The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Two Block/Charge Plays (Video) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/100002-two-block-charge-plays-video.html)

Freddy Mon Aug 03, 2015 07:06am

Two Block/Charge Plays (Video)
 
Blocks? Charges? One of each?

Blocks or Charges?

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/XBr1tilXa2I" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Bad Zebra Mon Aug 03, 2015 08:02am

First instinct in both cases..."block". Both defenders appeared to move into ball handlers...no LGP in ether case. Now I'll go back and rewind it a few times and see if I feel any different.

bob jenkins Mon Aug 03, 2015 08:33am

I go with Block, Charge

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Mon Aug 03, 2015 10:00am

Charge and Charge!

MTD, Sr.

JetMetFan Mon Aug 03, 2015 10:08am

I have both plays as PC fouls. In #1 the BH/D never gets head and shoulders past the defender, meaning the onus is on the BH/D to avoid contact. Same deal for #2, assuming there was contact.

In #2 I'm assuming there was a turnover and the new L got stuck but he still needed to bust it to get to the end line. It appears he made up his mind - or his legs made up his mind for him - that he wasn't going to get to the end line in time about two steps over the division line.

Of course, his physical condition looks much better than that of the new T. I'm sure it sounds like I'm trying to hate but as a guy who shed 45 lbs. since the start of 2013 I'm speaking from experience. It's hard officiating 17-year-old when you're carrying too much baggage.

Hugh Refner Mon Aug 03, 2015 11:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 965494)
Charge and Charge!

MTD, Sr.

+infinity

deecee Mon Aug 03, 2015 11:09am

charge, charge.

in each instance i ask myself what did the defense do wrong? nothing.

Both the contacts were straight through the chest and neither involved a player going airborne so looked like defense got to the spot first and had lgp.

JugglingReferee Mon Aug 03, 2015 12:29pm

PC and PC.

Although in the second clip, I'm not certain, becuase of the camera angle, how much contact there was. If there was some embellishment, I can see a "play-on" no-call.

JRutledge Mon Aug 03, 2015 12:32pm

First one looks like a block. The defender is coming towards the ball handler at the time of contact.

The second one looks like a PC mostly, but I cannot tell if the defender is going forward to the ball handler or moving sideways. But it appears to be PC for the most part.

Peace

ballgame99 Mon Aug 03, 2015 02:41pm

Play 1 is a bad angle, but that looks like a block to me, no LGP as the defender was still sliding into offensive player at contact.

Play 2 looks like a PC, assuming there was sufficient contact.

BigCat Mon Aug 03, 2015 03:02pm

Block. Charge

JetMetFan Mon Aug 03, 2015 03:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 965505)
First one looks like a block. The defender is coming towards the ball handler at the time of contact.

JRut, looks like the defender's right foot is moving backwards at point of contact, no?


Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 965509)
Play 1 is a bad angle, but that looks like a block to me, no LGP as the defender was still sliding into offensive player at contact.

Regardless of whether you rule block or PC, what does "sliding into" mean?

JRutledge Mon Aug 03, 2015 06:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 965512)
JRut, looks like the defender's right foot is moving backwards at point of contact, no?

I looks to me like he is coming forward towards the opponent. Now I said looks like as to suggest it is possible he is not. But the angle and the way he falls is also suspect. And I am one that usually defaults to PC fouls in these situations. I am not dismissing your point, I just do not see what you are seeing.

Peace

AremRed Tue Aug 04, 2015 12:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy (Post 965481)
Blocks? Charges? One of each?

Play 1: Charge

Play 2: Charge

Play 1 is a tough play cuz it's pretty high for the Lead to call (who probably has the best idea of the defenders LGP), so Trail has to get it. I really like how Trail closed down so I'm willing to give him the benefit of the doubt.

Play 2 is tough to see from our angle how much the offensive player goes through the defender. I could see a no-call but maybe the offensive player uses his left arm there where we can't see. Wish the Lead could have made it to the endline to accept the play but I'm actually more concerned with Trail's extra baggage. :eek:

Scooby Tue Aug 04, 2015 12:41am

Play 1: Bad angle but it looks like a block.
Play 2: Charge!

ballgame99 Tue Aug 04, 2015 02:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 965512)
Regardless of whether you rule block or PC, what does "sliding into" mean?

You know what it means; he is moving laterally in an attempt to maintain LGP but doesn't stay in front of the offensive player. Plus his feet aren't "set" :p

JetMetFan Tue Aug 04, 2015 03:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 965551)
You know what it means; he is moving laterally in an attempt to maintain LGP but doesn't stay in front of the offensive player. Plus his feet aren't "set" :p

Trouble maker... :p

IUgrad92 Wed Aug 05, 2015 04:23pm

#1 Block. B1 tries beating A1 to a spot but contact occurs before B1 established LGP.

