![]() |
|
|
|||
Don't believe that it is detailed that way in the rulebook however the MLBUM says it is a balk if if it is thrown to F3, when he is not obviously trying to retire the runner.
I would put quotations marks if I was sure that was the exact words. I don't have the manual here. It is the umpires discretion how obvious or not it is. |
|
|||
Quote:
F3's deke was so good that Hickox (check spelling) did not think it was obvious. He might have been explaining to Ventura that F3 was playing off the bag. To me, there was a play on and no balk. To Hickox, there was no play on. And, the throw was close enough to direct to 1B anyway. Last edited by umpjim; Sat Sep 22, 2012 at 11:30pm. |
|
|||
You have to throw to 1B, not F3. If F3 is in the flight path he can catch it before it gets to 1B and that's OK. Ventura thought that part up when he played for the Mets.
But if F3 is back or in - that's not OK. There is some leeway in that F3 has to be close enough to make a play on a runner going bask to the base. That pretty much means within reach. Having to lunge or make an exagerated swipe that even then misses pretty much says there wasn't a reasonable chance for a play.
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
|
|||
Not a very good call UNLESS he balked the step. Heck, if he was balking the throw to the first baseman being off the bag it was downright lousy call in light of the fact that the video replay would seem to indicate the first baseman in fact tagged the runner out..
![]() JJ |
|
|||
Is it b/c F3 was not ready for the play? If he was already moving toward 1B when this happened, would it have been OK? Or, would he still have called the balk?
I agree he was not in position to make a play on the runner in the beginning simply b/c he wasn't ready. But, by the end of the throw, he was in my judgment. Definitely, a rare balk to be called.
__________________
Question everything until you get an irrefutable or understandable answer...Don't settle for "That's Just the Way it is" |
|
|||
Quote:
From the MLBUM: "The pitcher shall be charged with a balk if, while in contact with the rubber, he throws to the first baseman who is either in front of or behind first base and obviously not making an attempt at retiring the runner at first base. However, there is no violation if the pitcher throws the ball directly to first base in this situation." I thought it was a clear balk. F3 caught the throw, and then had to take two or three steps before he was close enough to swipe a tag at R1.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker |
|
|||
Can't really see how much space there was between F3 and the runner, but it looked like a legitimate tag attempt to me. Also, the direction of the throw was very close to the base. I don't have a balk here.
|
|
|||
Freeze Frame at 1:52 - runner is OUT.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Balk, Protest, Balk, EJ | TussAgee11 | Baseball | 23 | Sun Jul 19, 2009 02:18pm |
Balk/No Balk: LHP fients pickoff the 3rd base | Mike6221 | Baseball | 4 | Sun Jun 07, 2009 09:47pm |
RHP in stretch facing 1st base (balk or no balk) | tem_blue | Baseball | 6 | Thu Jul 20, 2006 10:00pm |
Stealing Home, P in Windup, Balk or No Balk? | johnnyg08 | Baseball | 2 | Wed Jul 05, 2006 10:12am |
Balk, Balk Yells the Coach!!! | Gre144 | Baseball | 12 | Tue Jul 10, 2001 07:32am |