![]() |
|
|
|||
Rule 2.00 (Obstruction) Comment: ... It is entirely up to the judgment of the umpire as to whether a fielder is in the act of fielding a ball. After a fielder has made an attempt to field a ball and missed, he can no longer be in the “act of fielding” the ball. ...
Since the fielder simply misplayed the throw before any contact occurred, I would concur that it probably should have been obstruction. |
|
|||
I wonder if the 2nd base umpire was aware the ball was dropped? I thought that may have been why the 3rd base umpire came in right away after the play.
How they did NOT have obstruction on this is beyond me. JJ |
|
|||
It has been rationalized elsewhere. umpire-empire.com and close call sports. I think they are right for one part of the fielders body but not the other.
Last edited by umpjim; Mon Oct 06, 2014 at 09:50pm. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Ball 5 Sunday night Phillies Mets | gordon30307 | Baseball | 29 | Fri Aug 29, 2008 07:51am |
Balk in Sox-Orioles game. | Jay R | Baseball | 6 | Wed Aug 27, 2008 06:02pm |
Sunday Night Baseball | jwwashburn | Baseball | 40 | Tue Jun 12, 2007 02:29pm |
Sunday Night Baseball balk | orioles35 | Baseball | 4 | Mon Apr 17, 2006 10:33am |
Sunday night football question | sloth | Football | 4 | Tue Oct 12, 2004 10:44am |