The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 05, 2003, 06:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 406
Well, your PU should have "known" that the runner mistakenly went to 1B on the BALK (ball 4) pitch when you asked him how he got there. Once the following pitch occured, and the defense did not complain about the runner at 1B, I would have kept quiet and let it alone. Certainly an umpire mistake would not warrant a "batting out of order." After the game would be a good time to discuss the play and make PU aware that the pitch does not count when a BALK is penalized.

If I had to make an official ruling on this, I would probably go with the fact that it was too late to do any adjustments after that following pitch occured (to the next batter). For example, if an umpire mistakenly awards a runner 3B instead of 2B, then there is a pitch, wouldn't it be too late to send the runner back to 2B?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:05pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1