The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Bases Loaded 2 outs Full Count Play (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/94856-bases-loaded-2-outs-full-count-play.html)

onetime1 Sun Apr 21, 2013 10:36pm

Bases Loaded 2 outs Full Count Play
 
Bases Loaded 2 outs Full Count Runners on the go with Pitcher in the Windup. Runner from 2nd gets an earlier break than the runner from 3rd. Runner from 2nd overruns 3rd and is thrown out by the catcher. The runner from 3rd is only half way down the line at the time of the tag. Does the run count?

Dave Reed Sun Apr 21, 2013 11:18pm

Yes,
7.04(b) Comment: A runner forced to advance without liability to be put out may advance past the base to which he is entitled only at his peril. If such a runner, forced to advance, is put out for the third out before a preceding runner, also forced to advance, touches home plate, the run shall score.

Mrumpiresir Mon Apr 22, 2013 07:57am

I guess you are assuming the pitch was ball four, forcing all runners to advance, in which case the run scores.

The OP doesn't tell us what the pitch is. If it's strike three, no run can score.

bob jenkins Mon Apr 22, 2013 07:58am

For FED, see 9.1.1C

jicecone Mon Apr 22, 2013 08:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mrumpiresir (Post 891656)
I guess you are assuming the pitch was ball four, forcing all runners to advance, in which case the run scores.

The OP doesn't tell us what the pitch is. If it's strike three, no run can score.

Lets assume it is strike three on the swing, ball in the dirt and for some stupid reason the catcher throws to third instead of tagging the plate or throwing to first. R2 overruns 3B and is tagged out off the bag before R3 touches home. Then the run does not count.

Your right though, "The OP doesn't tell us what the pitch is"

MD Longhorn Mon Apr 22, 2013 08:17am

We don't know what the pitch is ... we also don't know what the ruleset is.

bob jenkins Mon Apr 22, 2013 08:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 891661)
We don't know what the pitch is ... we also don't know what the ruleset is.

Does the rule set matter in this play?

MD Longhorn Mon Apr 22, 2013 08:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 891664)
Does the rule set matter in this play?

If it's a strike, it doesn't, but if this was a walk, in most rulesets the run scores (they treat the forced advance of the runner on third as an award, not simply a player advancing without liability to be put out). But (granted, it's been a couple of years, but the last I worked...) in both Pony and AL, they treated is this same way ASA softball does - the ball is live on a walk. If a runner is put out as in the OP, that's the 3rd out. The runner advancing home does so without liability, of course, but did not score before the 3rd out was made. No run.

Dave Reed Mon Apr 22, 2013 10:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 891666)
in both Pony and AL, they treated is this same way ASA softball does - the ball is live on a walk. If a runner is put out as in the OP, that's the 3rd out. The runner advancing home does so without liability, of course, but did not score before the 3rd out was made. No run.

Can you think of any ruleset in which the ball isn't live on a walk? Tee ball maybe. :)

I don't know about ASA, but American Legion uses OBR for this situation, and so does Pony-- assuming the pitcher is a player, and not a machine or coach.

Note to all: It is true the OP doesn't say if the pitch as an uncaught strike. He also doesn't say, for example, if there was umpire interference. Seems to me that we can assume that the OP would consider a uncaught 3rd strike as significant information and would have included it--especially since it takes poor play on the part of the catcher to try to get an out on an overrun of third base.

MD Longhorn Mon Apr 22, 2013 11:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dave Reed (Post 891716)
Can you think of any ruleset in which the ball isn't live on a walk? Tee ball maybe. :)

I don't know about ASA, but American Legion uses OBR for this situation, and so does Pony-- assuming the pitcher is a player, and not a machine or coach.

Note to all: It is true the OP doesn't say if the pitch as an uncaught strike. He also doesn't say, for example, if there was umpire interference. Seems to me that we can assume that the OP would consider a uncaught 3rd strike as significant information and would have included it--especially since it takes poor play on the part of the catcher to try to get an out on an overrun of third base.

OK, so things changed since I worked those.

Yes, the ball is live on a walk... but there's no logic to the idea then that every runner is AWARDED their next base. If the ball is live (and it is), and runners are allowed to advance without liability to be put out (they are), where's the logic that should score the run when an out occurs before that run? (Yes, I know, the rulesets all have interpretations that go that way ... but they defy the internal logic of the rest of the rules).

Rich Ives Mon Apr 22, 2013 11:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 891722)
OK, so things changed since I worked those.

Yes, the ball is live on a walk... but there's no logic to the idea then that every runner is AWARDED their next base. If the ball is live (and it is), and runners are allowed to advance without liability to be put out (they are), where's the logic that should score the run when an out occurs before that run? (Yes, I know, the rulesets all have interpretations that go that way ... but they defy the internal logic of the rest of the rules).

For OBR, per the MLBUM (2002)

Play: Two out, bases full, batter walks, but runner from second is overzealous and runs past third base towards home and is tagged out on a throw by the catcher before the runner from third has touched home plate.

