jicecone |
Mon Apr 22, 2013 12:56pm |
A) If the 3rd out occurs before a runner has crossed the plate, does the run score? Answer: No, of course not... except in this one instance.
The rules are quite specific about the criteria of when a run scores or not and this one instance is not contrary to them.
B)If the runner from 2nd makes the 3rd out by passing the runner from 3rd, does the run score? Answer: Depends on rule set... but in those where the run doesn't score - what makes being tagged off the base different from being called out for passing a runner?
I can't speak about other rule sets however, NFHS clearly states that passing runner is an out, even during an awarded base.
C) If BR, on a walk or homer, fails to touch first base, and the defense appeals, does the run score? Answer: No - BR was put out before reaching first... contradicting the ruling for the OP
Again I don't see the contradictions you are talking about. (and this Fed only). The rules clearly set the criteria for when the run scores or not.
Sorry, I am just not seeing your confusion here.
|