![]() |
|
|
|||
As described I have no INT. Batter bent over due to an inside pitch near the knee and then stood up and catcher hit him in the helmet. Catcher needs to make a better throw, and in fact, if he has to slide to catch the ball, he is probably not going to throw a runner out who is stealing on the pitch.
|
|
|||
Quote:
Advantage - Offense. |
|
|||
The batter was in the box. He made no unusual movements. So where's the interference?
I'd be POed at the catcher if it was my catcher. Let F2 learn how to play the position.
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
I believe I did say "at any level". Let me check ... yup, there it is. What's your actual question?
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
No, basically, I did not mention intent, and while I agree that intent has nothing to do with it I see no interference in the batter's actions. It was the fault of the catcher.
|
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
NFHS Casebook: 7.3.5E: With less than two outs, R1 on second and B2 at the plate, R1 attempts to steal third. In the process, B2, who bats right-handed, after swinging or not swinging at the pitch (a) makes no attempt to get out of the way of F2 throwing to third or (b) is unable to make an attempt to get out of the way of F2 throwing to third. As a result, F2 cannot make a play on the runner. Is B2 out and must R1 return to second? RULING: B2 is not guilty of interference in (a) or (b). B2 is entitled to his position in the batter’s box and is not subject to being penalized for interference unless he moves to re-establish his position after F2 has received the pitch, which then prevents F2 from attempting to play on a runner. Failing to move so F2 can make a throw is not batter interference. According to OP, the only movement the batter made after the catcher received the pitch was to stand up in place. So the question is: Does standing up in place constitute re-establishing position? IMO, no. We always determine a players position based on the placement of his feet e.g. In/Out of running lane or In/Out of the batter's box. If his feet haven't moved, he hasn't re-established a position in the box. Personally, I would not penalize the batter in the play described above. |
|
|||
Quote:
As far as re-establishing position, the case play answers this however, you choose to disagree with the ruling. Why the batter sttod up and interfer and the fact that he DID interfer are two different things. INTENT has NO bearing on the call. As far as feet moving being directly related to re-establishing position, I disagree, unless you have some official authoratative interpretation relevant to that. |
|
|||
Does the ball remain live after hitting the batter/equipment?
There was a play this morning where F2 tried to throw to F3 to catch R2 stealing. The throw hit the batter's bat while he was in the box and ended up going against the 3rd base dugout. R2 ended up scoring and R1 ended up on third. Coaches were questioning if the play should be declared dead after hitting the bat. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
"I don't think I'm very happy. I always fall asleep to the sound of my own screams...and then I always get woken up to the sound of my own screams. Do you think I'm unhappy?" |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Umpire Interference / Batter Interference | bob jenkins | Baseball | 17 | Mon Feb 06, 2012 09:57pm |
Batter Interference | Spence | Baseball | 2 | Wed Apr 14, 2010 12:19pm |
Batter Interference... | scroobs | Softball | 3 | Tue Mar 18, 2008 06:46pm |
Batter interference | gmtomko | Baseball | 2 | Thu May 08, 2003 04:12pm |
Batter Interference | PAblue87 | Baseball | 10 | Thu May 23, 2002 10:06pm |