to contact?

I think this is a block, not because he never had LGP but because he lost LGP. He was slow in reacting and moving to maintain it, and thus lost it. He never really made it back into the path with the contact being off to the side as he was moving back into the path and into the opponent laterally making it a block.

hoopsaddict Fri Aug 07, 2015 08:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 965598)
I think this is a block, not because he never had LGP but because he lost LGP. He was slow in reacting and moving to maintain it, and thus lost it. He never really made it back into the path with the contact being off to the side as he was moving back into the path and into the opponent laterally making it a block.

How does being slow in reacting cause you to lose LGP?

Raymond Fri Aug 07, 2015 09:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by hoopsaddict (Post 965609)
How does being slow in reacting cause you to lose LGP?

I'm with Camron, when A1 retreated B1 was no longer in LGP. A1 then went in a new direction and B1 never got 2 feet down in his path.

Camron Rust Fri Aug 07, 2015 11:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by hoopsaddict (Post 965609)
How does being slow in reacting cause you to lose LGP?

A1 established a new path and B1 wasn't in it. B1 needed to reestablish LGP and didn't.

walt Fri Aug 07, 2015 01:57pm

Bad angle on play #1 but first reaction was block with defender moving into the path of the BH/D but just not getting there in time. Not the best angle on play #2 either because I cannot see between to see if there was any contact but, assuming there was contact, PC in #2.

hoopsaddict Fri Aug 07, 2015 04:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 965612)
I'm with Camron, when A1 retreated B1 was no longer in LGP. A1 then went in a new direction and B1 never got 2 feet down in his path.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 965622)
A1 established a new path and B1 wasn't in it. B1 needed to reestablish LGP and didn't.

By rule, a defender can move laterally or obliquely to maintain position after they initially obtain legal guarding position as long as they do not move toward the opponent when contact occurs.

Wouldn't retreating mean the offensive player caused contact with the defender?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:13am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1