#2 Charge. If these two plays happened in sequence, it is possible L went block to stay consistent with play #1, especially if he considered it a 50/50 play.

rockyroad Wed Aug 05, 2015 04:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IUgrad92 (Post 965572)
If these two plays happened in sequence, it is possible L went block to stay consistent with play #1, especially if he considered it a 50/50 play.

Uhmmmm...I'm thinking they were not in sequence since both were called against white and one was at each end of the court. Probably two different halves don't you think?

IUgrad92 Wed Aug 05, 2015 05:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad (Post 965573)
Uhmmmm...I'm thinking they were not in sequence since both were called against white and one was at each end of the court. Probably two different halves don't you think?

Ah, good catch! Then less reason to have gotten the second one wrong.... ;)

OKREF Wed Aug 05, 2015 10:44pm

Question.

In play 1, it seems to me that the C has a great, or should have a great look at this play. Any thoughts on him with a whistle. I know it's from the trails primary, any thoughts?

AremRed Wed Aug 05, 2015 11:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 965578)
Question.

In play 1, it seems to me that the C has a great, or should have a great look at this play. Any thoughts on him with a whistle. I know it's from the trails primary, any thoughts?

C might be able To see the displacement but I doubt he would know if the defender is legal or not. Plus the play is on the other side of the lane, this is Trail's primary.

Camron Rust Wed Aug 05, 2015 11:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 965578)
Question.

In play 1, it seems to me that the C has a great, or should have a great look at this play. Any thoughts on him with a whistle. I know it's from the trails primary, any thoughts?

I don't think the C's look would actually be that great. He had 3 players pretty much in the line between his spot and the spot of the foul. Even without those players, the play was outside the paint on the other side. Not sure he should have even been looking there.

Generally, it is very hard to accurately judge movement that is going directly towards or away from your position when that movement is the critical element. Looking through it diagonally or from behind/front is better for lateral movement.

The C's position was actually the worst for seeing if the defender made it into the path or not or if the defender's knee was extended. The T and the L both have much better angles to cover the movement involved in this play. The C might have seen forward movement but I don't believe that was what happened in this play.

Even if it was a clear look with the right angles, not a chance. It wasn't better than the T's.

JetMetFan Wed Aug 05, 2015 11:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IUgrad92 (Post 965572)
#1 Block. B1 tries beating A1 to a spot but contact occurs before B1 established LGP.

Really? B1 never had two feet on the floor with the front of his torso facing A1 at any point prior to contact?



Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 965578)
Question.

In play 1, it seems to me that the C has a great, or should have a great look at this play. Any thoughts on him with a whistle. I know it's from the trails primary, any thoughts?

Only if neither the T nor the L blow their whistle.

Camron Rust Thu Aug 06, 2015 10:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 965582)
Really? B1 never had two feet on the floor with the front of his torso facing A1 at any point prior to contact?

I think this is a block, not because he never had LGP but because he lost LGP. He was slow in reacting and moving to maintain it, and thus lost it. He never really made it back into the path with the contact being off to the side as he was moving back into the path and into the opponent laterally making it a block.

hoopsaddict Fri Aug 07, 2015 08:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 965598)
I think this is a block, not because he never had LGP but because he lost LGP. He was slow in reacting and moving to maintain it, and thus lost it. He never really made it back into the path with the contact being off to the side as he was moving back into the path and into the opponent laterally making it a block.

How does being slow in reacting cause you to lose LGP?

Raymond Fri Aug 07, 2015 09:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by hoopsaddict (Post 965609)
How does being slow in reacting cause you to lose LGP?

I'm with Camron, when A1 retreated B1 was no longer in LGP. A1 then went in a new direction and B1 never got 2 feet down in his path.

Camron Rust Fri Aug 07, 2015 11:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by hoopsaddict (Post 965609)
How does being slow in reacting cause you to lose LGP?

A1 established a new path and B1 wasn't in it. B1 needed to reestablish LGP and didn't.

walt Fri Aug 07, 2015 01:57pm

Bad angle on play #1 but first reaction was block with defender moving into the path of the BH/D but just not getting there in time. Not the best angle on play #2 either because I cannot see between to see if there was any contact but, assuming there was contact, PC in #2.

hoopsaddict Fri Aug 07, 2015 04:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 965612)
I'm with Camron, when A1 retreated B1 was no longer in LGP. A1 then went in a new direction and B1 never got 2 feet down in his path.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 965622)
A1 established a new path and B1 wasn't in it. B1 needed to reestablish LGP and didn't.

By rule, a defender can move laterally or obliquely to maintain position after they initially obtain legal guarding position as long as they do not move toward the opponent when contact occurs.

Wouldn't retreating mean the offensive player caused contact with the defender?

IUgrad92 Fri Aug 07, 2015 05:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by hoopsaddict (Post 965640)
By rule, a defender can move laterally or obliquely to maintain position after they initially obtain legal guarding position as long as they do not move toward the opponent when contact occurs.

