![]() |
|
![]() |
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Rate Thread | Display Modes |
|
|
|||
If the "new" runner on third had scored during the botched extraneous rundown, would the run count? (Hypothetical, but it would have been a heck of a way to lose the game, especially since it was the first successful "bring the infield in" play at home we had in three years.)
The umpire was, I believe, a first year kid--who called a pretty good game--and he did signal out, but no further emphatic utterances. The age part and potential injury issues are germane to the discussion. At some point, I suppose, they need to be pushed off the high dive. Our catcher just started playing, and he really loves to catch (our starter caught four innings prior), and the kid just didn't know what to do once he saw the runner still running and retreating. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
Sounds to me like the umpire did what he's supposed to. And yes, if R2 comes in, the run would count.
And to what Bob alluded to ... asking for time does not kill the play. GRANTING time out (by the umpire) is what kills the play. And if stuff is still going on, I don't care who asks for time, the umpire should not kill the play.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Good game, where are the good refs | MD Longhorn | Football | 22 | Thu Sep 13, 2012 05:23pm |
Case 3.3.6 Sit D | palmettoref | Basketball | 48 | Mon Oct 31, 2011 12:39pm |
New ABA Team in Quebec - Team Name | canuckrefguy | Basketball | 17 | Tue Aug 15, 2006 11:29am |
NCAA team vs. Fed team | Texas Aggie | Football | 3 | Fri Feb 03, 2006 10:51am |
2 Technicals on Team A... How many shots for Team B? | bradfordwilkins | Basketball | 8 | Sun Feb 13, 2005 10:29am |