Ruling: Even though two are out, the run would score on the theory that the run was forced home by the base on balls and that all the runners needed to do was proceed and touch the next base.

upprdeck Mon Apr 22, 2013 12:02pm

so does the same logic apply of the trailing runner passes runner on 3rd before he scores?

jicecone Mon Apr 22, 2013 12:07pm

MD, I think your confusing interpretation with Rule.

Rule NFHS Def.2-2-1 says Awarded Base is "the right to advance without a play being made", "it is the responsibility of the runner to legally touch those bases".

This rule alone would result in a run being scored, whether R2 was tagged for over running 3B or not.

"but they defy the internal logic of the rest of the rules)".

Not sure what other rules this defy's.

bob jenkins Mon Apr 22, 2013 12:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by upprdeck (Post 891742)
so does the same logic apply of the trailing runner passes runner on 3rd before he scores?

NOW the code matters. ;)

MD Longhorn Mon Apr 22, 2013 12:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Ives (Post 891733)
For OBR, per the MLBUM (2002)

Play: Two out, bases full, batter walks, but runner from second is overzealous and runs past third base towards home and is tagged out on a throw by the catcher before the runner from third has touched home plate.

Ruling: Even though two are out, the run would score on the theory that the run was forced home by the base on balls and that all the runners needed to do was proceed and touch the next base.

Check it out, Rich... right over there. In the corner. It's my point --- you missed it.

(I'm completely aware of what the ruling is supposed to be on the field.)

MD Longhorn Mon Apr 22, 2013 12:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jicecone (Post 891744)
MD, I think your confusing interpretation with Rule.

Rule NFHS Def.2-2-1 says Awarded Base is "the right to advance without a play being made", "it is the responsibility of the runner to legally touch those bases".

This rule alone would result in a run being scored, whether R2 was tagged for over running 3B or not.

"but they defy the internal logic of the rest of the rules)".

Not sure what other rules this defy's.

I'm not confusing anything. I know the rule. I'm saying the rule makes no sense.

jicecone Mon Apr 22, 2013 12:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by upprdeck (Post 891742)
so does the same logic apply of the trailing runner passes runner on 3rd before he scores?

No because the rules state that a runner when passing " an obstructed preceding runner before such runner is out (including awarded bases)"

jicecone Mon Apr 22, 2013 12:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 891747)
I'm not confusing anything. I know the rule. I'm saying the rule makes no sense.

Which is your interpretation. I am just wondering what other rules you think this defy's.

MD Longhorn Mon Apr 22, 2013 12:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jicecone (Post 891754)
Which is your interpretation. I am just wondering what other rules you think this defy's.

A) If the 3rd out occurs before a runner has crossed the plate, does the run score? Answer: No, of course not... except in this one instance.
B) If the runner from 2nd makes the 3rd out by passing the runner from 3rd, does the run score? Answer: Depends on rule set... but in those where the run doesn't score - what makes being tagged off the base different from being called out for passing a runner?
C) If BR, on a walk or homer, fails to touch first base, and the defense appeals, does the run score? Answer: No - BR was put out before reaching first... contradicting the ruling for the OP

jicecone Mon Apr 22, 2013 12:56pm

A) If the 3rd out occurs before a runner has crossed the plate, does the run score? Answer: No, of course not... except in this one instance.

The rules are quite specific about the criteria of when a run scores or not and this one instance is not contrary to them.

B)If the runner from 2nd makes the 3rd out by passing the runner from 3rd, does the run score? Answer: Depends on rule set... but in those where the run doesn't score - what makes being tagged off the base different from being called out for passing a runner?

I can't speak about other rule sets however, NFHS clearly states that passing runner is an out, even during an awarded base.

C) If BR, on a walk or homer, fails to touch first base, and the defense appeals, does the run score? Answer: No - BR was put out before reaching first... contradicting the ruling for the OP

Again I don't see the contradictions you are talking about. (and this Fed only). The rules clearly set the criteria for when the run scores or not.

Sorry, I am just not seeing your confusion here.

MD Longhorn Mon Apr 22, 2013 01:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jicecone (Post 891766)
Sorry, I am just not seeing your confusion here.

A) You just MADE my point, and B) I'm really not confused. Not in the slightest.

In a feeble attempt to clarify, I will say that I am not saying the rules themselves are contradictory (which seems to be what you're all wrapped up in)... I'm saying the logic is not consistent.

jicecone Mon Apr 22, 2013 02:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 891777)
A) You just MADE my point, and B) I'm really not confused. Not in the slightest.

In a feeble attempt to clarify, I will say that I am not saying the rules themselves are contradictory (which seems to be what you're all wrapped up in)... I'm saying the logic is not consistent.

Oh sorry, your talking reality. Being an Engineer we tend to get lost in all the technical details and forget about that sometimes. Kind of like the "Speed up Rules"

Steven Tyler Tue Apr 23, 2013 01:38pm

Play sounds like a ball four, and catcher throws down to 3B where R2 has rounded 3B. Never ever mentioned R2 passing R3.

If an uncaught third strike.......no run from the OP.

Some of you need to stay on your side of road.

nopachunts Wed Apr 24, 2013 11:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dave Reed (Post 891716)
Can you think of any ruleset in which the ball isn't live on a walk? Tee ball maybe. :)

No walks in Tee-Ball.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:44am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1