The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #28 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 17, 2013, 02:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: North, TX
Posts: 256
In Fed rules when you are in the windup position, you have to disengage before you throw to an occupied base (say 3B). In the set, you do not need to disengage before throwing. If F1 is in this illegal hybrid wind-up postion (the legal set position) and then he throws directly to 3B without disengaging, how can you balk him if he legally made a throw to an occupied base from the set position.

I think this is the reason for the Fed POE. Because Fed has this funky rule difference, if umpires do not enforce it, HS F1 can essentially have the OBR balk rule (the option to throw to a base from this "hybrid" wind-up position).

Last edited by bluehair; Thu Jan 17, 2013 at 04:25pm.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NFHS - Pitcher "juggling" the ball while on the pitcher's plate. marvin Softball 3 Thu Apr 26, 2012 09:25am
Sign not taken from the pitcher's plate (NFHS) jdmara Baseball 21 Mon Apr 25, 2011 08:41pm
NFHS pitcher's 'step' back okla21fan Softball 7 Fri Apr 08, 2011 09:49am
NEW - 2003 NFHS Football Rule Changes (as written by the NFHS Rules Committee) KWH Football 27 Tue Jan 21, 2003 11:30am
Plate Stances Gulf Coast Blue Softball 2 Wed Aug 08, 2001 08:45pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:00pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1