![]() |
Quote:
JJ |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Rule 5-1-1e
Ball becomes dead immediately when there is interference by a runner, batter-runner, or a retired runner, the batter , or any person. Rule 8-4-2g .....If , in the judgment of the umpire, the runner including the batter runner interferes in any way and prevents a double play anywhere, two shall be declared out... |
Quote:
|
Quote:
For instance if a runner was on 1st and was running on the pitch. If the umpire feels he would have been a dead duck on the appeal play, based on Rule 8-4-2g he could call him out as well. All I am saying is that just because the ball is immediately dead and the runner is out, there are other things to consider on this play. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
In NCAA and MLB, if that interference is INTENTIONAL, both the runner AND the batter are declared out. Sort of what the FED rule says "if the interference prevents a double play"...but the majority of the time only the runner is out, and if it's a foul ball a strike is added to the count (if the batter has less than two strikes).
JJ |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:44pm. |