![]() |
|
|||
Time limit games are rec league rules and good.
Protest committees for time limit games should rule on the intent of the time limit rule, thus intentionally doing something intentional to get an out by rule to prolong the game such as this situation should not be allowed. Changing pitchers to extend the time in order to get a win is just bush. Telling the batter to do something illegal to extend the game with one minute left should not be allowed in a time limit game. |
|
|||
Quote:
If I was the opposing coach, up 15-2 and knowing the coach was going to do this to play another inning, I would be tempted to do the same thing back the other way just to get that last inning done. There is nothing to prevent the visitors from intentionally taking 3 outs in their half. As the umpire you really don't have any say in the matter. |
|
|||
Timed games always bring out the "best" in coaches. If I am faced with a time limit, I simply let the teams do their thing. I remind them when they are pulling the bull shit moves that the clock is still running and when time is up, it's up. If the coaches have a problem with tactics, go see the tournament director or league officers, not my problem!
__________________
When in doubt, bang 'em out! Ozzy |
|
|||
Quote:
Sure... if you change the situation entirely, to something other than what we're discussing... yes, you would have a different ruling. The OP said, "The 3rd base coach ( Home Team )calls time and yells out to the batter to step across the plate when the picture begins his motion to pitch." What in the world does that have to do with changing pitchers?
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
What the offense (I promise, the offense was not trying to do a pitching change)... did is EXACTLY what this rule is intended to prevent.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() Rita |
|
|||
I had a team once try something similar after a batter was hit by the pitch. Time limit was going to be announced over the loud speaker. Once the hit batter got to first, the coach told him to start running to second. The hope was he would get tagged out before the announcement.
Problem (or solution depending on your point of view) was that the ball is dead after a hit batter and isn't put back in play until the pitcher engages the rubber and the umpire says "play." The runner took off for second before any of this happened and during the ensuing confusion, time limit was announced. Game Over. Edit to add: Clarification, we finished the inning, but no new inning started. |
|
|||
Quote:
In practice, you might opt to not see this action, and then remind coach that tactics designed to consume time or extend the game (i.e. monkey with the clock) are immediate grounds for forfeit - no warning. Changing a pitcher is a legal move. Who are you to decide I can't do it?
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
Quote:
And I'm not the only one here suggesting that you let the teams play out the tactics.
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
new Federation hit batter rule? | SWFLguy | Softball | 25 | Mon Jan 14, 2013 11:31pm |
Fastpitch: Batter's Location in Batter's Box Compared to Plate | SoftballGuy247 | Softball | 43 | Fri Mar 30, 2012 10:32am |
Rule 8, Section 2I Batter-Runner is out - IFF | vcblue | Softball | 11 | Fri Jun 11, 2010 11:24am |
when does the look-back-rule go into effect after a hit batter | BuggBob | Softball | 17 | Wed May 07, 2008 01:01pm |
Hit Batter Rule | DGTYER | Baseball | 11 | Mon Jun 11, 2007 03:00pm |