Wouldn't retreating mean the offensive player caused contact with the defender?

When A1 pulls the ball back out (towards T), that is what I think was labeled as 'retreating'. At that point B1 hangs back and relinquishes his LGP (he's roughly 10 feet off of A1). There is no maintaining LGP at that point. It is then B1's attempt to again establish (or re-establish) LGP upon A1 driving to the basket, to which he could not do, thus the block call.

JetMetFan Fri Aug 07, 2015 07:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IUgrad92 (Post 965648)
When A1 pulls the ball back out (towards T), that is what I think was labeled as 'retreating'. At that point B1 hangs back and relinquishes his LGP (he's roughly 10 feet off of A1). There is no maintaining LGP at that point. It is then B1's attempt to again establish (or re-establish) LGP upon A1 driving to the basket, to which he could not do, thus the block call.

Really? Where is there anything in the rules that says a defender loses LGP if either player backs away?

Raymond Fri Aug 07, 2015 07:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by hoopsaddict (Post 965640)
By rule, a defender can move laterally or obliquely to maintain position after they initially obtain legal guarding position as long as they do not move toward the opponent when contact occurs.

Wouldn't retreating mean the offensive player caused contact with the defender?

He retreated about 6-7 ft from the defender and started a new path.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk

Raymond Fri Aug 07, 2015 07:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 965652)
Really? Where is there anything in the rules that says a defender loses LGP if either player backs away?

So LGP exists forever?

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk

JetMetFan Fri Aug 07, 2015 07:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 965656)
So LGP exists forever?

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk

Move A1 and B1 from the perimeter to the post area. A1 is faced up towards the goal about a foot from B1, who has both feet on the floor with his/her torso facing A1. A1 backs up so the distance between them is 7-8 feet but B1 doesn't move. Did B1 do anything to lose LGP?

AremRed Fri Aug 07, 2015 09:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 965658)
Move A1 and B1 from the perimeter to the post area. A1 is faced up towards the goal about a foot from B1, who has both feet on the floor with his/her torso facing A1. A1 backs up so the distance between them is 7-8 feet but B1 doesn't move. Did B1 do anything to lose LGP?

B1 didn't do anything to lose LGP on his end (move forward, etc.) but A1's path is now backward, which means that B1 is no longer "by definition" guarding A1.

Oh course this argument is pointless cuz we don't care whether B1 is legal until contact occurs.

Camron Rust Sat Aug 08, 2015 12:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 965669)
B1 didn't do anything to lose LGP on his end (move forward, etc.) but A1's path is now backward, which means that B1 is no longer "by definition" guarding A1.

Oh course this argument is pointless cuz we don't care whether B1 is legal until contact occurs.

A1's path can also be considered to be the line between A1 and the basket.

AremRed Sat Aug 08, 2015 12:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 965674)
A1's path can also be considered to be the line between A1 and the basket.

Is that supported by any rule or case play or by the dictionary definition of the word "path"?

As I said, this line of reasoning is pointless anyway.

Camron Rust Sat Aug 08, 2015 01:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 965675)
Is that supported by any rule or case play or by the dictionary definition of the word "path"?

As I said, this line of reasoning is pointless anyway.

Path isn't defined in the rule book as far as I know. I believe it to mean both the line in which a player is moving AND the line in between a player and where they want to go (the basket).

The case plays largely talk about path as the direction a player is actually moving.

However, imagine a stationary A1 and a stationary B1 where A1 fakes B1 into the air such that B1 jumps perfectly straight up. A1 then, after A1 is airborne, moves into B1. Did B1 have LGP? Why or why not? Was B1 entitled to verticality (noting that verticality only is granted with LGP)?

Alternately, imagine A1 moving across the top of the key with B1 sliding across the top of the key as well. B1 had two feet down momentarily and remains between A1 and the basket but is never in the path A1 is traveling. A1 suddenly changes direction towards the basket contacting B1's chect while B1 still had one foot off the floor. LGP or not?

JetMetFan Sat Aug 08, 2015 06:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 965669)
B1 didn't do anything to lose LGP on his end (move forward, etc.) but A1's path is now backward, which means that B1 is no longer "by definition" guarding A1.

Since "path" isn't defined in the rule book the next best thing is the dictionary. One of the definitions is "the area in front of someone...that is moving." So while A1's direction in my example is backwards, his/her path would still be towards the goal if they're still facing B1/the basket.

Raymond Sat Aug 08, 2015 08:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 965678)
Since "path" isn't defined in the rule book the next best thing is the dictionary. One of the definitions is "the area in front of someone...that is moving." So while A1's direction in my example is backwards, his/her path would still be towards the goal if they're still facing B1/the basket.

Stop the clip at the 2 second mark. B1 is not in A1's path when A1 starts his drive diagnoally.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:38am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1